Why Economists Are Still Baffled by India’s GDP Growth

The thing that baffles me is how India can be having such great growth for the last 20 years but their cities still look abysmal.

You want me to flood this thread by posting pictures of infrastructure development in Indian cities ? I guess there are dedicated threads for that -India Developing, but still a long way to go | Page 651

How old are you kid?

Pitching some residential towers up 60 floors (that too only in a few places like Gurgaon or north of Mumbai) does not equate to progress.

Don't be such a hypocrite.No Indian member started discussion on urban development here - your compatriot did.

Progress means -

1. The rate of education,

is better than your neighbor (Bangladesh) with half your GDP.

yes,it is better.Now go kill yourself.

No Pakistani I know adores the current Indian Govt. (or Hindutva). It is clear you have not met a Hindutva idiot in person

The Chinese Communist party government doesn't have a good track record wrt human rights .Why don't I see you hating them ?

In India nobody gives two hoots for poor people who are the lower caste and minorities mostly.

Even then India has far less poverty than Bong-desh..:omghaha:

They are however busy with useless showcase projects like MARS and LUNAR missions.

Jealous much ?:lol: Such missions cost less than 0.01% of our annual expenditure

Antrix Corporation Limited, the marketing arm of ISRO earns a revenue of $300 million,almost 10 times as much as the largest shipbuilding company in Bangladesh..:lol:

These projects are great for ministers getting kickbacks.

:lol: What ? Care to explain troll ?

This article was published in 2012 in 'The Hindu' - a leading Daily in India by Jairam Ramesh, Union Minister for Rural Development in India back then.

Heard of the ‘Bangladesh shining’ story?

Ah,here it goes-you want to portray your country as the pioneers of human development in South Asia ? Ever heard of Sri Lanka ? Referring to 2005 data about malnutrition in India,makes your whole argument weak.

Prevalence of undernourishment (% of population) | Data | Table

India - 15% Bangladesh -17%

Global hunger index:

(Lower is better)

India - 17.8

Bangladesh - 19.1

While proportion of undernourished in India went from 21.5% to 17% between 2005 and 2014, Bangladesh went up from 15.3% to 16.3%.

Also India used to be 43.5% underweight children in 2005 compared to 37.3% in Bangladesh.

Now in 2014 India's figure is 30.7% (decrease of almost 13%) and Bangladesh is 36.8% (decrease of 0.5%).

So no it does not seem Bangladesh is succeeding in any manner,what so ever...:lol:

So how might have Bangladesh done it? Spending has something to do with it. As Jean Drèze has argued, the public health expenditure as a proportion of the GDP in Bangladesh has been much higher than in India until a few years ago.

Really ? I don't think so

Capture10.JPG
Capture11.JPG

And I know how much you spend..

remember:indians are touchy emotional jealous frail narcissistic people. now you will find why

Shut up idiot

What good is useless hatred to anybody? :-)

Ask the same question to yourself.

What the Chinese have NO RESPECT for is states that have MASS STARVATION present after nearly
7 decades of independence.

Maybe you forgot about Pakistan...

India was at 63rd position in the global hunger index (GHI) last year. The 55th position in 2014 is better than Pakistan (ranked 57) and Bangladesh (57), but trails behind Nepal (44) and Sri Lanka (39).

you sure these three pics are enough to compare pakistani cities with indians :D

There is simply no comparison with Pakistani cities-which lack even basic public transport infrastructure

You only have to visit India's filthy train stations and the toilets in them

Maybe you should visit your filthy Dhaka airport

dhakaairport69.jpg

We watch videos everyday how militant Hindu communal mobs go around terrorizing Christians and Muslims and your effed up law-n-order authorities just standby like losers and watch. How can India be an example of development for us when we handle every one of these things better than you?

You handle better ?

You should be more worried about secular bloggers getting hacked to death & about IS operating in your country.

For India to compete with China in the distant future and to become a manufacturing hub, the Modi Government needs to bring in an investment of $1 trillion in infrastructure projects.

Can you please show me some source about $ 1 trillion figure.

Anyway - Indian Megaprojects - SkyscraperCity

You have an obsession to always bring Pakistan into the picture, when the thread is clearly about India:) Pakistan's growth rate in 2015 was 4.2% and this was due to power shortages. The scenario will change when by 2018, Pakistan will add 10,000 MW to the grid and by 2020 our capacity in producing electricity will double. Therefore our future GDP growth will change, however stick to the topic and less not diverge.

FYI,India's per capita power production is double that of Pakistan

No comparison,though.

You Bhartiyas have neither the discipline, nor the work ethic, nor the vision as a large nation to pull off what China has done in the last two decades.

You're one good cheerleader :omghaha:

No comparison,though.

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/7b101156-f310-11e4-a979-00144feab7de.html#axzz3myKYSVub

The figure has been revised and changed to $1.7 trillion needed for infrastructure investment in the next decade for India. Just sending me a link on a website with random pictures of buildings, still does the explain the concept that Indian indeed has alot of structural problems. In addition, you should read the context of my previous message instead of jumping the gun and looking foolish in the process. Some Indian member was questioning how Pakistan receives no investment, therefore I provided a small explanation how this idea is false. Where exactly did I compare the economies of Pakistan and India, or does your burning ache is hard to contain when something positive is written on Pakistan.

The figure has been revised and changed to $1.7 trillion needed for infrastructure investment in the next decade for India. Just sending me a link on a website with random pictures of buildings, still does the explain the concept that Indian indeed has alot of structural problems

Its not a random link,its describes Indian mega projects,with a focus on infrastructure

POWER SECTOR

a) THERMAL POWER

1) Reliance Power Dadri(7460 MW)=$6.25 billion

2) Sasan UMPP(3960 MW)=$5 billion

3) Reliance Power chitrangi(5980 MW)=$7.5 billion

4) Krishnapatnam UMPP(4000 MW)=$5 billion

5) Adani Power Mundra(4620 MW)=$5 billion

6) NTPC kudgi(4000 MW)=$6 billion

7) Jamnagar project(4000 MW)=$5 billion

8) NTPC lara project(4000 MW)=$7.5 billion

9) IL&FS tamil nadu(3600 MW)=$5 billion

10) NTPC sundergarh(4800 MW)=$10 billion

11) Tilaiya UMPP(4000 MW)=$6 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$68.25 billion / Rs 2.6 lac crore

TOTAL CAPACITY=50,420 MW

b) NUCLEAR POWER

1) Koodankulam project Tamil Nadu(9200 MW)=$16 billion

2) Jaitapur project(10,000 MW)=$25 billion

3) Kovvada project(8000 MW)=$15 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$56 billion / Rs 2.3 lac crore

TOTAL CAPACITY=27,200 MW

c) RENEWABLE ENERGY

1) Jawaharlal Nehru National Solar mission(20,000 MW)=$75 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$75 billion/ 3 lac crore

TOTAL CAPACITY=20,000 MW

d) TRANSMISSION AND DISTRIBUTION

1) PGCIL for XI plan=$14 billion

2) PGCIL XII plan=$30 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$44 billion / Rs 1.8 lac crore

TOTAL INVESTMENT(a+b+c+d)=$251.25 billion / Rs 10.1 lac crore

TOTAL CAPACITY=1,04,020 MW

................................................................................................................................................................................................

ROAD SECTOR

1) Golden Quadrilateral=$13.6 billion

2) North-South and East-West corridor=$20 billion

3) NHDP phase 3,5,6,7=$75 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$108.6 billion / Rs4.4 lac crore
................................................................................................................................................................................................

RAILWAYS SECTOR

1) Dedicated Freight Corridors=$15 billion

2) Delhi metro=$19 billion

3) Jammu-Udhampur-Srinagar-Baramulla=$5 billion

4) Hyderabad metro=$5 billion

5) Mumbai metro=$12.5 billion

6) Mumbai monorail=$5 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$61.5 billion / Rs 2.5 lac crore

AVIATION SECTOR

1) Modernisation of IGIA=$3 billion+

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$3 billion / Rs 12,000 cr

TOTAL CAPACITY= 137.5 MMTPA

b) PCPIR

1) PCPIR gujarat=$60 billion

2) PCPIR orissa=$65 billion

3) PCPIR andhra pradesh=$75 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$200 billion

c) DEVELOPMENT OF OIL AND GAS FIELDS

1) Development of kg d6 basin=$9 billion

2) Bombay High development=$9.5 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$18.5 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT(a+b+c)=$277 billion / Rs 11.1 lac crore

SPECIAL ECONOMIC ZONES(SEZ)

1) RIL SEZ jhajjar=$7.5 billion

2) Dahej SEZ=$8.25 billion

3) Mangalore Multi Product SEZ=$9 billion

4) GMR Kakinada SEZ=$8 billion

5) Mundra Port & SEZ=$7.5 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$40.25 billion / Rs 1.6 lakh cr

GOVERNMENT SCHEMES

1) Setting Up broadband network=$15 billion

3) Pradhan Mantri sadak yojna=$33 billion

4) Rajiv gandhi grameen vidyutikaran yojna=$11 billion

6) Kalpasar project=$13 billion

8) JNNURM=$15 billion

9) Technology Upgradation Fund Scheme=$21billion

SPECIAL PROJECTS

1) DMIC=$100 billion

2) Gujarat International Finance tec city=$20 billion

3) ITIR bangalore=$50 billion

4) Lavasa Hill city=$31 billion

5) Jalayagnam(Andhra Pradesh)=$38 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$239 billion / Rs 9.6 lac crore

GRAND TOTAL INVESTMENT=$1.302 trillion / Rs 53.2 lac crore

And plans for $1 trillion investment for the five year plan ( 2012-2017 ) was announced years back

Some Indian member was questioning how Pakistan receives no investment, therefore I provided a small explanation how this idea is false.

Pakistan receives very little investment.And I was talking about energy sector in India,because you were repeatedly trying to downplay Indian investment in infrastructure.

I can understand that one needs to feel good about their country in some manner. Why don't you highlight the basic issues?

The fact remains that due to rising wage pressures, labor-intensive light manufacturing has begun migrating out of China to elsewhere in Asia, principally Bangladesh,Vietnam and Indonesia. One result has been a great boost for the apparel and footwear industries in Bangladesh. The below report also finds that India, despite its vast reservoir of low-skilled workers, has been left out of this shift.

Why Can’t India Be More Like Bangladesh?

Effectiveness of Bangladeshi RMG workers is better than that of INDIA

We may give ourselves all sorts of credit as (Ninja Turtle) but reality is different.

dump-1.jpg

Oh my god, we should shun all of our Engineering, forging, steel, heavy electricals, space, aerospace, automotive, power generation, software & hardware, nuclear, heavy construction machinery industry & start stitching underwear. @gslv mk3 @Bombaywalla

You want me to flood this thread by posting pictures of infrastructure development in Indian cities ? I guess there are dedicated threads for that -India Developing, but still a long way to go | Page 651

Don't be such a hypocrite.No Indian member started discussion on urban development here - your compatriot did.

yes,it is better.Now go kill yourself.

The Chinese Communist party government doesn't have a good track record wrt human rights .Why don't I see you hating them ?

Even then India has far less poverty than Bong-desh..:omghaha:

Jealous much ?:lol: Such missions cost less than 0.01% of our annual expenditure

Antrix Corporation Limited, the marketing arm of ISRO earns a revenue of $300 million,almost 10 times as much as the largest shipbuilding company in Bangladesh..:lol:

:lol: What ? Care to explain troll ?

Ah,here it goes-you want to portray your country as the pioneers of human development in South Asia ? Ever heard of Sri Lanka ? Referring to 2005 data about malnutrition in India,makes your whole argument weak.

Prevalence of undernourishment (% of population) | Data | Table

India - 15% Bangladesh -17%

Global hunger index:

(Lower is better)

India - 17.8

Bangladesh - 19.1

While proportion of undernourished in India went from 21.5% to 17% between 2005 and 2014, Bangladesh went up from 15.3% to 16.3%.

Also India used to be 43.5% underweight children in 2005 compared to 37.3% in Bangladesh.

Now in 2014 India's figure is 30.7% (decrease of almost 13%) and Bangladesh is 36.8% (decrease of 0.5%).

So no it does not seem Bangladesh is succeeding in any manner,what so ever...:lol:

Really ? I don't think so

View attachment 261798 View attachment 261799

And I know how much you spend..

Shut up idiot

Ask the same question to yourself.

Maybe you forgot about Pakistan...

India was at 63rd position in the global hunger index (GHI) last year. The 55th position in 2014 is better than Pakistan (ranked 57) and Bangladesh (57), but trails behind Nepal (44) and Sri Lanka (39).

There is simply no comparison with Pakistani cities-which lack even basic public transport infrastructure

Maybe you should visit your filthy Dhaka airport

dhakaairport69.jpg

You handle better ?

You should be more worried about secular bloggers getting hacked to death & about IS operating in your country.

No comparison,though.

You're one good cheerleader :omghaha:

Public Transport is matter of time we will gets hands over it already we have made dedicated Metro buses in 3 major cities here and lahore metro train work has also started we have state of the art motorways since 1998 which you guys are still dreaming .. with in next 5 years almost all of our major cities will be linked with Motorways which are controlled access unlike your donkey cart highways :lol: do your cities have rescue services like we have here ?? we have one of the best quick response resuce service in south asia for out citizens .. our cities are being cleaned by international level companies join venture with local companies over solid waste management and cleaning our cities ... :big_boss:

12003163_425312284343173_386075025389863153_n.jpg

and this is our islamabad police ... lahore police is also being modernized with modern vehicles and entirely new force being made to counter crime and terrorism .. Dolphin force :3 ohh sorry i heard in indian capital girls gets rapped on Public transport live and exclusive :oops:

Public Transport is matter of time we will gets hands over it already we have made dedicated Metro buses in 3 major cities here and lahore metro train work has also started

You have dedicated metro buses ? That's just merely a BRT system :omghaha:

We have got 8 metro rail systems in operation & 7 under construction

By the time you complete first 20 km line of Lahore metro..

In London, the metro rail network made its advent nearly 140 years before it was introduced in India, but after merely 12 years of operation the Delhi Metro is set to surpass the showcase London Underground, popularly called the ‘Tube’.

With the DMRC ready to commence the work on phase IV project in a few months from now, the total length of Delhi Metro network would go up to 434km exceeding the 402km London Underground by 32km at the end of 2021.

e have state of the art motorways since 1998 which you guys are still dreaming ..

What non sense ? Expressways in India - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

. with in next 5 years almost all of our major cities will be linked with Motorways which are controlled access unlike your donkey cart highways

Really ? Oh wait a minute we have got 24,000 kms of 4/6 lane highways..:omghaha:

Agra,a small Indian city

Honda_CBR250R_Indian_Police.jpg

Though I like Royal Enfield

Gabriel-Zuzarte-1.jpg

we have one of the best quick response resuce service in south asia for out citizens

INDIAN Emergency Services (POLICE, AMBULANCE,FIRE)

You have dedicated metro buses ? That's just merely a BRT system :omghaha:

We have got 8 metro rail systems in operation & 7 under construction

What non sense ? Expressways in India - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Really ? Oh wait a minute we have got 24,000 kms of 4/6 lane highways..:omghaha:

Agra,a small Indian city

Honda_CBR250R_Indian_Police.jpg

Though I like Royal Enfield

Gabriel-Zuzarte-1.jpg

INDIAN Emergency Services (POLICE, AMBULANCE,FIRE)

you are now making highways and expressways of international standard which we having from past decades lol feel pitty for you my indian friend :D our rescue 1122 is a role model for many developing countries including india ;)

Rescue 1122 was launched as a professional pre-hospital emergency service, and it has managed to achieve an average response time of 7 minutes, comparable to that of developed nations.

Rescue 1122 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

having little expressways and thumping your chest over them do you have any idea of what motorways are ?? we have expressways , highways and motorways ... and soon you will see Network of Motorways connecting all major urban areas of pakistan ... do u know we have motorways for our little and smalls towns too like sheikhpura :P

and our Motorways are all covered with high speed 3g 4g broadband services :oops:

punjab_rapid_dolphin_featured-620x465.jpg

punjab_rapid_dolphin_1-620x827.jpg

and this is our Quick response force of Lahore Police :oops:

you are now making highways and expressways of international standard which we having from past decades lol feel pitty for you my indian friend

What ? We have decades of experience and our companies are building infrastructure abroad

LNTECC

And at home

bandra-worli-sealink.jpg

Also we have a railway network which is virtually non existing in your case

having little expressways and thumping your chest over them do you have any idea of what motorways are ?? we have expressways , highways and motorways ... and soon you will see Network of Motorways connecting all major urban areas of pakistan ... do u know we have motorways for our little and smalls towns too like sheikhpura

Kid,the term 'expressway' is used for access controlled highways.Learn it first

Sheikhupura is the 16th largest city in Pakistan,aint it ?

What ? We have decades of experience and our companies are building infrastructure abroad

LNTECC

And at home

bandra-worli-sealink.jpg

Also we have a railway network which is virtually non existing in your case

Kid,the term 'expressway' is used for access controlled highways.Learn it first

Sheikhupura is the 16th largest city in Pakistan,aint it ?

i liked it you searched about sheikhpura :P you should be ashamed of having such massive economy u couldnt give a international standard road to your own 16th largest city LOL .. i was waiting for this bridge picture :partay: ..

and about rail part we have more vehicles here in pakistan per person as compared to india here trends are way different than your mahaan bharat .. why dont u use your common sense we had motorways way back in 1990s dude

PC310533+(2d).jpg

this is called Motorway 2 in pakistan :D

206765,xcitefun-m1-motorway-1.jpg

Here is Motorway 1 :pop: it was built when your mumbai pune expressway was not even planned :rolleyes:

Delhi Airport

22527379898365428083217.jpg

Delhi Metro ( 208 km )

delhi-metro.jpg

Delhi BRTS

2657075001_bb511ae58d.jpg

i liked it you searched about sheikhpura :P you should be ashamed of having such massive economy u couldnt give a international standard road to your own 16th largest city LOL

What non sense are you talking kid ? Sheikhpura is in Pakistan

and about rail part we have more vehicles here in pakistan per person as compared to india here trends are way different than your mahaan bharat ..

I would like a link.And railway is the most efficent wy of transporting freight - learn that first !!

Here is Motorway 1 :pop: it was built when your mumbai pune expressway was not even planned :rolleyes:

The Bombay Poona expressway opened in the year 2000 if I'm not wrong, and you're right about the fact that we happened to get our first expressway (called 'motorway' in Pakistan) a few years after you did. Have a cookie. :)