World Food Day 2022: India Tops Hunger Charts in South Asia

RiazHaq

India ranks 107th for hunger among 121 nations. The nation fares worse than all of its South Asian neighbors except for war-torn Afghanistan ranked 109, according to the Global Hunger Index 2022. Sri Lanka ranks 64, Nepal 81, Bangladesh 84 and Pakistan 99. India and Pakistan have levels of hunger that are considered serious. Both have slipped on the hunger charts from 2021 when India was ranked 101 and Pakistan 92.

India’s child wasting rate (low weight for height), at 19.3%, is worse than the levels recorded in 2014 (15.1%) and even 2000 (17.15), and is the highest for any country in the world and drives up the region’s average owing to India’s large population, according to The Hindu newspaper. The child hunger situation has gotten worse since Mr. Narendra Modi was elected Prime Minister of India in 2014. Earlier this year, Prime Minister Modi offered to "feed the world" in the aftermath of the Ukraine war. Within weeks of this pledge he ended making an about-face. On World Food Day 2022, the United Nations World Food Program has warned of another year of global record hunger looms amid food and climate crisis.
Pakistan has a score of 26.1 and ranks 99th out of the 121 countries on Global Hunger Index rankings. India's GHI score is 29.1 and it ranks 107th. Hunger could worsen in Pakistan in the aftermath of the worst-ever flooding that has destroyed wheat and rice crops in southern Sindh province. Flood waters have not yet drained from the fields and standing water is preventing planting of the Rabi (winter) crop now. Here's an excerpt of USDA Food and Grain report on the wheat situation in Sindh:
"Farmers normally begin planting the wheat crop in mid-October and November in Sindh and Punjab, respectively. Sindh province usually accounts for almost twenty percent of national wheat production. However, large areas of Sindh typically planted to wheat are still submerged, and it may be several months before the flood waters recede. With Sindh’s flat terrain, poor drainage, and current high-water table, flood waters are receding slowly. As a result, seeding the 2023/24 wheat crop in Sindh is likely to be delayed and some areas may possibly remain unseeded. Even where the waters recede, farmers are likely to face difficulties in wheat planting as the floods washed away on-farm wheat seed stock in many areas. Additionally, farmers’ purchasing power in the affected areas is severely compromised making it difficult for them to buy fertilizers and other inputs".
The number of hungry people around the world has shot up from 282 million to around 345 million since the beginning of 2022, and by mid-year, according to the United Nations World Food Program. “We are facing an unprecedented global food crisis and all signs suggest we have not yet seen the worst”, said WFP Executive Director David Beasley. “For the last three years hunger numbers have repeatedly hit new peaks. Let me be clear: things can and will get worse unless there is a large scale and coordinated effort to address the root causes of this crisis. We cannot have another year of record hunger”.
Related Links:

Haq's Musings

South Asia Investor Review

Pakistan Among World's Largest Food Producers
Pakistan Floods 2022
Food in Pakistan 2nd Cheapest in the World

India in Crisis: Unemployment and Hunger Persist After COVID
Impact of Russia Sanctions on Food, Fuel Availability
Record Number of Indians Seeking Asylum in US

Vast Majority of Pakistanis Support Imran Khan's Handling of Covid19 Crisis

Incomes of Poorest Pakistanis Growing Faster Than Their Richest Counterparts

Can Pakistan Effectively Respond to Coronavirus Outbreak?

How Grim is Pakistan's Social Sector Progress?

Pakistan Fares Marginally Better Than India On Disease Burdens

COVID Lockdown Decimates India's Middle Class

Pakistan Child Health Indicators

Pakistan's Balance of Payments Crisis

How Has India Built Large Forex Reserves Despite Perennial Trade Deficits

Riaz Haq's Youtube Channel

PakAlumni Social Network

Now takla and feku and their asslickers in godi media will label this as "Phake Newj" and ED and CBI will raid the offices of the agency that made this report :lol:.

Pakistan has just suffered unprecedented floods. And India is under the rule of Modi, the best prime minister in history.

However, Pakistan won.

There are way enough anti Godi-media and anti feku channels here.. why is this not being covered by anyone ?

and saying "Takla" is very rude on your behalf, spl considering who authored this thread.

There are way enough anti Godi-media and anti feku channels here.. why is this not being covered by anyone ?

and saying "Takla" is very rude on your behalf, spl considering who authored this thread.

It is being covered by pretty much all independent media that i can think of

Meanwhile, rape-public tv is very predictable and busy with the following

What a surprise :lol:

All is phake newj. Fall in hunger index is phake newj, 4 million covid deaths is phake newj, 40% commission govt is phake newj. Any study that is not conducted based on vedic era gobar science is phake newj.

As expected the gobar party termed this as “phake newj” and “phoren sajish”. These puppies are so predictable 🤣.

Any study that is not conducted using vedic era technology is phake anti national newj.

We as Pakistanis don't have much room to talk. We're ranked 99 which is almost just as pathetic as India being ranked 107.

We need at least 10 years of PTI rule to reach an acceptable level in the Hunger Index.
Be careful, bhakts used to have the same exact keywords/phrases- 10 years of Modi rule will fix everything, 70 years of corrupt congress rule did this and that, its 10 years now and look at the state. Imran Khan sounds like our very own Feku and PTI guys are the bhakts of Pakistan. Since 10 year rule didnt fix snything, slogans have now changed to 20 years.

As expected the gobar party termed this as “phake newj” and “phoren sajish”. These puppies are so predictable 🤣.
you another starving commie like jamahir mian or what ?

kya hunger index lol ?.. we're eating quite good here, and dunia ka theka ni lenay ka.. you eat, you eat, you starve, you starve .. no point blaming the world/god or whathavyou for it, that is pathetic !

go to a gurudwara if you're truly starving, langar food is generally pretty good.

its very very simple logic . india have too much food gov give them free food but public do not want to eat . its not GOI fault . people like to eat dead dogs rats and trash in india which gov can not provide . in fact every indian wake up and find to HILTON HOTEL break fast passes under the pillow .

you another starving commie like jamahir mian or what ?

kya hunger index lol ?.. we're eating quite good here, and dunia ka theka ni lenay ka.. you eat, you eat, you starve, you starve .. no point blaming the world/god or whathavyou for it, that is pathetic !

go to a gurudwara if you're truly starving, langar food is generally pretty good.

Are you another gobarbhakt drunk on cow liqor? It was friday nights fever yesterday and im sure lots of cow liqor was on the menu, so i can excuse your weird rant.

Swim against the current all you want, son.

troll here on a Pakistani forum, or rage on twitter, get on NDTV and make proclamations, you may even join Raul Ghandy's pathetic troupe of sycophants..

filhal Modi Ji and BJP have complete control because they have the people's endorsement to do what they're doing

you lot are too weak to even move the script a nanometer, much less flip it.

much pain ahead for you, brace for more impact !

1665853351096.png

troll here on a Pakistani forum, or rage on twitter, get on NDTV and make proclamations, you may even join Raul Ghandy's pathetic troupe of sycophants..

filhal Modi Ji and BJP have complete control because they have the people's endorsement to do what they're doing

View attachment 886959

Salty? Is that you in the video? 🤣

No, not even going to bother watching it.. here but, a dose of reality for you:

View attachment 886960

aur khao keley
View attachment 886961

haha

View attachment 886962
So you agree it is you in the video 🤣.
Kela is only for public eyes. He’s Italian and probably s big beef eater. You on the other hand drink cow piss.

Feku made a big proclamation in 2014- Na Khaunga na Khaane Dunga

All recent corruption scandals and fall in hunger index show he was referring to beef, not bribes 🤣