Next Chief Of Army Staff - 2013 ?

Who will be the next Chief Of Army Staff - 2013 ?

• Total voters
Same will also happen this time if its an institutional tradition. Do you think that Gen Kayani wouldn't know the next COAS when the final candidates list (3 Most suitable contenders) forwarded to PM is prepared by COAS?

Gen Musharraf had hand picked Gen Kayani to succeed his position. The decision was taken much earlier and the transition took its natural course. In this case Gen Kayani does not necessarily know who is the next COAS. That decision lies with Nawaz Sharif who idiotically is waiting for the actual expiry date of the current COAS. Gene Kayani may hand over the cane to whoever is the next COAS on the given day and during the ceremony, but he most certainly will not be in a position to ensure the smooth transition phase because he will be in his CV's sipping the good stuff!

koi mard ka bacha banana pichli baar bhi female ban gai thi :p:

Gen Musharraf had hand picked Gen Kayani to succeed his position. The decision was taken much earlier and the transition took its natural course. In this case Gen Kayani does not necessarily know who is the next COAS. That decision lies with Nawaz Sharif who idiotically is waiting for the actual expiry date of the current COAS. Gene Kayani may hand over the cane to whoever is the next COAS on the given day and during the ceremony, but he most certainly will not be in a position to ensure the smooth transition phase because he will be in his CV's sipping the good stuff!
Again the choice was much easier for Musharraf since he was enjoying both offices. So there wasn't really a point for him not knowing his successor. However, Nawaz Sharif is not General Nawaz Sharif+President Nawaz Sharif. So the due process will have to be fulfilled.

Yep, some transition time would have been useful for such an important change. It's always healthy to do that.

Imran bhai kaisi baat kartay hen yaar?? Why some senior members here appears to be so much mad on him??
اور کیا کہیں ایسے بندے کو جس نے گھتنوں پر لا کھڑا کیا ملک ؟ 7 سال سے ایک ایکٹیو آرمڈ یو اے وی نہین لا پائے میدنا میں جو ؟

Decision about right man for the right job is not easy. Long time ago, I was participant in ‘Effective Supervision Course’ for budding young managers in Esso. What came out was that best executive was neither the one who performed his functions efficiently but went by the book. Nor someone of exceptional ability but who couldn’t care less about authority because he thought he knew better that his superiors.

Most people in corporate life or in the military would obey whosoever is in the authority. But a leader should be someone who has ambition, drive and courage as well magnanimity to accept consequences of incorrect decisions instead of passing the buck to a junior.

Naturally the judgement is always subjective, but correct choice of Chief of the Army is so critical that incorrect choice could mean the difference between life and death of the State of Pakistan.

While we don’t want another gung-ho general like Musharraf who is willing to take on a Kargil like adventure without fully visualizing the consequences; we definitely wouldn’t want a mediocre general who‘s main qualification is that he has no black marks on his career sheet.

I don’t know any of the generals but I would go for the youngest with combat experience against Taliban.

We are looking forward to working with the new Pakistani Chief of Army Staff, whomever steps in after General Kiyani's retirement. We support the Pakistani Security Forces and its leadership in reaching our common goal of establishing peace and stability in a region torn by the plague of terrorism. The military and civilian leadership of both our countries well understand the importance of working together to build mutual trust, overcome differences and improve cooperation among our nations.

Haroon Ahmad
DET - U.S. Central Command
United States Central Command - Urdu - MacDill Air Force Base, FL - Government Organization | Facebook

We are looking forward to working with the new Pakistani Chief of Army Staff, whomever steps in after General Kiyani's retirement. We support the Pakistani Security Forces and its leadership in reaching our common goal of establishing peace and stability in a region torn by the plague of terrorism. The military and civilian leadership of both our countries well understand the importance of working together to build mutual trust, overcome differences and improve cooperation among our nations.

Haroon Ahmad
DET - U.S. Central Command
United States Central Command - Urdu - MacDill Air Force Base, FL - Government Organization | Facebook

Just shut up CENTCOM.. Unfortunately ppl here on this forum are not the govt of Pak...hence we are least bothered abt what u say..Nor do we take ur words seriously....U surely want to build a relationship of mutual trust, and improve cooperation with Pakistan by increasing drone theatre in Pak and start drones in Hangu- KPK province of Pak. ... Yea, we believe u ...right...so plzz keep these words to yourself.. Dont waste yours and our time.. We dont need to waste our time reading your useless posts..