Tarin asks China to invest in Pakistan’s SEZs

We could lease Gwadar and maybe even Karachi to China.

It may sound extreme, but at least China would develop the cities like Shanghai.
That's basically the same concept as taking loans to build Gwadar.

It's their engineers and planners who designed those cities, and we must pay back those billions of dollars of loans.

And China has like a 91% share in Gwadar port is what I've read, for however long that term is, so it's majority their profit and gives them incentive to develop it.

We could lease Gwadar and maybe even Karachi to China.

It may sound extreme, but at least China would develop the cities like Shanghai.
Newsflash! China is not interested. China wants dollar returns on its investments / loans in Pakistan

How will bankrupt Pakistan payback Chinese loans / investment? It should be in the interest of China that Pakistan doesn't go bankrupt after CPEC
Do we know what is tied to those loans if they can't be paid back? What if ownership of certain assets is on the line as collateral, and that is a better outcome for them?

So it's in the interest of China that Pakistan goes bankrupt on its CPEC loans / investments? 😉
In that case this govt is doing the right thing by not going ahead with CPEC like the past govt

So it's in the interest of China that Pakistan goes bankrupt on its CPEC loans / investments? 😉
In that case this govt is doing the right thing by not going ahead with CPEC like the past govt
Well, I'm not sure if what I said is true, but I put it forward as a possibility that can't be ruled out.

Also what exactly did the current government refuse to go ahead with? From what I know a lot of projects are currently under construction.

The new Gwadar hospital is going to be complete by the end of this year, and the international airport early next year.

Not to mention IF sovereignty is on the line, the current situation of Balouch insurgency is going to look like child's play if that happens...

And that's a big statement because those people took hostages in a 5 star hotel a few years back...

The Federal Minister for Finance and Revenue Shaukat Tarin on Thursday asked China to invest in Pakistan’s Special Economic Zones (SEZs).
Train said that Prime Minister Imran Khan’s visit to China is important both politically and economically.

“China is establishing its industry in other countries so we will request Beijing to relocate its industry to Pakistan. Our special economic zones are ready and if China invests in these zones then it would be a win-win situation, ” he said.

He also said that the prime minister will ask China to help in Pakistan’s Agriculture Transformation Plan. “Agriculture is very important for us and our economy depends on agriculture growth, ” he added.

The minister also said that the IMF has approved Pakistan’s economic strategy and the approval of the $1 billion sixth tranche by the international fund will bring economic stability in the country.

Prime Minister Imran Khan is currently on a three day visit to China to meet Chinese President Xi Jinping with a list of measures aimed at seeking China’s support in stabilisation of Pakistan’s ailing economy.
Economic agenda is expected to be at top of Khan’s priorities as Khan would sit down with the political elite of China.
Ask away all you want, but no one is going to invest a penny until you establish SEZs in a plug-and-play mode. Nobody is to come to make these SEZs for you, operationalize them, organize them under a single body/authority, link these with critical infrastructure/lines of communication, market them and their specialized potential. All this has to be done by you. Once you do it and your SEZ is ready for plug and play i.e. the investor just has to construct a factory and all the amenities would be at his doorstep, then the investor would come.

Our economic decision-makers want the foreign industrialist to be ready with his investment even before SEZs have been operationalized with world-class amenities/infrastructure and a 1 WINDOW OPERATION. Just a day before Imran Khan left for China there was news of him expressing displeasure over the lack of development on Dhabeji SEZ. Dhabeji is the most strategically located SEZ that's situated right at the Arabian sea itself. It was also one of the SEZs that was supposed to be among the ones that were operationalized first. This is the state of affairs. Governments at federal and provincial levels are all incompetent, indifferent, lazy, and lack any urgency!

Chutya awaam hamare. international relations me dostian nibhana or back stabbing jaisi cheezy ni Hoti apny mafadaad ko deka jata hy. Ab jisky haath me awaam ne katora dia Hy usne beekh he mangni Hy. Awaam tax deti ni, sarkari mall ko maal e muft samaj or urati Hoti. Pir services Ka Rona b roti or pir kehti bheek b na mango. Or waisy b bheek idhr koi ni deta loan dety Hy. Apka derena Yaar jisko aap keh rahy IK ne backstab kia wo b 3-5% interest rate pe apko loan deta Hy, imdaad ni deta.

Sawal : Pakistan Kay muqably me Germany ne itni ziada taraqi kaisy krle halanky 1947 pe dono aik jaisy thy ?

Jawab : Unko awamm mature mile the jang ziada.. hamare awaam tiktok zada Hy inka har time shugl Mela chal Raha hota chutya awaam . Betako me bita Kar inse siyasat discuss krwa lo. Baki zimadar shehri ki konse zadari Pori ki wo inse pocho to mar jay inka intiqaal ho jay... Or aisa intiqaal Kay pir Shaam ko wapas Zinda b na ho

A member before you said IK should not beg China. You saying he should not ask China to relocate factories. Kia kary pir ham sab ijtimaagi khudkashi krle ? Pakistan Ka kaam asking tak Hy inko krne do , China ko laga krna chaahye kr lengy ni to apka wala jawab de dengy IK ko. Aap so jao. Tension na lo
Sahi baat hai. Aap bhi toh ussee chutya awaam ka hissa ho. Loans muft nahi hotay, interest is always charged. But unlike imf, China does not make you dictate your internal policy. Es tarah loans mangay ko metaphorically bheek hi kehtay hai.
The only people with the luxury of not paying taxes are the elite class. Whom this government is facilitating.

He is right, second phase of CPEC is what will revolutionise Pakistan. Once you have Industry and money, you can spend on human capital.

Itr surprises me how some ignorant fools come here and lecture us on revolution and all that shit. Typical keyboard warriors, have no idea how economy works and come here to lecture us.

Ask away all you want, but no one is going to invest a penny until you establish SEZs in a plug-and-play mode. Nobody is to come to make these SEZs for you, operationalize them, organize them under a single body/authority, link these with critical infrastructure/lines of communication, market them and their specialized potential. All this has to be done by you.

Our economic decision-makers want to eat manosalwa. They want the foreign industrialist to be ready with his investment even before SEZs have been operationalized with world-class amenities/infrastructure and a 1 WINDOW OPERATION. Just a day before Imran Khan left for China there was news of him expressing displeasure over the lack of development on Dhabeji SEZ. Dhabeji is the most strategically located SEZ that's situated right at the Arabian sea itself. It was also one of the SEZs to have been operationalized first. This is the state of affairs. Governments at federal and provincial levels are all incompetent, indifferent, lazy, and lack any urgency!

The groundwork is done, facilities are there. The initiative also includes one window operation for all the relevant interaction including utilities.

'One-window operations and availability of utilities make SEZs attractive for investment'.

A meeting of the AIIC SEZ Committee was also held here, which accorded approval to 15 applicants and allotted land of 320 acres.

'According to a press release, the applicants include a Chinese Firm Zhengbang Agriculture Pakistan Private Limited with a plan Rs800 million investment in the agricultural sector, while amongst the other 14 local firms, Zahid Jee Textile Mills, Ocean Ceramics, and Ittehad Metals to initiate business establishments worth Rs11.8 bn, Rs11.2 bn and 7.5 bn, respectively.'

These are just a few articles for reference.

Bro you need to readup on things before passing judgements. The land rates in these economic zones have multiplied.

The Dhabeji SEZ is in Sindh and under Sindh government. Its useless to talk about that.

It's their engineers and planners who designed those cities, and we must pay back those billions of dollars of loans.

And China has like a 91% share in Gwadar port is what I've read, for however long that term is, so it's majority their profit and gives them incentive to develop it.

Investment is not loans.

Neither are these backed by sovereign guarantees like IPP's.

The SEZ are ready with proper infrastructure. What the government is asking for is to relocate their factories to Pakistan.

Sahi baat hai. Aap bhi toh ussee chutya awaam ka hissa ho. Loans muft nahi hotay, interest is always charged. But unlike imf, China does not make you dictate your internal policy. Es tarah loans mangay ko metaphorically bheek hi kehtay hai.
The only people with the luxury of not paying taxes are the elite class. Whom this government is facilitating.

There are no loans involved.

Neither are there sovereign guarantees on ROI.

Investment is not loans.

Neither are these backed by sovereign guarantees like IPP's.

The SEZ are ready with proper infrastructure. What the government is asking for is to relocate their factories to Pakistan.

Not all of Gwadar is investment though, there are some aspects that are built under CPEC loans

And what if we cannot pay back those loans?

Then Gwadar/Karachi becomes like Hambantota port of Sri Lanka. Leased to China for a limited time period.

And what if we cannot pay back those loans?

Then Gwadar/Karachi becomes like Hambantota port of Sri Lanka. Leased to China for a limited time period.
Not sure, depends on what they've agreed upon

Please read the article in the original post bro, it's not about gawadar. It's about setting up industries in already established SEZ's.
I know, but the thread got slightly derailed and shifted lol

Not sure, depends on what they've agreed upon

I know, but the thread got slightly derailed and shifted lol
Apparently the Hambantota Port in Sri Lanka was leased to China for 99 years. But China will make the port city like Shanghai I believe.