The story of India as told by a humble street snack

How I wish I could introduce you guys to Calcutta street food! Including the Shingara. Very little potato, more gobi and peas. You'll find Bongs queuing up from around 4, penned in by edgy cooks and servers and asked to stay orderly, and waiting patiently for these, or for kachouri, or radhaballabhi, all with dal or potato curry, and then, natch, this is Bengal we are talking about, sweets.
I am a big foodies, would love to try it. Not a good idea to be discussing food in this state.
@WAJsal Brother a question for you (i never had courage to ask this to my Muslim friends)
Iftar preparations are quite elaborate and i believe would take a lot of time to cook. My question is, as per Islam, is it allowed for ladies (or cooks where applicable) to touch food before breaking Roja?
:lol: Of course you can touch food, what are you talking about. My mother makes food for my 10 year old brother(he isn't keeping it, did start with one this year). People are allowed to touch food and prepare it, and in process many taste food by mistake too. Eating food by mistake wouldn't break a fast.

I too am trying my best to visit Hyderabad for quite some time now.
Par kya batao, woh biwi ki agli baar Hyderabadi pearls lane waali demand sun kar himmat tut jaati hai :undecided:

Sir, Pearls bhi budget ke hisab se mil jate old city me :)

:o::o:onion kheer !!!! :cheesy:
They even make Kheer out of garlic in Rajasthan
lehsun-ki-kheer.jpg

http://rajasthanpatrika.patrika.com/story/recipies/lehsun-ki-kheer-recipe-in-hindi-1806752.html

How I wish I could introduce you guys to Calcutta street food! Including the Shingara. Very little potato, more gobi and peas. You'll find Bongs queuing up from around 4, penned in by edgy cooks and servers and asked to stay orderly, and waiting patiently for these, or for kachouri, or radhaballabhi, all with dal or potato curry, and then, natch, this is Bengal we are talking about, sweets.

The best ' Puri / Kachori + veg' I have tasted is in Calcutta.

Off Camac Street next to The Saturday club.

Instead of breakfast at the club I've always sent a waiter to pick up the stuff from the street corner.

Off Camac Street next to The Saturday club.

Instead of breakfast at the club I've always sent a waiter to pick up the stuff from the street corner.
guess what poori aloo or berwi aloo is a pakka old delhi baniya dish which dont have any onion and garlik and served with methi ki chutney

i suppose they call it Luchi.
there is a chain of sweet shops by name of Sweet Bengal in Mumbai. During morning hours they do serve Maida Pooris with dry potato preparation. Quite a treat that!

berwi aloo
In morning hours, sweet shops in Western UP (Agra, Aligarh Kanpur region), sell a dish called Bedhai (cross between Kachori and Poori) with Potato gravy. It is insanely crispy and gravy is spiced by Devil himself and my God, don't people go crazy to have it
bedai-and-jalebi.jpg