VN-1 Wheeled APCs are we Getting Them in Big Numbers!!

I am unable to fathom, why we dont create
  • a universal platform with 4, 6 and 8 wheeled variants with a modular approach for use in different roles
  • licenced production of heavy duty diesel engines from Cummins, Deutz, MTU, Perkins or Wärtsilä
Forces should invest in localizing diesel engines. It should be of high priority. Studies should be carried out to commonize the diesel engines for military uses and commercial trucking.
Brilliant idea, it will take some time. At the moment the enemy is knocking at our door. An off the shelf with TT and good finance will be the best solution.

These vehicles are good for counter insurgency or low intensity conflict roles. We need these kind of vehicles for Baluchistan and Tribal Areas where our jawans are riding in open topped or lightly armed vehicles.

I have tried to list down some of the major 8 x 8 wheeled AFV/APC comparison.
IMHO the VN-1 is lightly armoured as compared to others
upload_2020-5-9_22-28-29.png

IMHO the VN-1 is lightly armoured as compared to others
It is also the lightest among its competitors . Additional protection can always be added ,seen our APCs with sand bags as well. VN-1 is more versatile,more adaptive,more amphibious and more financially viable.

Pak should start with something very simple and basic and mass produce it. Something like the famouse Jeep MB. Build 100,000 of them, sell them to civilians domestically and export them abroad. That is the way to go I think.

A couple of thousand MRAPs or 4x4 or 8x8 will never be enough for a ROI perspective.

It is also the lightest among its competitors . Additional protection can always be added ,seen our APCs with sand bags as well. VN-1 is more versatile,more adaptive,more amphibious and more financially viable.

In mountains one is sitting duck. A well aimed RPG round will take out or severely damage or set fire to vehicles when the stored ammo starts cooking off. If you see actual footage of ambushes right from the Soviet times and until recently, the soldiers leave the vehicle as quickly as they can once ambushed, knowing fully well that they will be hit by a rocket round soon. What we need is for the vehicle to withstand RPG rounds to build confidence among the troopers and fight back and call in Arial counter strike.

If we add on armor fine with me. But what we need is an enclosed auto canon with armor to withstand more than 7.62 mm rounds. However, anything is better than Hilux!!

Bhai koi bhi induct kar loon
par ALLAH k naam hai
Toyota ko bakash do
Magar jaldi

Bhai koi bhi induct kar loon
par ALLAH k naam hai
Toyota ko bakash do
Magar jaldi
Why? There is nothing more exciting than firing a machine gun fixed at the back on Toyota in a battlefield....just imagine that.:D

I would love to have VN-1 with 105mm guns in numbers to supplement our Armoured formations.
vTzotpOgQn-Mzmw3eGPNyEmfMw4EXRYGlC3EaUUGnLkXvQkhsw8KwQhcAo1bCry4Fzhzf7DyTYxArxbqAt1O1I-B3Oa-YbI

LxF7-hikxxna4918695.jpg

It looks to be inspired from US Striker APC family which India was interested in.

105mm gun on IFV is useless in the Pakistani context.

Either get MBTs with 125mm gun or IFVs with 30mm auto-cannon + ATGMs (as on Viper).

There is a move in the West towards 40mm auto-cannons, but such calibre greatly reduces the number of rounds that can be carried.

105mm gun can still be very effective in infantry support role, one must understand that they will be in supporting role with MBTs making things easier for MBTs by taking out soft targets and non heavy armor targets like ATGM teams / vehicles.

Just check Striker family, how different type of weapons are mounted on them and how effective package they form in NCW environment.

They form Integrated Battle Groups.

If this gives protection against IEDs I am all for it. If not than we need to find an option which can save lives of our jawans and give them a fighting chance till other assets call be called in for reinforcement.

The issue with local production is no kick backs!!! So no real local production will happen unless this goes away. Yasoob Series of trucks went the same way.