Why I Hate Diwali

Funny thing is people calling for Eco friendly Diwali but fail to give reasons when PETA calls for no killing of animals on particular festival.

Eco-friendly Diwali is good thing but there is reason for fire crackers too. The smoke created also get rid of insects and mosquitoes. All we need is control of usage of fire crackers and time limit to be enforced by the Police. We also need NGOs and govt. agencies to directly stop Child Laborers in these factories. India is a vast country and demand for fire crackers can't be controlled enough to make substantial loss to these fire cracker companies.

Green Diwali: Bangalore NGO aims to electrify villages
diwali_graphics_3.jpg

Bangalore, Oct 30: This Diwali is truly going to light up thousands of households across several villages in rural West Bengal. Milaap, a Bangalore-based NGO, has taken up a Solar Lighting project. The project is aimed at providing electricity to 1500 poor households in villages of West Bengal. These villages are yet to be electrified. They rely on kerosene lamps to light up their houses after sunset. Milaap has associated with Halabol to bring awareness among the citizens of India. Those who are interested in Milaap's social work need to sign a petition of minimising the usage of crackers. As part of Milaap's project, one can also utilise their savings in helping the underprivileged to install solar lights. "Not only that - for every signature on the petition, one of Milaap's sponsors Arc Finance will donate Rs 10. Milaap targets an estimate of 20,000 signatures so that Rs 200,000 is raised for installing solar lights in houses of rural West Bengal," said a petition of Halabol. Halabol is a platform that promotes social change. Established in 2008, Arc Finance is a global non-profit that brings together practitioners, funders, pro-poor enterprises and end-users to develop solutions for access to finance for clean energy and water. Those who want to be part of Milaap's mission can click here.

Funny thing is people calling for Eco friendly Diwali but fail to give reasons when PETA calls for no killing of animals on particular festival.

Eco-friendly Diwali is good thing but there is reason for fire crackers too. The smoke created also get rid of insects and mosquitoes. All we need is control of usage of fire crackers and time limit to be enforced by the Police. We also need NGOs and govt. agencies to directly stop Child Laborers in these factories. India is a vast country and demand for fire crackers can't be controlled enough to make substantial loss to these fire cracker companies.
seem like ignorance is bliss for some people who missed threads on Eid al-Adha.May be were too busy in dussera celebrations.so ignorance can be excused.......:no:

BWAHAHAHAHA.......Ignorance. :D

firecrackers dangerous for kids and a big time noisy creepy stuff that mars peace of mind. the markets are flooded with these for many occasions

Oh dont give this crap to for you kids firing ak 47's is music to your ears but when some one is bursting crackers its dangerous are you fcuking kidding me with this nonsense of yours

seem like ignorance is bliss for some people who missed threads on Eid al-Adha.May be were too busy in dussera celebrations.so ignorance can be excused.......:no:

Ajtr go get a life we all know your new adopted family in pakistan will get offended even if you showed the desire to celebrate our festivals poor little girl

Oh i'm very well celebrating my diwali...of course a Green diwali with my parents and their staff........Thank to Allah my home falls in noise free designated zone and authorities are strict enough to enforce it during diwali.

Your_Green_Diwali.jpg

Their hearts beat for green Diwali

PATNA: Will the Patnaites celebrate pollution-free Diwali this year by saying no to firecrackers?

Posing this question to the enlightened citizens of the city some environmentalists have called for celebrating an eco-friendly Diwali for ensuring the safety of the people as well as the environment.

Environmentalists say even though there has been some decline in the sale of firecrackers in the city in recent years owing to the increasing consciousness of the citizens about their adverse impact on the environment, crackers worth more than Rs 5 crore are sold in the local market. This huge sum of money could easily be used for some other more purposeful work, they say.

Environmentalist Mehta Nagendra Singh said people do not realize that in our thickly populated cities, the temporary joy of watching the firecrackers is soon replaced by the intense air pollution caused by bursting of these crackers. The toxic substances used in the firecrackers release toxic gases that are harmful to the health of all living beings.

Firecrackers are generally made of metals and chemicals like copper, cadmium, lead, magnesium, sodium, zinc, nitrate and nitrite. While copper causes irritation of respiratory tract, cadmium causes anaemia and damages the kidney. Similarly, lead affects the nervous system, whereas sodium attacks the skin. Zinc causes vomiting and nitrate can lead to mental impairment. Nitrite, the deadliest of all, can send one into coma, Singh said.

Besides, several firecrackers also cause severe noise pollution. As per Bihar State Pollution Control Board norms, one cannot use firecrackers which make noise of more than 125 decibel. Excessive noise pollution caused by crackers can cause hearing loss, high blood pressure, heart attack and sleeping disturbances. Sudden exposure to loud noise could cause temporary or even permanent deafness. The high level of noise generated by crackers also causes immense suffering to birds and animals.

Sadly, few of us realize that the firecrackers used on Diwali are mostly made by young children. Since the substances being handled are extremely toxic, many of these child workers get sick and die in their early teens, said a social worker and environmentalist.

Diwali gets the green light

It isn't the fallout of Team India's dismal performance at the recent T20 World Cup, but a sustained environment awareness campaign that may see Dhoni bombs take a bow from Jamshedpur this Diwali.
Unlike a decibel-doting Ranchi, rough market statistics show green crackers are indeed the new rage amongst the steel hub's eco-friendly citizens.
Firecracker dealers, mostly based in Jugsalai area of the city, revealed that sale of ear-splitting bombs ' flaunting even celebrity brand identities like Dhoni Special Chocolate or Dhoni Junior Chocolate and those named after master blast Sachin Tendulkar or desi superhero Shaktimaan ' had plummeted. Instead, people are splurging on mild sound crackers that also emit less smoke compared to the traditional patakhas.
Raunak Gulati, proprietor of RA Traders on Station-Jugsalai Road, said Dhoni chocolate and 'atom' bombs were finding few takers for the first time since they were launched.
"Ever since these bombs hit the market in 2009, they sold like hot cakes until now. We had to order more than 30 cartons from Sivakasi. This time, only 10 cartons have been ordered. Still, we are not sure whether all will be sold," Gulati said, suggesting an almost 70 per cent drop in high-decibel cracker sale.
"We had felt the green pulse of customers last year too and have, thus, ordered more than 30 cartons of environment-friendly fireworks like multi-shots and single-launchers, sparkles and chakris," the man, who has been in this trade for over a decade, added.
The multi-shot bursts into various vivid hues mid-air without much noise, while the single-launcher colours the sky with a solo shade. The sparkles too burst mid-air, but in a quick succession of 25 to 50 times spreading an array of illumined glitter on the horizon.
A green Diwali is most certainly heavy on the pocket. Eco-friendly fireworks are understandably priced much higher than decibel devils like 'atom' bombs, chocolate bombs, chain crackers, Kali patakha, dhani patakha, seven shots and rockets.
A packet of sparkles costs around Rs 1,000, while ring wheels and magic wheels are priced between Rs 200 and Rs 300. The multi-shots and single-launcher come for anything between Rs 500 and Rs 1,000.
In stark contrast, a packet of 'atom' bombs costs Rs 80-120, while 12 pieces of the chocolate variant is far cheaper at Rs 30-40. The price of one box of anars (10 pieces) is Rs 90-100 and a traditional chakri set (10 pieces) is easy on the pocket at Rs 80.
Mohammed Iqbal, a vendor who has been selling crackers at Aambagan grounds in Sakchi for over 10 years, said earlier he used to fetch one carton of flowerpots and chakris, two of sparkles and its ilk and more of bombs. "But, the demand has soared for fancy fireworks now despite the high price," he added.
Lochan Mangotia, another wholesaler in Jugsalai, said gauging the demand they had placed orders for green crackers with manufacturers and stockists in Tamil Nadu. "We have brought ring wheels and magic wheels, which look like traditional chakris, but emit very little smoke. They also spin more than three times," he added.
During Diwali, firecrackers worth more than Rs 50 lakh are sold across 300 shops in the city. Out of these, barely 30 per cent are high-decibel crackers, Mangotia maintained.
Mango resident Gurucharan Singh said he had managed to convince his two children to opt for low-noise crackers. "It is all sparkles and wheels for us this time," he said.
Former president of Rotary Club Ronald D' Costa pointed out that the mindset of the people and changed, thanks to sustained environment campaigns by NGOs and schools.
Principal of ADLS Sunshine School Indrani Singh said they would celebrate an eco-friendly Diwali. "Like last year, students will conduct awareness drives in various pockets of the city encouraging people to shun high-decibel crackers," she added.

:tongue:....................:D

KRAIT ... dont spoil your festive mood by replying to this troll's useless posts. Chill buddy. HaPPy DiVali to you.

Would anyone pls start a thread "Why We love Diwali" in response to this troll....

let post Diwali Pictures in that thread to show why we love our Diwali:smokin:

Would anyone pls start a thread "Why We love Diwali" in response to this troll....

let post Diwali Pictures in that thread to show why we love our Diwali:smokin:
Why not you do the honour sire.....................:woot:

no-to-crackers-460x250.jpg