Nearly 80 killed as Pakistan bombs madrassa

Mushy

"Kisi ko hakumat ki writ challange nahi karne di jaye gi" (No one will be allowed to challange the writ of government)

Bugti was killedfor this reason. What have Americans done in Bajaur?

One of the things that surprised me about this was my inability to be outraged over a school being bombed and teenagers being killed, when I know that if it had happened virtually anywhere else in the world I would have been. It makes me worry about where my head is now.
Oh, and dragonking786: Neo has made more posts defending Islam and Muslims across many boards than you've had hot dinners. You should be so lucky as to have his faith and pride in his religion.

Thats the point Sig,they wouldnt do it unless they have some solid backing of proof.

If this was done in haste it can hurt US more than anybody else,as Mushraff would find it difficult to continue his support for US and its WoT.

Do you remember in Fallujah U.S. soldiers shot dead many protesters? Your suggestion that whatever the U.S. does is well thought through is not correct. If it were so they still wouldnt be stuck in Iraq and Afghanistan the world's only "hyperpower".

Yaar, bhai, sister whatever. All i meant was that we close down madrassas and start teaching more islam into our public schools. Our future imams can go to public schools, get worldy eduction and religoues at the same time. This way they will be able to keep up to the world events. And since it'll be public the whole country will know what is being thought there, unlike madrassa.( i to am ashamed and sad to see that our religoues schools honourend by so many are not being used, but aboused for some extermist purposes. :wall:.

Trust me, once madrassa teachings will be thought at schools, more people will send their kids to school. People, listen in today's times, religoues education is not enough, even our prophet (PBUH)told us to "go as far as china to gain knowledge"( this was a exmaple given by the prophet (PBUH) on how important knowledge is, reaching china in those times meant years of travelling from KSA). This is how impirtant knowledge is to a muslim.

Living in the west i've seen that when a non-muslim wants to learn about islam,they ask how islam goes with science. And when our imams tell them how the first globe was made by islamic scholars, while euroape still thought the earth was flat. How it was written in the Quran about how a mother gives birth to a childa and the whole process that goes in her womb. It does so so clearly 1400 years ago that we only understand it by today's science. We also tell them how Quran talked about the big bang and the expansion of the universe.

When they hear that, they relize that islam is not that backward religon the western media shows. So gain knowledege,because knowledge is litterly mighter then the sword.

1. I went to a modern private school in Karachi and learned everything on 'Islamiyaat' including the Holy Qu'an teachings there.

2. Most madrassa'h's today are being misused by deranged warriors like Mullah Omar and others like him.
That's what I call kufr!

1. I only wish all Pakistani's had half the chance that you had to go to a modern private school, unfortuantely the government is preoccupied with military spending that illiteracy and lack of education is prevalent. Even today there is more effort spent on procuring new F-16's than building new schools, if Madrassa's which mostly educate those who are poor and orphaned are closed without new schools being built and teachers provided, instead of little education these children will have no education.

2. Occupying troops destroy property and lives without censure and those who strive to remove them are called kufr.

Madrassa's are an excuse for NATO forces in southern Afghanistan for the fact that they are unable to defeat a rag-tag force of few thousand armed with Soviet era weapons. They need something to blame and Madrassa's make a good scapegoat. Close every single Madrassa down and it will not make an iota of difference to the situation in southern Afghanistan.

You can't one fine day close down something that has existed for centuries and is being funded by billions of petro dollars from Arab land.

Pakistan needs good solid education reforms. To create a parallel education system, which is as penetrative as the madrassa system. Then stick with it for 50-75 years and hope that the effects sink in. Till then, madrassas will continue to be bombed, if not by Americans, then by Shia/Sunni groups or Pakistan forces itself.

Well no one is saying that we should close them down today or that we should close them down forever. We should train more techers, have more schools, andthey should either be free or cheap enough for the poor to send their kids to. Madrassas won't really be closed down, they will just be moved inside the school. Then every kid will learn about islam and other things at the same time.Simple. Madrassas will still be there, only tehy would be more public. If people don't like that idea, then maybe we should bring the public schools inside the madrassas, it's the same excet thing.

But first we have to clear up many problams like said above, we have a government that's busy buying F-solas and not building schools.

Al-Zawahri past visitor to Pakistani madrasa

(2006-10-31)
By Anwarullah Khan

KHAR, Pakistan (Reuters) - Al Qaeda Number Two Ayman al-Zawahri was a past visitor to a madrasa destroyed by a Pakistan Army helicopter attack, but he was not there when the missiles struck on Monday, senior Pakistani security officials said.

Several other al Qaeda luminaries had passed through the religious school run by pro-Taliban cleric Maulana Liaqatullah, who was killed in the airstrike along with around 80 of his followers, the officials told reporters a day after the attack.

Among the other known militants to have frequented the madrasa at Chenagai village, near the Afghan border in the Bajaur tribal region of northwest Pakistan, was Abu Obaida al-Misri.

An Egyptian, like Zawahri, al-Misri was identified as the mastermind of a plot to blow up U.S.-bound airliners flying from London's Heathrow airport that was foiled earlier this year.

The officials say he was a mentor to Rashid Rauf, a British Muslim arrested in Pakistan in August, who was said to be a key figure in the conspiracy.

No major militant figure was believed to have been present when the army attacked, and orders for the assault were given in anticipation that the militants were about to be sent to fight -- possibly to launch suicide attacks on NATO and Afghan forces.

"The madrasa was under surveillance since July when the activity started picking up pace," said a senior official.

Last January, a CIA-operated Predator missile attack targeted Zawahri in Bajaur's Damadola village near the Afghan border.

Intelligence officials said a handful of al Qaeda operatives at a parley hosted by Liaqatullah were killed. But Zawahri was a no-show and reports that al-Misri was killed proved incorrect.

The Pakistan government had been trying to persuade militant tribesmen to agree peace terms along the lines of accords brokered earlier in the two most restive tribal regions -- North and South Waziristan.

But officials said Liaqatullah and his comrade Maulana Faqir Mohammad, who rallied fighters at the site of the destroyed madrasa immediately after the attack, ignored all warnings.

The officials showed reporters aerial footage shot through a night vision lens of rows of men exercising before daybreak, just an hour before the missiles struck the compound.

TRIBALS SEETHING

Tribesmen said the dead, mostly young men aged between 15 and 25, were merely students. But, President Pervez Musharraf, speaking at a seminar in Islamabad, said they were all militants.

"We know who they were. They were doing military training," Musharraf said.

More than 15,000 armed tribesmen protested against the attack in Khar, Bajaur's main town, and Islamist politicians stoked anti-Western and anti-Musharraf sentiment among ethnic Pashtuns in several towns around North West Frontier Province.

Nowhere is Musharraf's alliance with the United States more unpopular than in the Pashtun tribal belt straddling the Pakistan-Afghan border.

The tribesmen in Khar showed their loyalty with shouts of "Long Live Osama" and "Long Live Mullah Omar."

"Our jihad will continue and God willing, people will go to Afghanistan to oust American and British forces," Maulana Faqir Mohammad, a pro-Taliban cleric, told the crowd of turbaned tribals, many carrying Kalashnikovs and wearing bandoliers, and a few shouldering rocket launchers.

A mountainous region that is difficult to access, Bajaur lies across from the eastern Afghan province of Kunar, where U.S. troops are hunting al Qaeda and Taliban militants.

In contrast to Waziristan, the army has so far not put troops on the ground in Bajaur, though they man border posts there.

Islamist politicians said the attack on the school was really carried out by a U.S. Predator drone aircraft, but Pakistan's military spokesman and a U.S. spokesman in Kabul denied it.

"The entire operation was carried out by our forces. All resources including intelligence was our own," Major-General Shaukat Sultan said, though officials said the intelligence came from various sources.

http://www.publicbroadcasting.net/wned/news.newsmain?action=article&ARTICLE_ID=988963

this is just a start. the worse hasn’t come yet. Mr Musharraf has his own limitations. this in fact good that Mr Musharraf is saying pakistan air force is doing this. I ask, if US says her air force are attacking on madrassas then what pakistan can do? Just to know. its very hard to build a social structure and its very easy to destroy it. this is true that if 80 people were killed, atleast 20-25 would be innocent people. but I ask, if those talibanies who are taking jahadies education in these madrassa make any terrorist attack on US or on any western country and kill innocent people, who will be responsible?

people of all the levels of pakistan are responsible for the death of those few innocent people. they first funded these Madrassas, then they (specially news papers) ignored their activities until those Jehadies challenged father of all the powers, US. and now they asking why all these happening. not only madrassas but also at least 90% ISI personnel have sympathy for Taliban who is brother of Al Qaeda. and many of retired ISI officers are even involved in training and supporting those Jehadies. Pakistan need to maintain great passions.

then how will u learn islam, that where it's learned u can't close them...and they wouldn't be closed.

and most of all u think u can learn islam on ur own yes u can but not everything sunna and ahdith are thought their...

stop acting like a kufar
Read the Quran. Read other books, so we have the simple sense to understand its meaning, apply it to our real lives ourselves without a Mullah telling us what it should mean.

Some one said that they want madrassaras to be cloesd down.

Frankly, iam with that person, as much as we as muslims would hate to do it, these days, people like bin laden are using islam as their sheilds and are disgracing us muslims around the world. What's sad it that sometimes, some extermists madrassas teach that too. And in islam we are told to gain knowledge, gain knowledge till the day we die, weather you're are male of a female. So if instead of madrassas, we teach islam in public schools, people will not only learn about their religon but also worldy eduction, and when they would compare islam with things like scince, ecomany, etc, they all would relise that islam is a true religon and not that extermist, backward religon the western media tells us.

there is plenty of sense in what u say...

And most of all America bought this **** on to themselves, if they had good policies and not one sided, these problems wouldn't have happened, so don't blame religious people...all these world events have been building up, as muslims out goal is to support another muslim without any question during Jihad aganist kufars!

Now the point of worry is who will you define as kafirs?Americans?There are 10mn muslims there living happily than anywhere else.So they arent aganst your relegion.
Countries like turkey are good freinds with US.

And Neo I don't think ur a muslim so u shouldn't comment on this if u are talk to ur parents cause u might have some mental problems.

Good that you said this to Neo.You attacked him bcoz he said to "close down a Madrassa" and in your opinion that can be said either by a evil hindu or chrisitan or jew, right?
I wont blame you as thats what you have been taught.

The problem with most of the muslims is that if anything is said against the muslims or islam, its considered as a part of great plan to topple and scuttle Islam.

Its not the world which is suffering from Islamophibia,but its Muslims like you who suffer from a phobia bcoz you are tied down in the darkness of the primitive periods that doesnt allow you to accept anything new,you cannot evolve or adjust.

Do you remember in Fallujah U.S. soldiers shot dead many protesters? Your suggestion that whatever the U.S. does is well thought through is not correct. If it were so they still wouldnt be stuck in Iraq and Afghanistan the world's only "hyperpower".

In Oraq whom shud US be worried abt, Allawi? he cant step out of his house without US permission.

But when bombing a Pakistani madrassa he is dealing with a third party.They have to give it a thought and they have.

US provided the intelligence, and pakistan acted on it.

You can't one fine day close down something that has existed for centuries and is being funded by billions of petro dollars from Arab land.

Pakistan needs good solid education reforms. To create a parallel education system, which is as penetrative as the madrassa system. Then stick with it for 50-75 years and hope that the effects sink in. Till then, madrassas will continue to be bombed, if not by Americans, then by Shia/Sunni groups or Pakistan forces itself.

Thats a good POA.

You are accusing,so you show the proof.

It is the liablilty of the sick minded people like you, to show the proof, as you are the people who are 'SUSPECTING' them and killing on mere assumptions.
Kashif