Zarb A Azb: Why Is Pak Military Bragging About Its Success

the thing is we suck *** on selling our point of view and that is true for the khakis.

what MK seems to be saying is that some tactical victories in Zarb e Azb have been exaggerated by the Pak military although there is nothing special about that specially when we failed on international forum, negotiations, putting public and politicians on the same page and some inward cleansing after some disasters.

I always lament the apologetic outlook of our military operations.
the way it has to justify its actions to the public seems to me as if its trying to convince itself.
those that have made up their minds and put their weight in the TTP camp would never ever be changed, their comments on social media on APS tragedy and Safura massacre are there for all to see. such people dont need anymore convincing but need to be dealt with like all potent regimes do who value the conservation of their system.

and those that are already convinced dont need to be told anymore its like preaching the converted. we just want more of that specially the urban phase of the operation needs to have started yesterday.

we have chairman senate shedding tears over the implementation of military courts (no high profile hanging yet except handful would be assassins of Musharraf) red mosque cleric openly taunting and mocking the state and the political gangsters in Sindh who are upset over Rangers raids.
dealing with India , America, Saudis and Afghanistan etc is yet another disaster.. and there is no time to moan over the previous lacklustre military leadership because we are still giving up ground.

if we do a fraction of Erdogan on Pakistanis then we might have more stability. I mean in Turkey where you can get charged for treason for farting at the wrong time or failing to show enough enthusiasm towards the awesomeness of Erdogan.

army needs cleansing for its failures and half hearted actions and it needs to open a can of woopass on Pakistan's enemies.

Respected sir,I agree with all your points,

We must understand that with what trauma we were all going through.The fact is,that whatsoever mess was created appeared to us as the most impossible to recover.Our military alone was not responsible for all this,the fact is that civil establishment had played their part as well,plus there were several factors which were not in our control.
I have been always saying that failure of proper execution caused the rise of such 4+ gen warfare,followed by exploitation by foreign powers.
I agree with you and Khan sahab that we must look forward and think of dealing with all those factors which are causing this which includes those masses discussed by you,but at the same time I will say that we must appreciate as well for the way we managed to even reduce their suicide attacks into the city,which is something that must be rejoiced,by looking at the intensity.
During Zardari's rule,I was one of those laymen,who lost almost all hopes and it could be reflected from my write-ups.The problem was not that it was mission impossible,but the kind of establishment that was there and the weak response they were generating.We were not united,military was demanding ops,while PPP was stuck with their 3 dimension policy which mainly relied on negotiations,that is peace talks with terror outfits.Meanwhile,all major powers were exploiting our confusion for good.We were loosing stuff all on grounds.
Then,we saw Nawaz Sharif rule,and soon after Nawaz came into power and Gen Raheel Sharif took charge and the way they modified their 3 dimension policy to 5 dimension and began their crack down,you won't believe that what we have felt,how released,free and safe.
I can appreciate and understand your concerns and Mastan sahaeb's too and I appreciate that we must stop rejoicing and began to think seriously of future,how long to end and how to get rid of this mess for once and for all,but at the same time I find it disappointing that Khan saheb is not understanding the intensity of this mess.If he would then he would have sensed same desperation as we did.Raheel Sharif appears to us hero right now,b/c he assured effective implementation and we hope for more in future.
On basis of some incomplete grounds,we cannot ignore this effort,at any cost.Meanwhile,on the other hand there are also some masses who are calling this success as 'building up a hype' by calling sharif as pesudo hero.
Whether our respected critics call him pseudo hero or call this of giving an unnecessary fame,but the fact remains that success of zarb e azab has given us moral support and power to withstand this war,and Inshallah we will continue to show them the hell hole,but we need to win war with ourselves on psychological and moral grounds first,that our military is strong and we will break them down.

There are few things which are boiling up my blood,seeing up political drama over Dr.Asim's controversy and I am feeling as if they are trying to corner Raheel Sharif as well,which is alarming.

regards

Sir Mastan, my personal understanding is which can be wrong that our military top brass miscalculated the American interest in the region and their determination as well.

It was thought right after 9/11 that America is angry and wants to punish someone, they won't be here for long. The attack on Iraq actually supported such frame of mind. So we thought it will be business as usual once they leave the region so covertly we supported the Afghan Taliban so that once the Americans leave Afghanistan and the civil war starts again we can have a friendly regime there again.

In those early years there was no real effort put into changing things within Pakistan.

But Americans stayed way too long and our strategy of appeasing a few Taliban groups started backfiring. With the advent of TTP and growing militancy within Pakistan our armed forces started acting against them. It is only been about 6 years that we are seeing serious efforts to fight extremism within Pakistan.

And we all remember what was the public reaction to our own Blue star (Lal Masjid). But later once it was established that Kabul is not gonna fall soon and these guys are less of an asset and more of a pain in the a**, we can see an effort by the army to change the national narrative through media.

So yes with hindsight I agree with you that things should have been done differently and at more pace. But even if I was the COAS in 2002, and I had all the baggage of 20 years of supporting such groups on my shoulder, I would have done the same.

I would like to know how you would have done it if you were at helm of things back then, knowing that Talis were our guys and with intelligence that Americans are not here for long.

Pak military assessment before GW1 was that the americans will get their ar-ses kicked----so this analysis of your's of military not understanding the issue.

That is why they needed a car salesman to talk to them to make them understand what is happening inside of america and what has changed in the minds of the men.

Some in military were thinking of making a vietnam of the u s army---they did not know about around 4.5 mil vietnamese casualties----and land that is still destroyed.

This intel you mention---that is not acceptable----that means that pakistanis wanted to believe what was convenient--and that is a failure..

The Paks assessed the americans as they assess the indians----with the americans---in the begining---you cannot predict if you don't know them--but the writing was on the wall when they started boimbing from the north and pushed the taliban down south-----.

Then with all the fanfare and drama---they let Osama Bin Laden escape Kandhar---even though he was on the drone camera for 1 1/2 hours----the generals just did not order to press the trigger and neither did the white house which was looking at the live feed.

But---when they let him escape at Tora Bora---alarm bells should have started ringing at GHQ rawalpindi that things are going to turn for the worst. That is when they should have acted and taken out the alqaeda on our side of the tora bora mountains.

The main issue is of the escape of al qaeda and its terrorists from afghanistan into pakistan---all those chechens---the turkmen---the arabs---the africans---the whiteys----.

And then at each and every step---pak military failed---one after the other---each strike failed----.

The Lal Masjid issue also happened due to the stupidity of the pak military---they should have done the same thing as they do in the U S---total blackout of the news---no media outlet to air any news about it---total shut down of telephone service---this is the basic 101 of handling terrorists---.

But again the pak military played it absurd and brainless----. There is simply no ending to the failures of pak military in this aspect..

So---now those assessor who came up with the wrong assessment---have they been fired or have they been promoted---!

Americans did not stay too long---it was evident for me here in the U S for how long they would be staying----. It was no surprise---there was a christian movement here in the U S military to find ways to convert afghans to christianity and show them the way of the " righteous "---did you guys know that----no---how would you know that---because you are pakistanis---and accordingly----if you don't know about it---it does not exist.

Hindsight is a problem---when you do half ar-se things----.

The writer of this article seems like a moron who has no idea about psychological warfare, even if armies loose they brag and disinform the enemy to make them think they are loosing, specially in case of decentralized enemy like TTP.

Thank you and on a given day I love you too.

army needs cleansing for its failures and half hearted actions and it needs to open a can of woopass on Pakistan's enemies.

Nobody but the Army can do that, and we have seen no real progress towards either of those goals in the long term. The fear that the gains made by ZeA will prove to be short term is very real without the steps to shore them up.

HJi,

Some of you might think the term " car salesman " is silly or outrageoues---but you have to understand---what the paks are dealing with sitting across the table----.

The americans are PURE car salesmen----the congressman is a car salesman---the senator is a car salesman---everyone negotiates like a car salesman----they think and act like car salesman---thinking on their feet and changing direction on a dime----.

Always calculating gains and losses----ready to make deals----give some take more---ready to take you for a ride of a lifetime---rip your head off in the process and don't even let you cry---and then you put your hand on your behind and do't even want to say that " I have been had " because that would be embarrassing and humiliating----. Kiyani got that royal treatment first hand----couldn't even utter a single word after that.

I mean to say---these americans are dealing in billions of dollars---100's of billions of dollars---millions of lives meaningless to them----taking on the powers of russia and china at the same time and looking forward to smashing them to kingdom come and coming out with as little a damage as possible.

To deal with them---you have to have the larceny of the indians and the ballz of the jews---. Can you imagine being a little jew yid nation---slapping the face of this big american in public all the time and still expecting a smile---and if there is a groan or a smirk---they slap some more. That is the ultimate salesmanship---an israel that has nothing to offer back to the U S---has convincend them that they are indispensable---and here is pakistan---doing all the dirty work of the united states and helping it as well---is being smacked around like a high school student at the mercy of a boarding school teacher.

The Lal Masjid issue also happened due to the stupidity of the pak military---they should have done the same thing as they do in the U S---total blackout of the news---no media outlet to air any news about it---total shut down of telephone service---this is the basic 101 of handling terrorists---.
We have to understand that Pakistan Army is not a law enforcement agency and had no training or experience of conducting a Lal Masjid kind of operation. For the last 67 years it's role was of fighting a conventional force in a battlefield across the mountains of Kashmir, plains of Punjab and deserts of Sindh. Urban warfare was not a specialty of Pakistan army. Correct me if I am wrong , but in US I believe such operations are not conducted by Seals or Delta Force but are handled by Swat teams. The Zarrar company has the training and experience of clearing out buildings but have no experience of PR, media management e.t.c. This was kind of new war that Pakistan was facing, and our forces needed to adapt, yes it took time but they did adapt.
-there was a christian movement here in the U S military to find ways to convert afghans to christianity and show them the way of the " righteous "---did you guys know that----no---how would you know that---because you are pakistanis---and accordingly----if you don't know about it---it does not exist.
Sir I don't think the US foreign policy is actually run by Christian Evangelist in their army, who are on a mission to convert the world to their religion. If that was the case I would have actually joined Taliban in their fight against the American infidels instead of posting here.
If a few morons talked about this then that does not mean that US army will not leave Afghanistan until they have converted all of its population. And Afghans are perhaps the toughest people to convert anyway, there are only two things that they take pride in, one is well being Afghan and second is being Muslim, and both pretty much are synonymous to them.
And frankly speaking I don't think if even the Americans were planning for such a long stay in Afghanistan either, otherwise they would not have ventured into Iraq only a year after capturing Afghanistan.
To deal with them---you have to have the larceny of the indians and the ballz of the jews---. Can you imagine being a little jew yid nation---slapping the face of this big american in public all the time and still expecting a smile---and if there is a groan or a smirk---they slap some more. That is the ultimate salesmanship---an israel that has nothing to offer back to the U S---has convincend them that they are indispensable---and here is pakistan---doing all the dirty work of the united states and helping it as well---is being smacked around like a high school student at the mercy of a boarding school teacher.
You can't really compare Pakistan with Israel. There are many differences but the one that tops the charts is that Israelis are not providing the covert support to a group that is killing American soldiers. It surely takes some balls to do that while you are accepting billions of dollars of aid from the US. Do you deny that we did that for a good long period, again that was a miscalculation on our part but we did that and salesman knew about it and could not do a thing.
US and Pakistan are not natural allies, this is a marriage of convenience and would not last for long. Like it did not lasted after the Soviet withdrawal. Yes the Americans have learnt their lesson and will not completely abandon us but they won't be our allies either. As you say they are salesmen, they will look for profit and currently their relationship with India can provide them more profit than that with Pakistan. It has nothing to do with Indian larceny but its simple Geo-politics.

The killing of Talibans trained and equipped by Pakistan Army in the first place and now some of these Talibans are now under NDS influence are bring hunted by the same Pakistani Army is no accomplishment. The whole Taliban affair was total waste of time, strategy, money honor, lives and peace in Pakistan. We need accountability not shameful medals.

The taliban under the influence were not trained by the pak army persay---but rather by nds and raw as well as funded by them.

@MastanKhan please name any other country which has comprehensively crushed such a full fledged insurgency in such a short span ( Since Zarb-e-Azb started June 2014), what about Libya, Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan, US+ coalition of 28 countries in Afghanistan, Somalia, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia + GCC...name one which has successfully captured & denied safe heavens to such an intense insurgency, is also controlling 3500km lines of communication & has successfully rehabilitated people into areas such as Swat & South Waziristan after cleansing that area.
There is a reason international media is reporting Pakistan to be the 1st country to defeat a full fledged insurgency.
The attacks you mentioned were happening out of North Waziristan, the national consensus wasnt there to start an operation during PPP era, there were other elements alongside TTP, it was all political, Once National consensus was secured & army went in (June 2014) after ZarbeAzb, terror incidents fell by 90%...this is more than an enough reason to be proud !!!

No it's not about bragging. This was not an easy task to meet. Pakistan armed force did an outstanding job to crush all these dogs. Who were trying to weakening Pakistan. Taking pride in this achievement is not bragging. USA send their troops since many years to fight them in Afghanistan. Result? Pakistan tackled them down in a very short time period.

WHY BRAGGING ? HUH? cause we were able to do it that's why?i remember back in 2009 i felt unsafe going out in bazars and public places,swat became from a heaven on earth to hell ? In 2k15 i have visted the far side of north i felt the change,It is F***ing safe now! army laid tons lives for ya mate,3400 terrorist got there boarding passes to hell mate,cool innit?
There is Problem in Pakistan if you don't tell out loud no one is gonna listen/appreciate to ya.

It's not about bragging, its about taking pride in one's accomplishments and the success of Zarb e Azb is visible with the improving security situation of the country.

Regarding your point that it was needed to be done earlier, well certainly yes. It was a bit too late, but we have to understand something here. The army can not go into such a huge operation without the backing of people and previously there was a clear lack of support from the populace and political parties for such an operation. Even during the Swat Operation there were many voices against it, and I remember Saad Rafiq of PMLN crying on live TV after that operation was launched.

The national narrative was against the military launching operations in any part of the country. Now that the narrative is in their support they have went in.

But yes that brings us to the question that how the previous narrative was created at the first place, why there was so much support for armed militias, why it was so hard to crack down upon guys like Abdul Aziz. For that I don't think Kiyani or Pasha are the guys responsible, it was because of our state policies for more than 3 decades where some armed militias were considered as state tools. The same old good and bad Taliban story.

My generation grew up hearing the stories of marvelous bravery of these militias against Soviets and Indians in IOK. When I was a kid in 90's these guys used to came on their trucks on streets with banners saying Aik Mujahid 50k mein tayar hota hai how many can you create and many a times I actually gave them my pocket money thinking these are the good guys who need it more than I do. So they were kind of my childhood heroes and now you tell me that they are bad for society, it will take some time before I start believing you.

So such operations were not that easy to launch when the majority of the populace was against them.

Very, very well said.

We have to understand that Pakistan Army is not a law enforcement agency and had no training or experience of conducting a Lal Masjid kind of operation. For the last 67 years it's role was of fighting a conventional force in a battlefield across the mountains of Kashmir, plains of Punjab and deserts of Sindh. Urban warfare was not a specialty of Pakistan army. Correct me if I am wrong , but in US I believe such operations are not conducted by Seals or Delta Force but are handled by Swat teams. The Zarrar company has the training and experience of clearing out buildings but have no experience of PR, media management e.t.c. This was kind of new war that Pakistan was facing, and our forces needed to adapt, yes it took time but they did adapt.

Sir I don't think the US foreign policy is actually run by Christian Evangelist in their army, who are on a mission to convert the world to their religion. If that was the case I would have actually joined Taliban in their fight against the American infidels instead of posting here.
If a few morons talked about this then that does not mean that US army will not leave Afghanistan until they have converted all of its population. And Afghans are perhaps the toughest people to convert anyway, there are only two things that they take pride in, one is well being Afghan and second is being Muslim, and both pretty much are synonymous to them.
And frankly speaking I don't think if even the Americans were planning for such a long stay in Afghanistan either, otherwise they would not have ventured into Iraq only a year after capturing Afghanistan.

You can't really compare Pakistan with Israel. There are many differences but the one that tops the charts is that Israelis are not providing the covert support to a group that is killing American soldiers. It surely takes some balls to do that while you are accepting billions of dollars of aid from the US. Do you deny that we did that for a good long period, again that was a miscalculation on our part but we did that and salesman knew about it and could not do a thing.
US and Pakistan are not natural allies, this is a marriage of convenience and would not last for long. Like it did not lasted after the Soviet withdrawal. Yes the Americans have learnt their lesson and will not completely abandon us but they won't be our allies either. As you say they are salesmen, they will look for profit and currently their relationship with India can provide them more profit than that with Pakistan. It has nothing to do with Indian larceny but its simple Geo-politics.

It is not a matter of specialty----but it is a matter of adapting to a changing scenario on the run----because if it is the army that you got---then it is the army that has to do all the jobs----.

There was no covert support to any group----. The covert support was given by the U S forces to TTP thru the consulates of a neighbor---.

As for conversions---just because you don't know it does not mean that they did not exist----. That is a SOP of every U S invasion----the 2001 army was more into God and 'christian' beliefs than any other time.

Now remember---under these christian beliefs---catholics are not considered christians---neither are protestants----. This is a unique sect of its own making.

Instead of going to war with the U S---it is better to do a knowledgeable media campaign---that is what the american heirarchy hates the most---you can slug it out with them over the media and pummell them to your desire----uthat is what the israelis have been doing.

@MastanKhan please name any other country which has comprehensively crushed such a full fledged insurgency in such a short span ( Since Zarb-e-Azb started June 2014), what about Libya, Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan, US+ coalition of 28 countries in Afghanistan, Somalia, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia + GCC...name one which has successfully captured & denied safe heavens to such an intense insurgency, is also controlling 3500km lines of communication & has successfully rehabilitated people into areas such as Swat & South Waziristan after cleansing that area.
There is a reason international media is reporting Pakistan to be the 1st country to defeat a full fledged insurgency.
The attacks you mentioned were happening out of North Waziristan, the national consensus wasnt there to start an operation during PPP era, there were other elements alongside TTP, it was all political, Once National consensus was secured & army went in (June 2014) after ZarbeAzb, terror incidents fell by 90%...this is more than an enough reason to be proud !!!

If you are not blind and if you have not shut your ears----here is what i am saying---you did not have to be in this place in the first place---because you were able---you were capable and you had more resource than those nations that you are talking about.

All your problems have arisen from the single fact----you did not have the ballz to kill the terrorists on your side of the tora Bora mountains----.

You people lied to yourselves---you people cheated with yourselves----you people deceived yoursleves into make believing that they were your buddies----.

All this fck up is your own creation---only if you had not had the identity crisis.

he has a point, the level of embarrassment which has accumulated over the past 10+ years deserves to be criticized, its only now they decided to take things more seriously. Its not just about adapting yourself to unconventional warfare, its about underestimating the seriousness of the threat and playing the rest of the country as a stooge.
the army was slow to act, embarrassment after continuous embarrassment, thousands of innocent lifes lost. The third class generals brokering peace deals and the TTP still attacking killing and raping innocent people.Whilst they are in there offices drinking whiskey and smoking cegars.
If these dogs had taken things more seriously many lives wouldn't have been lost.
the fact some of those bastards allowed pakistan to be played for stooges, incidents like mehrans airbase, GHQ attacks, Kamra airbase attacks, Badabar attacks, suicide bombing in the SSG mess, the list goes on and on, why weren't some of these mother fuckers who were in charge of the base security held directly responsible, instead there glorified as heroes and the failures continue, no enquiries are held, they walk away scott free, this shit is known to happen throughout the military history of pak army, remember logewala, what happened to that general who decided to send tanks and men without aircover in a god damn open dessert in enemy territory NOTHING!!!!! it took someone like general rahil shareef to realise what the problem was, and there needs to be a several figures more who can do the same.

It is not a matter of specialty----but it is a matter of adapting to a changing scenario on the run----because if it is the army that you got---then it is the army that has to do all the jobs----.

There was no covert support to any group----. The covert support was given by the U S forces to TTP thru the consulates of a neighbor---.

As for conversions---just because you don't know it does not mean that they did not exist----. That is a SOP of every U S invasion----the 2001 army was more into God and 'christian' beliefs than any other time.

Now remember---under these christian beliefs---catholics are not considered christians---neither are protestants----. This is a unique sect of its own making.

Instead of going to war with the U S---it is better to do a knowledgeable media campaign---that is what the american heirarchy hates the most---you can slug it out with them over the media and pummell them to your desire----uthat is what the israelis have been doing.

If you are not blind and if you have not shut your ears----here is what i am saying---you did not have to be in this place in the first place---because you were able---you were capable and you had more resource than those nations that you are talking about.

All your problems have arisen from the single fact----you did not have the ballz to kill the terrorists on your side of the tora Bora mountains----.

You people lied to yourselves---you people cheated with yourselves----you people deceived yoursleves into make believing that they were your buddies----.

All this fck up is your own creation---only if you had not had the identity crisis.

We had to go through this due to our proximity to Afghanistan, this mess was creation of almost all of the capitalist world. Don't forget pics of Jallaludin Haqqani & Gulbuddin Hekmetyar with President Ragen in oval office where he called them moral equivalents of George washington. Israel airlifted weapons to Pak for mujahideen captured in lebanon war, Pak was one of the players .

he has a point, the level of embarrassment which has accumulated over the past 10+ years deserves to be criticized, its only now they decided to take things more seriously. Its not just about adapting yourself to unconventional warfare, its about underestimating the seriousness of the threat and playing the rest of the country as a stooge.
the army was slow to act, embarrassment after continuous embarrassment, thousands of innocent lifes lost. The third class generals brokering peace deals and the TTP still attacking killing and raping innocent people.Whilst they are in there offices drinking whiskey and smoking cegars.
If these dogs had taken things more seriously many lives wouldn't have been lost.
the fact some of those bastards allowed pakistan to be played for stooges, incidents like mehrans airbase, GHQ attacks, Kamra airbase attacks, Badabar attacks, suicide bombing in the SSG mess, the list goes on and on, why weren't some of these mother fuckers who were in charge of the base security held directly responsible, instead there glorified as heroes and the failures continue, no enquiries are held, they walk away scott free, this shit is known to happen throughout the military history of pak army, remember logewala, what happened to that general who decided to send tanks and men without aircover in a god damn open dessert in enemy territory NOTHING!!!!! it took someone like general rahil shareef to realise what the problem was, and there needs to be a several figures more who can do the same.

Enjoy the read---could not have come at a better time

12-22-2015_70097_1.gif

Just look at what Kiyani says---and he is clueless to what it means----afraid that terrorists once confronted will come down to the mainland----.off course they will---.

This was sheer cowardice---should the state fold down for the fear of terrorist acts---what a shame---what a disgrace.

For Longewala---the general had an ecxellent plan---it was air force that failed in being the brother's keepr---.

Pakistan as a society wasn't ready to recognize this threat from radicals , not until 2008, when attacks on civilians started. Then you saw 2008 Bajaur operation, 2009 SWA op, 2009 swat operation, later operations in Kurram agency, Khyber agency. FATA was systematically cleared, the attacks happened from TTP headquarters in NWA. That was their last stronghold. The americans insisted Pak to launch operation, but sallala checkpost attack, raymond davis incident deepened the resentment against americans, it was all political manoeuvring to delay the NWA operation, as if mounted, it would look like it was done under pressure from US, would further infuriate the masses against govt, that is why FO statements were Pak will start NWA op at the time of its choosing. It was in June 2014, it was launched, the success is infront of the entire world. launching operations isnt easy in this part of the world, there are tons of political considerations for the govt !!!