'Why is he sporting an Ertugrul beard?': PM Modi's new look gets epic reactions on Twitter

N.Siddiqui

'Why is he sporting an Ertugrul beard?': PM Modi's new look gets epic reactions on Twitter
By FPJ Web Desk

It was his ‘caveman’ appearance with long hair and an overgrown beard that led Twitter having a field day.

freepressjournal%2F2020-08%2F830947a8-887a-4a20-b724-f4490eec5cd4%2FEepO88CU8AIA_uz.png

EepJu39VoAIkzft

Photo via Twitter

The date August 5 will go down in history as a momentous occasion, when Prime Minister Narendra Modi reached the Ram Janmabhoomi site in Ayodhya to set the construction of the grand Ram temple in motion, a reality that was the political and socio-religious dream of not just the BJP, but a vast section of Indians.

Dressed in traditional attire (dhoti and kurta) with shades of saffron and a mandatory face mask, the Prime Minister proceeded for the 'bhumi pujan' ceremony after offering prayers at the 10th century Hanuman Garhi temple, accompanied by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

However, it was his ‘caveman’ appearance with long hair and an overgrown beard that led Twitter having a field day.

ALSO READ

'Imagine Taliban celebrating destruction of Bamiyan Buddhas': These Twitter users are really upset about Ayodhya Bhoomi Pujan

The fashion police decided to decode the Prime Minister’s look and even went on to compare it with Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj and Ertugrul.

Here are some epic reactions.

At the 'bhumi pujan' site, PM Modi sat with Adityanath, UP Governor Anandiben Patel and RSS Chief Mohan Bhagwat, maintaining adequate social distancing, amid chants of Sanskrit shlokas.

With soil and water from across the country and a silver brick weighing around 40 kg, the 'bhumi pujan' was an elaborate affair.

The guest list, including religious leaders who formed part of the movement that started in the 1980s, was restricted to 175 in view of the COVID-19 crisis.

Slogans of “Bharat Mataki Jai” and “Har Har Mahadev” went up as the ritual ended and PM Modi laid the foundation of the temple

The town, festooned with marigold flowers and yellow and saffron flags, celebrated the beginning of the construction of a grand Ram temple.

https://www.freepressjournal.in/ind...modis-new-look-gets-epic-reactions-on-twitter

...and in few days, most likely Modi will lay claim to be Lord Vishnu...

"PM Modi Is 11th Avatar Of Lord Vishnu," Says Maharashtra BJP Leader
Talking to a Marathi news channel, BJP spokesperson Avadhut Wagh said, "The country is fortunate that we have got a god-like leader in Modi."

Mumbai:

A Maharashtra BJP spokesperson on Friday described Prime Minister Narendra Modi as the "11th incarnation" of Lord Vishnu, prompting ridicule by the Opposition, with the Congress calling it an "insult" to the gods.

"Hon PM @narendramodi ji is the 11th #Avatar (incarnation) of Lord Vishnu (sic)," state BJP spokesperson Avadhut Wagh said on Twitter.

Talking to a Marathi news channel, he said, "The country is fortunate that we have got a god-like leader in Modi."

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pm-modi-is-11th-avatar-of-lord-vishnu-maharashtra-bjp-leader-avadhut-wagh-1931272

Talking to a Marathi news channel, BJP spokesperson Avadhut Wagh said, "The country is fortunate that we have got a god-like leader in Modi."

Mumbai:

A Maharashtra BJP spokesperson on Friday described Prime Minister Narendra Modi as the "11th incarnation" of Lord Vishnu, prompting ridicule by the Opposition, with the Congress calling it an "insult" to the gods.

"Hon PM @narendramodi ji is the 11th #Avatar (incarnation) of Lord Vishnu (sic)," state BJP spokesperson Avadhut Wagh said on Twitter.

Talking to a Marathi news channel, he said, "The country is fortunate that we have got a god-like leader in Modi."

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pm-modi-is-11th-avatar-of-lord-vishnu-maharashtra-bjp-leader-avadhut-wagh-1931272

Modi already has temples dedicated to him.

Mumbai:

@Joe Shearer , @Shantanu_Left Dear both I consider myself a student of history/folklore/legends/mythology and my grasp on Indian history is pretty good. As far as I remember after the 9th Avatar (buddha) "Kali Yuga" will end as "Kalki" avatar will emerge to end it and yuga will change to the final 4 eras, starting fro "satya yuga".

I am not trying to be condescending or insulting just trying to understand where the hell did they invent the 11th Avatar?

For Pakistanis friends please do not insult any of their deities, just search the net for "kalki avatar" find the pictures and try to correlate, even I was shocked when I first saw it, I searched through historical records dating back to hundreds of years and the image was the same. So please don't go insulting.

In parallel search "Buraq" images only, compare, I have no idea which predates the other, but the resemblance despite being thousands of miles apart is amazing.

@Mangus Ortus Novem

I am not trying to be condescending or insulting just trying to understand where the hell did they invent the 11th Avatar?

Calling Modi the 11th avatar of Vishnu is a nauseating piece of sycophancy. Hinduism is a tolerant religion; it is unlikely that the idiot making that remark would have walked away as he did, if he was making a similar remark about YHWH, for instance.

There is no eleventh avatar; Kalki is the tenth avatar.

Where did the Kalki avatar come from? I honestly don't know. These avatars are mentioned in the Puranas, which, as you know, were written at widely different times and by an assortment of people. There are resonances with Al Buraq, except that the divine steed is often shown with a human face, and with the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.

These ten avatars are all avatars of Vishnu, btw, and you will notice the sleight of hand with which the Buddha has been co-opted as the avatar of a Hindu God; that, if he had known in his lifetime, might have killed him with laughter.

@Joe Shearer , @Shantanu_Left Dear both I consider myself a student of history/folklore/legends/mythology and my grasp on Indian history is pretty good. As far as I remember after the 9th Avatar (buddha) "Kali Yuga" will end as "Kalki" avatar will emerge to end it and yuga will change to the final 4 eras, starting fro "satya yuga".

For Pakistanis friends please do not insult any of their deities, just search the net for "kalki avatar" find the pictures and try to correlate, even I was shocked when I first saw it, I searched through historical records dating back to hundreds of years and the image was the same. So please don't go insulting.

In parallel search "Buraq" images only, compare, I have no idea which predates the other, but the resemblance despite being thousands of miles apart is amazing.

@Mangus Ortus Novem

Don't tag me for news related to this joker Narendra Modi when he's having one of his whimsical moments...wildlife expert, tribal dress, Lord Vishnu Avatar, new style of beard

But do tag me when he's dead of Coronavirus or something like that. :cheesy:

Calling Modi the 11th avatar of Vishnu is a nauseating piece of sycophancy. Hinduism is a tolerant religion; it is unlikely that the idiot making that remark would have walked away as he did, if he was making a similar remark about YHWH, for instance.

There is no eleventh avatar; Kalki is the tenth avatar.

Where did the Kalki avatar come from? I honestly don't know. These avatars are mentioned in the Puranas, which, as you know, were written at widely different times and by an assortment of people. There are resonances with Al Buraq, except that the divine steed is often shown with a human face, and with the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.

These ten avatars are all avatars of Vishnu, btw, and you will notice the sleight of hand with which the Buddha has been co-opted as the avatar of a Hindu God; that, if he had known in his lifetime, might have killed him with laughter.

I honestly want to discuss some mythologies but haven't been able to find someone except for a Pandit in varanasi.
I have some theories I have correlated them, but this forum....Phhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Don't tag me for news related to this joker Narendra Modi when he's having one of his whimsical moments...wildlife expert, tribal dress, Lord Vishnu Avatar, new style of beard

But do tag me when he's dead of Coronavirus or something like that. :cheesy:

I understand your concerns and will definitely respect your wishes, you can have a lunch on my account next time you are near Mustafa's ;)

I honestly want to discuss some mythologies but haven't been able to find someone except for a Pandit in varanasi.
I have some theories I have correlated them, but this forum....Phhhhhhhhhhhhhh

I understand your concerns and will definitely respect your wishes, you can have a lunch on my account next time you are near Mustafa's ;)
What is Mustafa's? Is it some famous eatery in Karachi?

I crave to visit Pakistan for the authentic Nihari, paaye, and kebabs. Been to many Pakistani restaurants but the original recipes in your motherland must be something extraordinary.

There are two 'bhooka Bangalis" in my team who could possibly out-eat me. :cheesy: @Joe Shearer @DalalErMaNodi One/both of them are possible alcoholics so they'll be hosted by @Imran Khan

I crave to visit Pakistan for the authentic Nihari, paaye, and kebabs. Been to many Pakistani restaurants but the original recipes in your motherland must be something extraordinary.

There are two 'bhooka Bangalis" in my team who could possibly out-eat me. :cheesy: @Joe Shearer @DalalErMaNodi One/both of them are possible alcoholics so they'll be hosted by @Imran Khan
the men whom drinks are always welcome on my door step .

He he O bhai tu Singapore man he rehta hai na. But honestly if use your new passport and decide to visit Lhr/pindi drop me a line, you can be my guest.

And who said I cannot host guests with indulgence?