The "X" Rated R & D

Many do I know, reason behind that being there is no "Z" sound in Hindi devnagri script. For example "Zebra" is written as ज़ेबरा

How many letters does Devnagari have? It's 48 right, then there should be two letters for Z and J like জ and য in Bengali script.

There is not "Z" sounding alphabet in Devnagri.

Yes I was wrong, there was no Z sounding alphabet in Eastern Nagri as well. It's Ja and Ya, like Yayati and Janmabhumi. Although East Pakistanis do pronounce Ja as Za(and be ridiculed), may be West Pakistanis picked up the habit from them.

I agree part of the confusion is that, since Urdu and Hindi are so similar, we in Pakistan sometimes tend to forget that Bollywood (and Lollywood) songs mix Hindu and Urdu words. I agree that a UPer or Bihari would surely pronounce 'z' properly.

Incidently, here's a song that mixes Urdu and Hindi words. Beautiful song, by Kishore of course.

Hah Indian version of Pakistani videos:rofl:, apart from the top two songs don't think any Indian would have even heard the songs that I posted. Even then its not about Indian or Pakistani version. There is no strong "r" in the English language so people (yes both Indian and Pakistanis) use, "d" or "rr".And look at the names of the people who have posted the videos. Surely doesn't sound Indian too me:disagree:.

Dil ko jalana humne chod diya - Ahmed Rushdi - Waheed murad - Mohabbat zindagi hai-posted by Marya Miffat

Attaullah Khan Sad GhazaL (( Humein Chod Piya Kis Des Gaye )) - Posted by JARAL786KZ

chod fikr duniya ki by alhaaj owais raza quadri- Posted by Naser Afia

Mohabbat Chod Denge Hum (Woh Bewafa) - Posted by Mohsin Bhatti

Saya bhi saath jab chodd jaye aisi hai tanhai (Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan)- Posted by Khurram DBG

Atif Aslam - Hum Chod Gaye-Posted by Mehboob28

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now these names are so Indian eh? Probably Indians pretending to be Pakistani?

Also don't call me kid, you are the only kid here. A grown as kid, who gets kick out of these petty things. :wave:
You are obviously more dense than one assumes. On one hand you keep ranting about the low quality of the topic yet you keep cropping up with your useless contribution. Now before resorting to more waste of space, check post#124 (Not Mine) and see if you can enlighten your self.

@thread
well truth is really bitter...

Thread is really an excellent example of --- epic Fail....

defination :

epic fail [Urban Dictionary.com]
The highest form of fail known to man. Reaching this level of fail means only one thing:
a)You must die, or the world will fail itself due to such an extreme level of failage.

[i.e a thread could dragged to nth page without any conclusion]

Possible.

Well documented and proven !!

I was only replying to what I felt were offensive comments by some people. In the same tone.
Thus digressing from the topic and derailing the thread, typical Indian members ploy.

Now that you raised this topic, you couldn't have failed to notice what triggered it. People get carried away by their own rhetoric and keep on repeating it till some facts are pointed to them.
It's not a stick measuring contest and in any case never contributed to the subject. Period

OK. Let's agree to it for now.
Believe me Can't wait for later.

I will say that some people will prefer "r" and some the "d" sound. None of them are completely faithful but I personally will also prefer "d" as that is closer to the actual sound in Hindi.
You make it sound as if it is a tailor made choice rather than a question of Grammar, in which case,
one can also have the choice of writing say, DEWAR as THE WAR, wouldn't you agree.
In Hindi, you speak what you write. Some sounds are different from English and there is no 100% agreed way to write those sounds in English. Different people will write different spellings of Hindi words. Same will probably be true for most languages.
Tell me about it, above example (D)EWAR, yet I use to deal with a Company, Chu(D)a Internationals. Two different sounds but the letter "D" applied in both cases.
You think it's blunder. We don't think so. After all it is our songs and our language and we will know better. Isn't that reasonable?
Since you seem to know the precise figure, (80%) those of us who want to stone an adulterer, isn't it only logical that there may be a few of us who can shed a light or two.

Let's move on.
By your explanation, we are only moving in circles.

One can find dirt if one is looking for it. I am not interested in doing that.
I am sure you would have found that plenty on your side but since you are here for a reason, you may as well benefit, or as they say, watch this space.

We can all see who is dense and who is not, and perverted on top of that. As far as post #124 is concerned,
& here's the word correctly pronounced in the song BUT wrongly written by indians consistently ;;;
I think I have made it evident enough that the highlighted part is not true. The Pakistani videos I have posted and my post #128 proves it that Pakistanis do just the same. But of course they are "Indian version" of Pakistani songs.

Also go read my post #134 and enjoy sucking on that foot in your mouth. :wave:

^^^^^^^^

Albeit, it's evident, who is doing all the sucking up, but none the less as the saying goes..........

"Never argue with an idiot. They will bring you down to their level and beat you with experience."

^^^^^^^^

Albeit, it's evident, who is doing all the sucking up, but none the less as the saying goes..........

"Never argue with an idiot. They will bring you down to their level and beat you with experience."

You really like the word "Albeit" don't you? As expected you had nothing more than quibbling and personal attacks to offer. I ll let the others judge who was proven an idiot in this thread. :cheers:

Indians claiming Urdu to be foreign language?

Bull shi , all most all the young generation of Punjab, speak Urdu more frequently then Punjabi, in Schools, Colleges, Universities, workplace etc etc

Same case in Sindh, NWFP, Baluchistan.

Only when you go to Villages, or go in to Interior areas of Provinces, you will see People speaking their native languages more.

It only proves that Urdu is an adapted language for you guys.

Just think about it.

Remember The Great Creator Of " Saray Jaha Say Acha Hindustaa Humara" The Great Sir Iqbal, His ancestors migrated from Azad Kashmir, And settled in to Punjab Region, Sialkot, he later migrated to Lahore

He Chose to do Poetry in Persian and Urdu? Why? Why didnt he do that in Punjabi Or Azad Kashmiri Dialect?

Because The Persian and Urdu Is the Symbolic language of Indian Subcontinent Muslims.

Our forefathers spoke Urdu, Then How Urdu can be the Foriegn language of Pakistan?

So would you say that Persian is a Pakistani language as well?

Won't that be foolish?

You can learn any language, appreciate it, even become quite good at it. That will not make it your native language still.

The important point is that proper pronunciation of Urdu words requires a 'r' (not a 'd') and a 'z' (not a 'j'). This is not a Pakistani requirement, it is a Urdu requirement. Ask your Lucknow nawaabs if you don't believe me.

There is a special beauty in hearing a language spoken with perfect enunciation, whether it's Queen's English or the Urdu of Ghalib and Iqbal.

Again, this is not a debate of India v/s Pakistan, but about proper pronunciation of Urdu.

Our movies and songs are not in Urdu as you understand it. They are in Hindi as we understand it (or may be Hindustani, the language spoken in the street).

Yes, the Lakhnavi Urdu is beautiful as also the Shakespearean English. It is also almost extinct.

Well documented and proven !!

Thus digressing from the topic and derailing the thread, typical Indian members ploy.

It's not a stick measuring contest and in any case never contributed to the subject. Period

Believe me Can't wait for later.

You make it sound as if it is a tailor made choice rather than a question of Grammar, in which case,
one can also have the choice of writing say, DEWAR as THE WAR, wouldn't you agree.
Tell me about it, above example (D)EWAR, yet I use to deal with a Company, Chu(D)a Internationals. Two different sounds but the letter "D" applied in both cases.
Since you seem to know the precise figure, (80%) those of us who want to stone an adulterer, isn't it only logical that there may be a few of us who can shed a light or two.

By your explanation, we are only moving in circles.

I am sure you would have found that plenty on your side but since you are here for a reason, you may as well benefit, or as they say, watch this space.

The only part I wish to reply is about my claim of 86%. I was off by 3%, the real figure is 83%.

Pakistani Public Opinion | Pew Global Attitudes Project

The rest seems superfluous to me. You are presuming to tell us how we should write Hindi words in English! Sounds funny to me.

Your obsession with the "c" word is bordering on perversion as far as I can see. Carry on buddy.

And once again not every Indian pronounce "z" as "j". Many do I know, reason behind that being there is no "Z" sound in Hindi devnagri script. For example "Zebra" is written as ज़ेबरा, see the little dot under the first letter, thats the only thing differentiating between "J" and a "Z" sound, so I wouldn't blame Hindi speakers for omitting that little detail.

I don't understand.
On the one hand, you are saying that there is no 'z' sound in the script.
But then you say that the dot denotes 'z' rather than 'j'.

So, there is a 'z' sound, but people tend to gloss over the dot and pronouce the 'z' as 'j', is that it?

I don't understand.
On the one hand, you are saying that there is no 'z' sound in the script.
But then you say that the dot denotes 'z' rather than 'j'.

So, there is a 'z' sound, but people tend to gloss over the dot and pronouce the 'z' as 'j', is that it?

Zebra is not a hindi/sanskrit word is it? There is no 'z' sounding syllable in Sanskrit, it's either 'Ya' or 'Ja', like 'Yayati' and 'Janmabhumi'. People will laugh their rear end off if you say 'Zanmabhumi' instead of 'Janmabhumi'.