Sushma Swaraj’s response to a Pakistani girl worried about returning home is winning the Internet

INDIAPOSITIVE

Sushma Swaraj’s awesome response to a Pakistani girl worried about returning home is winning the Internet
Sushma Swaraj, in her response to the girl, proved that the bitterness between the two countries will never come in the way of humanity.
By: Express Web Desk | Published:October 4, 2016 12:24 pm
sushma-main.jpg
Sushma Swaraj’s response to this Pakistani girl is a must-read
On September 27, a delegation of 20 students from Pakistan arrived in Chandigarh for the 11th Global Youth Peace Festival, bearing hand-written notes and friendship cards from various schools from across the country. But amid tensions that gripped India and Pakistan after the Uri attack and surgical strikes, the girls were worried if they’ll return home safe.

Aliya Harir, leader of the contingent and convenor of Indo-Pak friendship initiative titled Aaghaz-E-Dosti, reached out to External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj to help the girls return to Pakistan. Harir later tweeted that the minister has assured her of help.

Extremely overwhelmed. Spoke to @SushmaSwaraj ji who assured that Pakistani delegation of #GYPF2016 will reach Pakistan back safe.

— Aliya Harir (@AliyaHarir) October 1, 2016

But Sushma Swaraj — who had put up a strict front towards to Pakistan at the United Nations General Assembly making sure they know that Kashmir belongs to India and will remain so — in her response to the girl, proved that the bitterness between the two countries will never come in the way of humanity. “Aliya – I was concerned about your well being kyonki betiyan to sabki sanjhi hoti hain” (I was concerned about your well being because one’s daughter is everyone’s daughter).

Aliya – I was concerned about your well being kyonki betiyan to sabki sanjhi hoti hain. http://t.co/9QyeMQfRwy

— Sushma Swaraj (@SushmaSwaraj) October 3, 2016

Back home, the girls’ parents and relatives were afraid for their well-being but they went ahead with their tour. “There is talk of war and tension, but we wanted to come here. Our families were shocked, scared. Friends even said ‘tell us your last wish’. I told them to turn the TV off and let us go,” Roohani Barkal, one of the girls, told Hindustan Times. Reportedly, parents of some of the girls told them that they won’t return alive.

But the girls have reached home safe and sound, Aliya tweeted this morning.

Aap ki beti kehlane ka sharf hasil hai, aur kya chaheyay. The delegation has reached back home safe&immensely happy. Thanks a million times. http://t.co/JHH8VUj91Q

— Aliya Harir (@AliyaHarir) October 4, 2016

http://indianexpress.com/article/tr...turning-home-is-winning-the-internet-3064696/

Guys stop sensationalising the news as if India is has blood thirsty nation. No ones does that and we are npt in actual state of war

Bitterness or no bitterness Its the responsibility of the respective government in this case India to provide security to all foreign individuals since they are there on legal visa provided by the government of India. Why should there be an exception for Pakistani visitors and if Sushma Swaraj has assured of the same than no need to score brownie points over it. This isnt a favour its duty of the host country.

Sushma Swaraj is known to be very helpful. she has helped indians stuck in foriegn hostile territories, foreigners in India with visa/passport problems etc. Recently she helped a Pakistani Hindu girl get admission in a Delhi College

I hope she becomes our PM in 2024

First kill people in Kashmir and weep crocodile tears afterwards. Make up your mind. Can't have it both ways.

So what happened Aliya Harir? You went to India to further friendship, yet you are terrified to return home? Why?

good just like Abdul Sattar Edhi took care of an indian girl and helped her locate her family in india

First kill people in Kashmir and weep crocodile tears afterwards. Make up your mind. Can't have it both ways.

So what happened Aliya Harir? You went to India to further friendship, yet you are terrified to return home? Why?
Mass media is sensationalist

Its a pity that we are decent people unlike the Pakistanis.

Pakistanis only understand the language of violence, they don't understand anything else.