The story of India as told by a humble street snack

i suppose they call it Luchi.
there is a chain of sweet shops by name of Sweet Bengal in Mumbai. During morning hours they do serve Maida Pooris with dry potato preparation. Quite a treat that!

In morning hours, sweet shops in Western UP (Agra, Aligarh Kanpur region), sell a dish called Bedhai (cross between Kachori and Poori) with Potato gravy. It is insanely crispy and gravy is spiced by Devil himself and my God, don't people go crazy to have it
View attachment 313447
looks like a pooree with generous ammounts sooji along with maida and atta .... i beeter have nagori halwa :D

Halwa-Nagori.jpg

looks like a pooree with generous ammounts sooji along with maida and atta .... i beeter have nagori halwa :D

Halwa-Nagori.jpg

So we have Deep fried Pooris, Sooji Halwa in Desi Ghee, Potato and chick peas in Oil and carrot pickle to cut the richness (& accompanying guilt of calories) :smitten:

Whoever said Gluttony is a Sin8-)

So we have Deep fried Pooris, Sooji Halwa in Desi Ghee, Potato and chick peas in Oil and carrot pickle to cut the richness (& accompanying guilt of calories) :smitten:

Whoever said Gluttony is a Sin8-)
its a sin no dought but cant help commiting it every now and then :smitten:

main reason why a pehelwan like me become looking like a aloo himself :D

You should try Poori with " Matthe Ke aloo" Sometimes. dont think they prepare it anywhere else apart from western UP.

Dahi-Aloo-Recipe10.jpg

Dahi-Wale-Aloo-or-Dahi-ke-Alu-Navratri-Vrat-Recipe.jpg
thoase look more like sindhi karee with potatao's in it instead of besan pyaaz ki pakories :D

but looks like something good will ask your bhabhee to make it for tommorw breakfast :tup:

You should try Poori with " Matthe Ke aloo" Sometimes. dont think they prepare it anywhere else apart from western UP.

Dahi-Aloo-Recipe10.jpg

Dahi-Wale-Aloo-or-Dahi-ke-Alu-Navratri-Vrat-Recipe.jpg
waise weatern UP always had great food still the best food like poori kachori, nagori halwa and even samosa i had were in mathura , vrindawan or hapur or meerut than what delhi offers now never been to agra though

Add this as well :D

Poori , Matthe ke aloo or Bharwa Shimla mirch makes a perfect combo

Potato%2520Stuffed%2520Capsicums.jpg

IMG_3975.jpg
lagta hai up to agrqa janna hi parega never went there but ab zaroor aaonga waise agra me beer kitne ki hai :azn:

I am a big foodies, would love to try it. Not a good idea to be discussing food in this state.

:lol: Of course you can touch food, what are you talking about. My mother makes food for my 10 year old brother(he isn't keeping it, did start with one this year). People are allowed to touch food and prepare it, and in process many taste food by mistake too. Eating food by mistake wouldn't break a fast.

After the 7th, then.

. . . . . .
waise weatern UP always had great food still the best food like poori kachori, nagori halwa and even samosa i had were in mathura , vrindawan or hapur or meerut than what delhi offers now never been to agra though

lagta hai up to agrqa janna hi parega never went there but ab zaroor aaonga waise agra me beer kitne ki hai :azn:

Kabbhi kannauj side aaiyega janab. Aaapki khatirdari me koi kami nahi Rahegi :)

It's alright...
Anyone fan of Channa chat, Fruit chat and Dahi Balley? love me a well-made spicy chat.
@anant_s , @Robinhood Pandey ...

Chana Chat and Dahi wada is fine but Me no like PHroot Chaaat :D

Any good recipe?
Don't have a full recipe but important points are:
1. Grind the Lentils coarsely. More the air, fluffier they are.
2. Allow batter to stay for a while and rise a bit
3. don't add to much in the batter (resins and coconut shavings are best).
4. cook on low heat (or they'll be raw at center).
5. Soak them in warm water immediately after frying.
6. Squeeze out water and keep for a while.
7. Ensure yoghurt mix is sweet and tamarind chutney tangy.
8. Add some crunchy element as garnish. Here in India, Paapris (small crispy maida pooris) are often added as accompaniments.