Traders pull down shutters across Pakistan against WHT

Cleaning your own , entrance and painting and planting trees is responsibility of each individual Trader, look like none of these "Traders" seem to maintain their property which is against the property maintenance laws according to which fines could be imposed on individual "renter" or owner of property if the property does not looks like in maintained order

Fine em'

I think these traders have gotten use to not filling tax returns for so long. They would do anything to not file it.

Yes, I agree some of these guys work on lower margin but we need to expand the tax net. We keep complaining about why the government keeps taking loans one simple reason is people don't pay tax but we still expect the government to deliver some services.

This is bullshit. Ishaq Dar Sb. has acted like a Munshi here. There was no need for this withholding tax and traders are right to raise voice against this. And let me educate some people here this WHT does not affect traders only it affects everyone who does a legitimate banking transaction over and above PKR 50,000 in a day. This was previously limited to cash with drawls through uncrossed cheques or ATMs which was fine, but this is SHIT. This will affect Banking sector too and indirectly the loans that government gets from these local commercial banks.

And let us not forget when we discuss Tax Net, please remember that even students and very low income earning Pakistanis are forced to pay Income Tax through this WHT scheme. That should be refunded to them but it never happens and ALLAH knows what happens with that money.

Dar Sb. ALLAH ka khuaf kary app, Aik aik pai ka hisab daina hay app ko aik din, aur app ko itni taufeeq nahi hui kay app tax laws ko reform kar kay na jaiz taxes ko hatain aur jaiz ko enforce kary.

And if this happens after all traders will pass on this burden mainly to people who don't even require to file income tax or pay taxes because their annual income is below taxable limit. And I don't know if I am paying income tax (forget the indirect taxes) every month or rent to live in this country, because I don't get any benefit against that.

This is bullshit. Ishaq Dar Sb. has acted like a Munshi here. There was no need for this withholding tax and traders are right to raise voice against this. And let me educate some people here this WHT does not affect traders only it affects everyone who does a legitimate banking transaction over and above PKR 50,000 in a day. This was previously limited to cash with drawls through uncrossed cheques or ATMs which was fine, but this is SHIT. This will affect Banking sector too and indirectly the loans that government gets from these local commercial banks..

Instead of crying.....PLEASE do your country a favor, and FILE THE DARN TAXES!!!!! It's needed and it'll take your country forward, and will bring investmentors which will expand your economy. Pakistanis are not used to paying taxes. Time has come to do so. Here's just one example of what happens when a country's system starts to work and the economy starts to improve (meaning taxation's future is bright to further start bigger projects for foreign investment to come in):

Pakistan's Japanese-dominated car market poised for new entrants - Yahoo News

Instead of crying.....PLEASE do your country a favor, and FILE THE DARN TAXES!!!!! It's needed and it'll take your country forward, and will bring investmentors which will expand your economy. Pakistanis are not used to paying taxes. Time has come to do so. Here's just one example of what happens when a country's system starts to work and the economy starts to improve (meaning taxation's future is bright to further start bigger projects for foreign investment to come in):

Pakistan's Japanese-dominated car market poised for new entrants - Yahoo News

You living in US and (without knowing me) and telling me to pay taxes and file my return is funny by the way.

However, answer me what is the current exemption limit provided in ITO 2001 for annual income? If you cannot answer then keep your bla bla to yourself because I regularly pay my taxes and file my annual return and I know the ITO 2001 better than you.

Your love for Nooraz cannot reverse what is written in law and how and what should happen with tax implementation. And I don't like paying taxes every time to fill the treasury looted by some Zardari, Nooni etc. I am fcking tired of bearing this burden again and again.

People in Pakistan should be the last ones to complain about paying taxes. Our Tax collection rate ranks among the lowest around the world. I hope the government gives a danda to these traders.

Below are some facts for you to consider:

Pakistan's tax system
  • Pakistan has one of the lowest tax-to-GDP ratios in the world, similar to countries like Ethiopia and Afghanistan
  • Tax evasion is rampant among traders, businessmen and politicians
  • In a country of 180 million, fewer than 800,000 people paid their taxes last year (2013)
  • Pakistan's tax system is largely dependent on indirect taxes, often referred to as regressive taxes, such as sales tax, excise duty and customs duty
  • Direct taxes comprise primarily income tax

@Akheilos you don't need to bold and underline the entire article.

Tax rates are amongst the highest in the world. There's a reason why people evade taxes.

It's not like they can decide how much tax to pay, it's a one way thing. Once you're in the tax net, there's no going back and you pay very very heavy taxes. So people have two options, either to pay a very very heavy tax (for which in return they get nothing by the way) or use illegal means to evade taxes.

If the government increases tax collection and starts actively targeting tax evaders, the economy will take a big hit. The country might even go into a recession.

First bring 'Quom ki dolat' from Swiss banks then people will fell comfortable in paying taxes. This is called trickle down effect.

You living in US and (without knowing me) and telling me to pay taxes and file my return is funny by the way.

However, answer me what is the current exemption limit provided in ITO 2001 for annual income? If you cannot answer then keep your bla bla to yourself because I regularly pay my taxes and file my annual return and I know the ITO 2001 better than you.

Your love for Nooraz cannot reverse what is written in law and how and what should happen with tax implementation. And I don't like paying taxes every time to fill the treasury looted by some Zardari, Nooni etc. I am fcking tired of bearing this burden again and again.

you have a valid point buddy....

it's if I'm not wrong, 400k/annum, above that is taxable. That turns out to be roughly rs.33,333/month. And you can imagine yourself how many people are earning a salary/income of rs.33,333/month or more. A big chunk of the labor force is simply unemployed, another big chunk is below poverty line, the rest, apart from a few million at the very most is not making more than 400k/annum.

This nonsense that we see these socialists propagating that a country of 200 million and only 1 million paying taxes, that's BS. First of all, rule out all the women population for the most part, so it's just 100 million, then rule out all the elderly, children, unemployed and the below poverty line. Also consider the literacy rate. Some of these groups overlap but still.
Now what are you left with ? Not more than a few million.

Now these few million are burdened with extremely high taxes and there's people out there saying that the tax rates should be increased further. But do they ever consider how giving money to the government to spend/invest is better than spending/investing on your own ? The investment efficiency of the government relative to the private sector is absolutely $hit. A big chunk of the money simply disappears in the kickbacks, the rest of it spent/invested ineffectively.

So what purpose do these taxes serve anyways ?

Who is responsible for the loss of billions as a result of these strikes? Next country wide strike on this issue scheduled at 5th August.

Noonies while a lot about loss of billions because of PTI dharna, what about loss of billions as a result of floods (which govts have failed to plan and stop despite ruling provinces for ages), and strikes as a result of poor policies of govt?

you have a valid point buddy....

it's if I'm not wrong, 400k/annum, above that is taxable. That turns out to be roughly rs.33,333/month. And you can imagine yourself how many people are earning a salary/income of rs.33,333/month or more. A big chunk of the labor force is simply unemployed, another big chunk is below poverty line, the rest, apart from a few million at the very most is not making more than 400k/annum.

This nonsense that we see these socialists propagating that a country of 200 million and only 1 million paying taxes, that's BS. First of all, rule out all the women population for the most part, so it's just 100 million, then rule out all the elderly, children, unemployed and the below poverty line. Also consider the literacy rate. Some of these groups overlap but still.
Now what are you left with ? Not more than a few million.

Now these few million are burdened with extremely high taxes and there's people out there saying that the tax rates should be increased further. But do they ever consider how giving money to the government to spend/invest is better than spending/investing on your own ? The investment efficiency of the government relative to the private sector is absolutely $hit. A big chunk of the money simply disappears in the kickbacks, the rest of it spent/invested ineffectively.

So what purpose do these taxes serve anyways ?

Simple bro anyone who is using internet, cell phone etc in Pakistan will pay tax no matter if his annual income is taxable or not. And that would include students, housewives, labor, pensioners too. And none of them is required to file their return because their income is not taxable and therefore no refund. So instead of making tax laws simple and more understandable and transparent our MUNSHI sb. is hell bent on taxing people who should not be taxed and people who should be taxed more, enjoy the loopholes in Laws.

And in this particular case first thing is this WHT is not only applicable to traders, second thing is threshold limit of PKR 50,000 is bullshit (considering the inflation and purchasing power and worth of money these days), third thing is traders are not simply going to pay it out of their pockets if this WHT is successfully, the burden ultimately shifts to people who should not pay any taxes.

They say death and taxes are the only things that are inevitable. Government needs money to pay for the 6 submarines and other defense purchases.
Govt needs money to balance off or hide their face (as people here put it) for how they got looted from LNG, metro and Solar plant!

This is bullshit. Ishaq Dar Sb. has acted like a Munshi here. There was no need for this withholding tax and traders are right to raise voice against this. And let me educate some people here this WHT does not affect traders only it affects everyone who does a legitimate banking transaction over and above PKR 50,000 in a day. This was previously limited to cash with drawls through uncrossed cheques or ATMs which was fine, but this is SHIT. This will affect Banking sector too and indirectly the loans that government gets from these local commercial banks.

And let us not forget when we discuss Tax Net, please remember that even students and very low income earning Pakistanis are forced to pay Income Tax through this WHT scheme. That should be refunded to them but it never happens and ALLAH knows what happens with that money.

Dar Sb. ALLAH ka khuaf kary app, Aik aik pai ka hisab daina hay app ko aik din, aur app ko itni taufeeq nahi hui kay app tax laws ko reform kar kay na jaiz taxes ko hatain aur jaiz ko enforce kary.

And if this happens after all traders will pass on this burden mainly to people who don't even require to file income tax or pay taxes because their annual income is below taxable limit. And I don't know if I am paying income tax (forget the indirect taxes) every month or rent to live in this country, because I don't get any benefit against that.

Are you a professional in the economic sector?