This image of doctor in Abbasi Shaheed Hospital Karachi almost made me cry.

. . . . . .
36 hours a day. Woah that's timeless.
36 hours shifts. But I don't believe it. It's not humanly possible.

Doing 36 hours non stop calls is a regular thing all over Pakistan and all house officers and PG residents do that,done that myself for 6 years and it breaks your back.
Really??? 36 hours straight?? In our audit life, we have worked long hours, but never more than 24 hours straight.. We used to get 4-6 hours break. After 24 hours, simple Maths looked complex.

Doing 36 hours non stop calls is a regular thing all over Pakistan and all house officers and PG residents do that,done that myself for 6 years and it breaks your back.
And then you left Pakistan?

Really??? 36 hours straight?? In our audit life, we have worked long hours, but never more than 24 hours straight.. We used to get 4-6 hours break. After 24 hours, simple Maths looked complex.

It happens regularly in Pakistan dear,I used to do 24 hours of on call duty in the emergency of Holy Family Hospital as PG resident then next day would stay in ward so used to do 36 hours in one go.

And then you left Pakistan?

Here in Uk I do one week of 12 hour shifts in one go and it's more exhausting than our 36 hours shift back home simply because of the extra documentation we have to fill. I'm planning on going back home just need to get myself signed off for a few competences.

No ones cares about hours worked.

In private practice in the US, I have put in 80+ in a week regualrly.

During residency, hours have only been limited since 2003, but before that residents would put in 36 hours regularly.

I myself have been on for 40 hours straight once as a medical student.

Doctors are underpaid yes.

But asking them to work without proper protection is criminal.

May Allah bless and keep you safe sis and all nurses, doctors and other paramedic staff..

We'll ride this out, insha Allah.

Someone from government, if here, needs to bring this matter to damn authorities...

Pay the doctor their dues, dammit

Its been brought up many times. I heard that doctors protesting the lack of PPE equipment were charged by police. I don't understand what the Government is doing, but its failing at it.

I know a relative doctor who was not paid for 4 months straight.
Study like dogs and donkeys for 7 years and get paid 30k for 3 years, is that a joke ?
Usual gali mohalla doctors make 6-8k a day...

I have heard the stories of CA people and how their eyes go red hulk due to extremely lengthy audits and all aur phir bartan bhi dona :lol::lol::lol:

It's dangerous for staff and patients alike. Imagine the quality of decision making after 24 hours awake. I did that once in my life and struggled to choose what I wanted for breakfast lol