US SHOULD LOOK AT NUCLEAR DEAL WITH PAKISTAN - SAYS RAND CORPORATION

stop brain farting bro....

US-7.3% of world share (agreed that US is ahead of china here)

List of countries by uranium reserves - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Top 10 countries by uranium reserve - Serious Rankings

China having-2.6% of world share

meanwhile

India-1.1% of world share

i dont see india ahead of china :rofl: :lol: :omghaha: , i know that the wiki says as of 2009, but the REPORT is of 12/03/13 and there too i dont see india in reserves !!!

Tummalapalle in Andhra Pradesh could have one of the largest uranium reserves in the world. Recent studies have indicated that it could have a reserve of 1.5 lakh tonnes of the scarce material.
“Tummalapalle in A.P. could have one of world's largest uranium reserves” - The Hindu

Uranium reserve estimation is a difficult task and wiki data on this is not very precise.

I thought its a recent development thats why i compared the Gas pipeline project-
@Pakistanisage itna old article kun chappa bhai?-

the in capabilities were evident since the start of zardari rule-
Hope under new administration we will fare better-

The point @JonAsad is that as US tries to leave Afghanistan, it needs Pakistan's support in bringing Afghan Taliban to the negotiating table so that they can exit with their dignity intact ie. a face saving formula where they can declare victory and Peace deal to exit with dignity.

Pakistan should leverage this situation to acquire the Civilian Nuclear deal as suggested by Rand Corporation ( US ultra right wing Think Tank).

1. Pakistan needs at least 10 to 20 of 1000 megawatt reactors, to solve its Electricity Production capacity to solve energy crisis, and

2. Free access to World market's to buy Nuclear Fuel for those reactors.

The Civilian Nuclear deal with the US will provide Pakistan with both these scenarios as it will then allow even China to sell Pakistan Gigawatt Reactors alongwith the US ones. The deal will also open up access to Nuclear Fuel markets for Pakistan. Such a deal has to be looked at with that desirable outcome in mind.

This will suit India as well because as a condition it will require Pakistan to rein in the Lashkar e Tayyaba. Well with the Nuclear deal, Pakistan will not need to use Proxy non-state players because of its own strength in the Nuclear Field.

You must live on some distant GALAXY IN THE LA LA LAND.

No SANE person would even think about suggesting that to Pakistan.

Good one.:rofl::omghaha::omghaha::omghaha:
Sur, don’t u think u r overreacting or overestimating yourself….Pakistan came into being just because it had issues with India, Pakistan went Nuclear just because India did it, BUT, if there is no threat from India then what is the point in aping a big brother?

See, one simple example, you get a Ferrari as a gift in one of the sports event you participated (It was exclusively between Pak and the trader of Ferrari), after that you brought it home, there were custom issue but got resolved…now the onus lies with the owner to maintain and safeguard that Ferrari in country like Pak where it is not seen so easily otherwise…now, to keep that one free gift, you are spending or utilizing substantial portion of your limited budget…..now tell me does this make any sense?

lol...dont be dude...it happens..you need to be proud of ur country even it is not worth...! :lol:

Yeah, I also thought it is something new.

What a waste!

Not really as it reflects the Ultra right wing thinking and it is now upto Pakistan to leverage Afghan situation to achieve this deal.

This is where it will help to have a strong Foreign office. The situation is ideal for Pakistan because for the first time we have the most PRO-PAKISTAN US Secretary of State ( John Kerry) and Secretary of Defense ( Chuck Hagel ).

Pakistan can not "give up" its nukes, however we can give them up your arse if you don't behave like a good boy.

did you mean Pak nukes are better choice to replace toilet papers.. :lol:

Why not india gives up its nukes then we will see rest.

We will for sure once we settle the account with China and see world is free of nuke threat...after all its all abt life of more than 1billion people!

ya, I understand for Pakistani it will be difficult to trust the US!

It is not a matter of trust. Pakistan pursued the path of Nuclear weapons after india. India pursued this path because of china. China pursued this path because of US. So unless US starts disarming itself then other countries might follow otherwise these nukes are the only things keeping us at bay.

and you well said that...but now, it has become a status issue which no major country would give up unless they develop an alternate to nuke weapon....

but for Pak, I still feel owning and handling nukes is way big thing looking at its economical and social progress in last one decade.

IMO..Pakistan shud give up its Nukes and in return the US shud compensate it with a Nuke deal...India can also support such deal by declaring it will never use Nuke against Nukeless Pak

We would hand over Indians like you to US so that they can have a comprehensive research on your kind.

and you well said that...but now, it has become a status issue which no major country would give up unless they develop an alternate to nuke weapon....

but for Pak, I still feel owning and handling nukes is way big thing looking at its economical and social progress in last one decade.

In the last one decade there was also a point when our economy grew at a rate of 6.8%. Economy can improve with time with good governments in power and our next elections are at our door step. Our economic miseries are associated with war on terror in Afghanistan which is affecting Pakistan as well due to porous border. Also India is not the only enemy we are keeping at bay with our nukes. So even if india decides to disarm then pakistan might not reply in kind.

Guess, i dialed a wrong ISD code or Islamabad has recently changed its ISD code...I liked your pleasing articulation... :-) ..chalo tum rakh lo ek do for self defence ... ;)

We would hand over Indians like you to US so that they can have a comprehensive research on your kind.
ha haa.....and u r gonna hand over indian to US..lol..what abt wanted Pakistanis? ve they gone missing ??..drones are still on their seek and hunt mission.. :lol:

Gwadar Port and IP-Gase pipeline vs US Nuclear Deal. The Gwadar port has upset many in the UAE and KSA already.

Gwadar Port is a done deal and NON-NEGOTIABLE. We have already given our word to China. China is the last country on God's Green Earth that I would want to alienate. They have stood by us when rest of the World ( even our dearest friends in ME ) abondoned and lectured us ( especially UAE ).

IMO..Pakistan shud give up its Nukes and in return the US shud compensate it with a Nuke deal...India can also support such deal by declaring it will never use Nuke against Nukeless Pak

how about this. India surrenders itself to Pakistan and we will give up our nukes.

ha haa.....and u r gonna hand over indian to US..lol..what abt wanted Pakistanis? ve they gone missing ??..drones are still on their seek and hunt mission.. :lol:

Pakistanis have gone to US to strike a deal for you. American scientists aren't going to waste their time for no reason on you guys. ;)

U.S. should look at nuclear deal for Pakistan if militancy tackled-RAND report
By Myra MacDonaldJune 21, 2010

The United States should consider offering Pakistan a civilian nuclear deal in return for a real and verifiable commitment to eradicate all militant groups operating from its territory, a new report by the RAND Corporation says.

The report, by Seth Jones and Christine Fair, echoes a criticism often levelled at Pakistan that it is only willing to tackle those militant organisations which threaten it directly, while retaining links with groups like the Afghan Taliban and the Lashkar-e-Taiba which can be used to expand its influence in Afghanistan or against India. It argues that Washington needs to find a new mix of incentives and sanctions to convince Pakistan to abandon the use of militant groups as a foreign policy tool.

Its suggestion that Washington – which has already agreed a civilian nuclear deal with India – consider using the offer of a nuclear agreement with Pakistan as an incentive comes as China pursues its own plans to help Islamabad’s civilian nuclear sector.

“A key objective of U.S. policy must be to alter Pakistan’s strategic calculus and end its support to militant groups. Pakistan is unlikely to abandon militancy as a tool of foreign policy without a serious effort to alter its cost-benefit calculus. This requires the United States to clarify what its goals are, develop an international consensus on most (if not all) of these goals, and issue a clear demand to Pakistan regarding these objectives,” it says.

The report says that while Pakistan faces many difficulties in tackling militant groups on its border with Afghanistan or it its heartland Punjab province, ”Pakistan’s challenges are due as much to political will as to deficiencies in capability”.

Pakistan says it cannot tackle all militant groups at once and has complained about U.S. pressure to “do more” when its army is already taking heavy casualties fighting the Tehrik-e-Taliban-e-Pakistan (TTP) or Pakistani Taliban in the tribal areas bordering Afghanistan.

The report, however, is unsparing in its assessment of what it sees as Pakistan’s different attitude to different militant groups.

“At least three types of militant groups receive state support. First are those groups that Pakistan cultivated as state assets and that remain state proxies, such as Lashkar-e-Taiba and Mullah Mohammad Omar’s Taliban. In some cases, such as the 2010 capture of the Taliban’s second in command, Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar, Pakistan has been willing to target selected members,” it says.

“A second group comprises militant groups, such as Jaish-e-Mohammad and Harkat-ul-Jihad-e-Islami, that have a history of state patronage and have long served the state in Afghanistan and India. However, unlike Lashkar-e-Taiba or the Afghan Taliban, these groups developed important fissures that emerged after 2001 in response to Pakistan’s participation in the U.S.-led war on terrorism. Elements of Jaish-e-Mohammad, Harkat-ul-Jihad-e-Islami, and other Deobandi militant groups were involved in attacks against President Musharraf, the army, ISI, and Pakistan’s civilian leadership. Some individuals from these Deobandi militant groups have also allied with the TTP. Even though elements of these groups have targeted the state, Pakistan has not opted to eliminate them. Rather, the strategy appears to be targeting only the individuals who threaten the state and deterring other group members from conducting attacks in Pakistan. These groups generally remain secure, perhaps because the state presumes that they may be useful at some point for pursuing Pakistan’s interests.”

“A third set of militants includes the TTP and elements of TNSM (Tehreek-e-Nafaz-e-Shariat-e-Mohammadi). In some cases, Pakistani government officials have provided support to militants in these organizations and negotiated peace deals … In other cases, such as in 2009 in South Waziristan and Swat, it has targeted them when they pose a threat to the Pakistan state.”

It argues that the United States must work with other countries, including China, to convince Pakistan to abandon support for all militant groups. Among the sanctions Washington could consider if this did not happen would be to include Pakistan on its list of state sponsors of terrorism, or applying economic sanctions and visa bans on specific individuals or organisations, rather than on the country as a whole.

At the same time, it must also come up with imaginative incentives. “Pakistan has come to view U.S. assistance as an entitlement. Therefore, offering more aid (as in the Kerry-Lugar-Berman legislation) is unlikely to persuade Pakistan to stop using militants as a tool of foreign policy.”

Among these incentives could be a criteria-based civilian nuclear deal for Pakistan, roughly modelled on the agreement with India. Under this deal, India agreed to separate its civil and military nuclear facilities and place its civil nuclear facilities under International Atomic Energy Agency safeguards in return for nuclear cooperation with the United States. Neither India nor Pakistan, which announced they had tested nuclear weapons in 1998, have signed the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty.

“The explicit criteria could be tied to access to (disgraced Pakistani nuclear scientist) A. Q. Khan, greater visibility into Pakistan’s program, submission to safeguards, a strategic decision to abandon militancy as a tool of foreign and domestic policy, and empirically verifiable metrics in eliminating militant groups operating in and from Pakistan,” the report says. “Such a civilian nuclear deal could achieve the goals that Kerry-Lugar-Berman could not because it would offer Pakistan benefits that it actually values and that only the United States can meaningfully confer.”

It acknowledges that a nuclear deal would not be an easy sell in either Washington or in Islamabad, much less in Delhi.

But given President Barack Obama’s publicly stated desire to enlist China’s help in stabilising Pakistan, it will be interesting to see whether the two can find some convergence of interest – both on Pakistan’s civilian nuclear programme and on tackling militancy.

U.S. should look at nuclear deal for Pakistan if militancy tackled-RAND report | Pakistan: Now or Never?

Pakistan will not trust US in next 20 years, so RAND write another report like this in 20 years