'We are not going to amend' blasphemy laws, Pakistani PM says

as if we care what the very tiny lil liberal section of our society say or believe in their assumed imaginary world.....:coffee:

hellooo, this law is going to stay and the dreams of repealing it should come to an end now ....:wave:

There is an equally small illiterate section of society that wants to keep the Blasphemy Law in its current form.

The law itself doesn't need to be modified, but its application does. Most people in Pakistan would agree with that when presented with the facts.

BACHA dar gya darhi waloon or Kalashnikov se ehhehheheeh

baahir baith k sb aisey hi lagta hai.. yahan aa k pata chalta hai k kon kitna datrta hai.... daarhi waaley tou sharaab , jua , zana aur bi bohat kuch k khilaaf bohat boltey hain yeh tab tou nahi darta...... ab dara hai tou iss ki waja sirf daarhi waaley nai hain bhai log

People on both extremes need to tone down; compromise is always the order of the day.

As has been pointed out umpteen times, many countries, including Western countries, have similar laws. They are just called different things like "hate speech law", or "religious vilification law" or "Holocaust denial law".

The blasphemy law will not be repealed, nor should it be, if the vast majority of the citizenry wants it. What is needed is to amend it so that
- only the most serious cases with air-tight evidence are brought forward
- death penalty clause is removed
- similar protection is afforded to other religions

Some countries think that drawing cartoons of Mohammad (pbuh) or pissing on Jesus (pbuh) statues is free speech. They are entitled to their opinions; we need not share such extreme definitions of free speech.

We should aim to build a more civil society with respect for all people's faith, including minorities. The Mapplethorpes and the Jyllands-Postens of this world are not welcome here.

People on both extremes need to tone down; compromise is always the order of the day.

As has been pointed out umpteen times, many countries, including Western countries, have similar laws. They are just called different things like "hate speech law", or "religious vilification law" or "Holocaust denial law".

The blasphemy law will not be repealed, nor should it be, if the vast majority of the citizenry wants it. What is needed is to amend it so that
- only the most serious cases with air-tight evidence are brought forward
- death penalty clause is removed
- similar protection is afforded to other religions

Some countries think that drawing cartoons of Mohammad (pbuh) or pissing on Jesus (pbuh) statues is free speech. They are entitled to their opinions; we need not share such extreme definitions of free speech.

We should aim to build a more civil society with respect for all people's faith, including minorities. The Mapplethorpes and the Jyllands-Postens of this world are not welcome here.

You raise one point about protection for other religions. I don't know what the blasphemy law is at the moment, but if other religions don't fall under the blasphemy law it should certainly also be amended because it is unconstitutional.

Article 25 of Pakistan's Constitution..

Equality of citizens.
(1) All citizens are equal before law and are entitled to equal protection of law.
(2) There shall be no discrimination on the basis of sex [15B][*].
(3) Nothing in this Article shall prevent the State from making any special provision for the protection of women and children.

You raise good points though, and I agree that freedom of speech is not absolute. In the case of Jyllands-Posten-type knuckleheads, they shouldn't be allowed to incite groups in my opinion.

There is an equally small illiterate section of society that wants to keep the Blasphemy Law in its current form.

The law itself doesn't need to be modified, but its application does. Most people in Pakistan would agree with that when presented with the facts.

actually i saw the assumed "small illiterate" in 1000's in recent processions, lets be realistic.

nobody stops the gop to apply the law correctly and make necessary changes in it's application with consultation of Scholars.

actually i saw the assumed "small illiterate" in 1000's in recent processions, lets be realistic.

nobody stops the gop to apply the law correctly and make necessary changes in it's application with consultation of Scholars.

A procession of thousands is irrelevant in a country of 160 million.

The scholars can be consulted, but if the scholars insist on a discriminatory law, then the scholars can get lost. If the scholars insist that the a couple of witnesses are sufficient evidence to prove a blasphemy case, they too can take a ride. It is quite blatantly an abused law that people try to take advantage of, and therefore a crackdown is required. Irrefutable evidence is needed. It is better to let some criminals get away instead of convicting an innocent person.

There is a good chance of qadri getting hanged and hes nobodys celebrity please dont confuse the law of the land with a single person.

another liberal pakistani !! why dont u ppl just see what was his mind after killing that person whome no body like .Qadri did wat he thought was right .is not he just like the one for whome jinnah had fought the case . 500 Islamic Clerics and Religious Scholars in Pakistan Issue Statement Justifying the Assassination of Governor Salman Taseer: 'Prophet [Muhammad] had Ordered the Killing of An Apostate for Committing Blasphemy Right Inside Masjid Al-Haram [Mecca Mosque]'

A procession of thousands is irrelevant in a country of 160 million.

The scholars can be consulted, but if the scholars insist on a discriminatory law, then the scholars can get lost. If the scholars insist that the a couple of witnesses are sufficient evidence to prove a blasphemy case, they too can take a ride. It is quite blatantly an abused law that people try to take advantage of, and therefore a crackdown is required. Irrefutable evidence is needed. It is better to let some criminals get away instead of convicting an innocent person.

and who's gonna decide wat is discrimination ??? you?? or the "POPE" ??

if the law gets amended according to wishes of west then the majority will feel discriminated ..... Scholars are needed at every step and they should be consulted if the law needs to be amended... there is no other way

and who's gonna decide wat is discrimination ??? you?? or the "POPE" ??

Discrimination is not a matter of opinion.

There is a very clear definition of discrimination.

If you grant one religion a law, but do not grant another religion the same law, then you are discriminating.

If they do not wish that law, then they can reject it.

if the law gets amended according to wishes of west then the majority will feel discriminated ..... Scholars are needed at every step and they should be consulted if the law needs to be amended... there is no other way

It is funny that you don't complain about the blasphemy law being implemented at the behest of Saudi Arabia, the US and Gen Zia, who did not ask the Parliament about the Hudood Laws.

The Scholars in my opinion should have no say. But if people want them to have a say, that too is fine. So long as they have a boundary that they are not allowed to discrminate.

“The punishment of those who wage war against Allah and His Messenger, and strive with might for mischief through the land is: execution, or crucifixion, or the cutting off of hands and feet from opposite sides, or exile from the land: that is their disgrace in this world, and a heavy punishment is theirs in the Hereafter;” [Surah Al-Maidah 5:33]. In Islam, a person who has committed blasphemy can either be killed or crucified, or his opposite hands and feet can be cut off, or he can be exiled from that land. On the other hand, in other religions there is no other option except capital punishment. Islam at least has four options of punishment for an act of blasphemy.(Ruling for Blasphemy in Islam)
thats what QURAN says

please do not misquote this is punishment for "Fasaad fil arz" and not punishment for blaspehmey although blasphemy is included in "Fasaad fil arz" but this ayat is not specifically for blasphemy

“The punishment of those who wage war against Allah and His Messenger, and strive with might for mischief through the land is: execution, or crucifixion, or the cutting off of hands and feet from opposite sides, or exile from the land: that is their disgrace in this world, and a heavy punishment is theirs in the Hereafter;” [Surah Al-Maidah 5:33]. In Islam, a person who has committed blasphemy can either be killed or crucified, or his opposite hands and feet can be cut off, or he can be exiled from that land. On the other hand, in other religions there is no other option except capital punishment. Islam at least has four options of punishment for an act of blasphemy.(Ruling for Blasphemy in Islam)
thats what QURAN says

Bigbuddy, you will get banned very soon if you continue to post your tripe.

That verse has nothing to do with blasphemy. Now why don't you go back to Hindutva base camp.

Discrimination is not a matter of opinion.

There is a very clear definition of discrimination.

If you grant one religion a law, but do not grant another religion the same law, then you are discriminating.

If they do not wish that law, then they can reject it.

Isn't it look child like.... I want that fruit because you gave it to my brother as well no matter wat the fruit was.... :P

Nyway on a serious note you cannot grant every law to every religion... like you cannot grant communists to pursue their type of government in democracy in the same sense you cannot alllow christians to have their religious laws in a muslim majority area.. because it will be discriminatory for muslims(The majority)...

Another option is what seculars give do not have any religious law and that is practically impossible coz if any such thing happens then you will not see any case filed for blasphemy instead you'll see dead bodies.......... so to prevail peace let this law prevail... we have already so many problems do not initiate another one...

It is funny that you don't complain about the blasphemy law being implemented at the behest of Saudi Arabia, the US and Gen Zia, who did not ask the Parliament about the Hudood Laws.

The Scholars in my opinion should have no say. But if people want them to have a say, that too is fine. So long as they have a boundary that they are not allowed to discrminate.

I didn't say to have Christian Law and Muslim Law. I find that idea silly.

Have Muslim Law and not Christian Law. That would be alright. But in the Muslim Law for Blasphemy, everyone should be protected. It's not very Muslim of you if you don't offer the same protection to everyone, is it? It certainly is unconstitutional. Do you think it is a good thing that Pakistan's Constitution says one thing, and the Blasphemy Law says another thing?

I didn't say to have Christian Law and Muslim Law. I find that idea silly.

Have Muslim Law and not Christian Law. That would be alright. But in the Muslim Law for Blasphemy, everyone should be protected. It's not very Muslim of you if you don't offer the same protection to everyone, is it? It certainly is unconstitutional. Do you think it is a good thing that Pakistan's Constitution says one thing, and the Blasphemy Law says another thing?

So wat are your suggestions to ammend the blasphemy law coz as far as I know their is written in that law that any one who uses abusive language for the prophet Muhammad (S.A.W) should be put to death and their are punishments if any one insults any other religion's holy personalities... what else you want ??