Visa not garnted to director for Mukhtaran Mai documentary

She started off with a great purpose but now its becoming just a good way to make lots of Money which is Ufair to our society as a whole.

My last post on this topic.

But my Question stands still why the hell they are so intrested in a rape that happened in Pakistan and why they are not Making any Films on the Rapes happening in their own countries on Daily Basis , do they find ours more spicey and would be a best seller ?

Why dont these Stories are not getting Filmed & what is so Special about Mukhtaran Mai ?
A. This happened in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and we (Muslims and Pakistanis) claim to be morally superior to the non-Muslims yet Mukhtaran Mai had to suffer.

B. There are literally hundreds of organizations working in the USA who take care of such victims, help them with counseling and bring them back to live a normal life, whereas in Pakistan, such setups are few and opportunities for such victims are even fewer.

C. Most of such cases catch local and national media attention and if you live in the USA, you'll learn that such cases do not go unnoticed as they do most of the time in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

D. It is not that one hundred percent of such cases are solved, but those who do, the victims do get justice, and the convict, no matter how powerful he is, finds himself behind the bars for fairly long periods of time unlike what happens (or not) in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan where it is the victim who is penalized both by the law and by the society.

She started off with a great purpose but now its becoming just a good way to make lots of Money which is Ufair to our society as a whole.

My last post on this topic.

Well, I doubt that any human being will like to profit from the rape he/she suffered from.

wat about the rapes done by US soldiers in iraq and afghanistan? wat about a movie on US force rolling tanks over civilians. y not shoot their humanitarian abuses first and then come to pakistan. there is absolutely no doubt this movie must have being funded by many anti pak groups who live to malign pakistan.

had there been a serious humanitarian intention, i might have supported it.

What an argument ! Rapes happen every where therefore a rape in Pakistan should not be highlighted.

Even if she is earning money, at least she is not hurting the national exchequer like the bloody politicians and bereaucracy.

A crime must be reported even if it EMBARRESSES THE NATION.

This is not an argument or issue of patriotism but shameless MALE CHAUVINISM.

If we cannot do this, then we have no right to CLAIM MORAL SUPERIORITY over other civilizations.

Please stop this "MITTI PAO" strategy and have a heart large enough to accept the truth even if it is BITTER.

We can tolerate the GANJAS and ZARDARIS but cannot tolerate Mukhtaran Mai. HYPOCRICY AT ITS BEST.

All i can say it is a good way to earn some quick bucks.

I mean there are millions of rape cases around the world.Why Concentrate only on Pakistan?

Nice decision. All this mukhtaran mai was doing is to cash her rape. She was very poor in the past but because of this rape she is a very wealthy person.

:whistle:

Phir kehtay hein keh Pakistan mein Aurat ki izzat kee jati hai.

Achee azzizat ke hai.

Pehlay kai log aik aurat ko rape kartay hein aur shor machany par ghaddar kehtay hein.

Koi sharam aur gherat nahi hai hum logon mein.

Kia hamaray gharon mein khwateen naheen hein. agar GOD FORBID un kay saath aisa ho to kia chup kar kay ghar bheth jaaen.

Before commenting think for one moment that all of us have MOTHERS, SISTERS, WIVES and DAUGHTERS.

there has to be a difference bw highlighting any issue to create awareness and taking it to a stage where countries image comes at stake.
as far this issue is concerned, it has been highlighted at all levels and with enough vigour.

All i can say it is a good way to earn some quick bucks.

I mean there are millions of rape cases around the world.Why Concentrate only on Pakistan?

I know I'm going off topic, but dude, I'd love to hear your views on the whole Shoaib-Sania saga.

there has to be a difference bw highlighting any issue to create awareness and taking it to a stage where countries image comes at stake.
as far this issue is concerned, it has been highlighted at all levels and with enough vigour.

Sir, even if I accept your argument.

How can you stop someone from FURTHER HIGHLIGHTING A CRIME TO WHATEVER LEVEL according to the LAW of the land.

If some wrong has been commited against me, then I have every right to cry over it even if it includes making a documentary.

How can you or anyone else can stop me ? Unless I am taking the LAW INTO MY OWN HANDS.

COUNTRY'S IMAGE is not maintained by hiding crimes but taking STERN ACTION AGAINST IT instead of using the lame arguments of PATRIOTISM and CULTURAL VALUES.

What has protest over rape has to with PATRIOTISM.

You know that with our pathetic attitude over such matters, we bring more shame to the country.

Sorry, cannot defend the undefendable for the sake of SATISFYING our pathetic egos.

Sir, with all due respect, that is exactly what image management is all about.

If you want to protect your country's image, you have to highlight the help that this lady got in your country. Banning a potential movie director (who is a part of the western media) from covering this story will just reinforce the negative stereotypes. I don't know, maybe efforts could have been made to help the director to sort out the flaws in her story.

Like it or not, the world is going to judge you. It is up to you what image of your country you want to project.

Sir, with all due respect, that is exactly what image management is all about.

If you want to protect your country's image, you have to highlight the help that this lady got in your country. Banning a potential movie director (who is a part of the western media) from covering this story will just reinforce the negative stereotypes. I don't know, maybe efforts could have been made to help the director to sort out the flaws in her story.

Like it or not, the world is going to judge you. It is up to you what image of your country you want to project.

Exactly true. A good advice from across the border.