US withholds flood aid unless Pakistan raises taxes

But the question is....Can we really sustain without aid under the current circumstances?

I bet its not our life-line (as per some analysts) but it will surely tear our clothes a part (especially the poorly peoples will be heavily affected) if we stop receiving aid from the world
It has to happen. The poor people might finally wise up.

Aid will not help poor people, only make the rich, richer. It's better that their reality comes forward now.

In fact perhaps without aid, they might really have to tax the rich and make sure the money comes in. Provided America stop to give aid

Clinton: Withhold Flood Aid Unless Pakistan Raises Taxes -- News from Antiwar.com

Clinton: Withhold Flood Aid Unless Pakistan Raises Taxes
Humanitarian Aid Conditional on Taxing the Rich
by Jason Ditz, October 14, 2010
Email This | Print This | Share This | Antiwar Forum

Following up on last month’s demands that Pakistan agree to yet another massive tax increase on “wealthy landowners,” Secretary of State Hillary Clinton has stepped the issue up even more, threatening to withdraw all humanitarian aid from the nation unless they comply.

There was no need for it.IMO it's just serving the purpose for the President of Pakistan,He'll now push the parliament and cabinet for more taxes.He just wanted an excuse to do so.And Hiliary Clinton is providing him a bit of assistance.With the flood tax getting extreme resistance from the Allied party MQM.Looks like this is their idea of moving forward.:tdown:And that will include not only the rich but the poor as well.

Sab ka joos niklee ga.:D

It has to happen. The poor people might finally wise up.

Aid will not help poor people, only make the rich, richer. It's better that their reality comes forward now.

In fact perhaps without aid, they might really have to tax the rich and make sure the money comes in. Provided America stop to give aid

Well we have already witnessed the 90s period when the Aid was stopped and economy doomed.

We have to have able leaders who are honest to the country. I don't mind if they are little corrupt but they have to be loyal to their countrymen, they have to also think about public and not only pocketing all the money in their swiss accounts.

If you see the ridiculous amount of corruption we have in all 4 provinces, if we can stop corruption, a lot of money can be generated & diverted to other useful projects.... otherwise without aid we will be back to 90s era when the whole economy will be progressing at only 1-3% per year and the population will continue increasing with high unemployment and less job opportunities

We need to find alternatives if we are talking about refusing these aid packages, we also have to have a higher growth rate at all cost, otherwise the economy might of our neighbour (India) will crush us without even fighting a war. Unfortunately we are living in a hostile region where you have to have a balance otherwise your enemy will carry the whole weight and grab everybody's attention and win the war on the "International" tables only

We can raise taxes but will they not be reimbursed from the aid?
This sounds like an extreme case of hopelessness from the system
Just don't give the aid, period.
And this reeks of jingoistic chest thumping.

The oft repeated oneliner which serves the purpose of chest thumping in online forums from Pakistanis sitting in their cozy abode in a foreign land, disconnected from the reality. Even the US was accepting and welcoming aid after Katrina. Hardly a wise statement to make from economic standpoint where Pakistan finds itself.

I have serious doubt that the notion of "No Thanks!!" to aid has any real hold in the populace. Not a single political party or grass-root movement has voiced the opinion. It serves the singular purpose of massaging false ego on online forums and discussion boards.

There has not been a single popular voice from Pakistan opposing the aid and in-fact some consider it as their right instead of identifying it as a gesture of goodwill, and denouncing it somehow makes them feel prouder.

What Pakistan makes of US and its intention seems to be a deepest of mysteries. While general opinion of forums such as these appear to be overwhelmingly negative - fate for Imran Khan in the general elections tells an entirely different story. Even if we consider it on a case to case basis - I find it hard to believe that some would offer resistance to taxation of elites in the time of natural calamity and national crisis.

Well we have already witnessed the 90s period when the Aid was stopped and economy doomed.

We have to have able leaders who are honest to the country. I don't mind if they are little corrupt but they have to be loyal to their countrymen, they have to also think about public and not only pocketing all the money in their swiss accounts.

If you see the ridiculous amount of corruption we have in all 4 provinces, if we can stop corruption, a lot of money can be generated & diverted to other useful projects.... otherwise without aid we will be back to 90s era when the whole economy will be progressing at only 1-3% per year and the population will continue increasing with high unemployment and less job opportunities

We need to find alternatives if we are talking about refusing these aid packages, we also have to have a higher growth rate at all cost, otherwise the economy might of our neighbour (India) will crush us without even fighting a war. Unfortunately we are living in a hostile region where you have to have a balance otherwise your enemy will carry the whole weight and grab everybody's attention and win the war on the "International" tables only
Economy was not doomed because aid was stopped, there were sanctions in place, leaders were incompetent and lets face it, loan culture was still going on and pocketing all the amounts.

Post-coup and pre-911 Things had already started to improve.

Do you know we were at about $35Bn debt when PPP took over. We're at about 70Bn now by some guesstimates. Already we know that Zardari swindled 100 Mn+ UK Pounds from the money he got from there. In true terms, because of this flood, "Anni pai hui hai".

Don't give the aid, Pakistan will improve.

Economy was not doomed because aid was stopped, there were sanctions in place, leaders were incompetent and lets face it, loan culture was still going on and pocketing all the amounts.

Post-coup and pre-911 Things had already started to improve.

Do you know we were at about $35Bn debt when PPP took over. We're at about 70Bn now by some guesstimates. Already we know that Zardari swindled 100 Mn+ UK Pounds from the money he got from there. In true terms, because of this flood, "Anni pai hui hai".

Don't give the aid, Pakistan will improve.

Yes unfortunately you are right about sanctions and incompetency of leadership, but the matter of the fact is, we cannot mix n match, we always get the whole package from the world.

History is evident that either we get aid with all the sanctions lifted or we get nothing with number of sanctions applied to further oppress this nation. Thats a funny Pakistan!

Just a minor correction, When Musharraf departed we had an economic debt of nearly 42 billion dollars which is now standing at around 54 billion dollars as of today. Of course these are not the accurate figures but the closest official figures available on Internet.

And this reeks of jingoistic chest thumping.
Oh c'mon, same ghissi piti line.

This is not a slogan, this is hard truth. You think Zardari cares about the poor people thats why hes asking for aid?

According to Bob Woodwards book, when Zardari met with the CIA director, he went ahead and told him to continue the drone strikes (while the director had just finished explaining how much care they are taking to avoid civilian deaths) and said "Collateral damage worries you Americans, it does not worry me".

Our own President is damming our civilians to the mercy of a foreign power and they are more worried about our civilians dying in the process.

In what frame of mind do you think, that doing whatever necessary to not help this corrupt scumbag is in anyway related to jingoism? It's not even patriotism, its survival.

Money is his weapon of choice. He is the richest man in Pakistan - Money = Power in any part of the world and here America is continuously handing him more and more.

But the question is....Can we really sustain without aid under the current circumstances?

I bet its not our life-line (as per some analysts) but it will surely tear our clothes a part (especially the poorly peoples will be heavily affected) if we stop receiving aid from the world

YES we can. Just ask someone to provide you the list of perks and privileges of the ministers. Just cut these altogether. Sell those costly vehicles which have been imported in the names of giving security to useless politicians.

Put extra tax on these feudal, industrialists, traders and so on.

If they want their coming generations to continue their feudal politics in Pakistan and rule this country then the onus is on them to save the situation so that they could rule in future too.

Oh c'mon, same ghissi piti line.

This is not a slogan, this is hard truth. You think Zardari cares about the poor people thats why hes asking for aid?

According to Bob Woodwards book, when Zardari met with the CIA director, he went ahead and told him to continue the drone strikes (while the director had just finished explaining how much care they are taking to avoid civilian deaths) and said "Collateral damage worries you Americans, it does not worry me".

Our own President is damming our civilians to the mercy of a foreign power and they are more worried about our civilians dying in the process.

In what frame of mind do you think, that doing whatever necessary to not help this corrupt scumbag is in anyway related to jingoism? It's not even patriotism, its survival.

Money is his weapon of choice. He is the richest man in Pakistan - Money = Power in any part of the world and here America is continuously handing him more and more.

Just an off topic wondering how much stupid CIA can be to listen to Z

YES we can. Just ask someone to provide you the list of perks and privileges of the ministers. Just cut these altogether. Sell those costly vehicles which have been imported in the names of giving security to useless politicians.

If they want their coming generations to continue their feudal politics in Pakistan and rule this country then the onus is on them to save the situation so that they could rule in future too.

Jana for President :pakistan::pakistan::pakistan:
Loved your post!

Qassam se, Zardari se to acha hi kaam karo gi baaqi pata nahi :rofl:

ANd whoes going to do this..:undecided:

Our Beloved President mr.Zardari......Or Nawaz....:no::no:

I agree with clinton.......no aid to pakistan until it sorts its own house out.
Do people really think that this aid gets to the people that need it?

What we need to if we are going to take aid is to get all the people affected by the flood to register there ID cards with a bank-post office and get the money sent direct to there accounts cutting out the middle man......cant be that hard to do.