Suicide bombers could target National Games in Pak: report

Hindutvadi

Authorities in Pakistan's northwest today further heightened security arrangements after receiving an intelligence report that two would-be suicide bombers with explosives-laden vehicles could target athletes participating in the National Games.

The alert from the intelligence agencies said the would-be suicide attackers had entered Peshawar, the capital of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa province, where the games began yesterday, official sources said.

The would-be bombers could target athletes or the Qayyum Sports Complex, where some of the events of the National Games are being held, the intelligence report said.
The alert came a day after a woman suicide bomber blew herself up near a UN aid distribution centre in the restive tribal belt, killing 46 people.

Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani skipped the inauguration ceremony of the games yesterday despite extraordinary security measures put in place for the event.

Police have barricaded many roads and diverted traffic away from the venues of the games.
The games were postponed twice during the past two years due to security concerns linked to militant attacks and operations being conducted by the army in several areas of northwest Pakistan.

In a separate development, Pakistani security forces today destroyed nearly half a tonne of explosives seized from a car at Hangu in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, officials said.

A bomb disposal squad destroyed 420 kg of explosives in an open field in Doaba area of Hangu district, police official Asadullah told PTI.

The explosives were destroyed in four controlled explosions, he said.

Suicide bombers could target National Games in Pak: report

How can a leader of the state skip a national event?? What message does it send? How the Armed forces would be feeling as PM shows no confidence in them?

nothing going to happen

WoT has at least made our security forces little more professional and I am sure they would be protecting and monitoring each n every single player and also the public.

Far away a bomb blast can occur but it is almost impossible to come close and explode inside the stadium

How can a leader of the state skip a national event?? What message does it send? How the Armed forces would be feeling as PM shows no confidence in them?

He is a Prime Minister of Pakistan not "Sheeda Rairhi wala" :lol:

There can be thousands of reasons why he didn't attend the ceremony. Who knows if he had better priorities on that day?

Yaar kuch nahi hoga its all safe and secure their.

Also why post such news now pakistani trolls will cry for ur blood and personally target you while saying that you are posting negative (real) news.

He is a Prime Minister of Pakistan not "Sheeda Rairhi wala" :lol:

There can be thousands of reasons why he didn't attend the ceremony. Who knows if he had better priorities on that day?
What is "Sheeda Rairhi wala" ?
despite extraordinary security measures put in place for the event. is the extension...so the obvious reason would be security.

Yaar kuch nahi hoga its all safe and secure their.

Also why post such news now pakistani trolls will cry for ur blood and personally target you while saying that you are posting negative (real) news.

Personally target me? Huh...what more can internet warriors do?

What is "Sheeda Rairhi wala" ?
despite extraordinary security measures put in place for the event. is the extension...so the obvious reason would be security.

I will say media man twisting word , Orange media is expert in that.

Giving message by twisting the words so much that the actual news says sumthing and the reported news sumthing else.

lolz.............@ Orange media:tdown:

Giving message by twisting the words so much that the actual news says sumthing and the reported news sumthing else.

Lol I was just about to say that! Its the indian media, which means that their reporting is going to be trash since it concerns Pakistan

lol @ Orange media:

Here's your green media,

PESHAWAR: Predictably Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani didn’t come to the city on Saturday to inaugurate the 31st National Games due to security concerns and it was left to Governor Owais Ahmad Ghani to declare the major sports event open.

However, the extraordinary security measures put in place for the prime minister since Friday were still in place on Saturday. The people were made to suffer as roads were barricaded and traffic had to be diverted onto longer and tortuous routes. It wasn’t surprising then to hear stranded commuters criticising and even cursing the rulers.

If security worries kept Gilani away from Peshawar, it now looks unlikely that President Asif Ali Zardari would be the chief guest at the closing ceremony on December 31.

The twice-postponed National Games are finally being held in Peshawar, but the event is suffering from mismanagement and spectators are missing. Finding decent accommodation for the athletes coming from all over the country has been the biggest challenge for the organisers, particularly for provincial sports minister Syed Aqil Shah who was adamant to hold the event at any cost in Peshawar to give the impression that the situation in the militancy-hit Khyber Pakhtunkhwa was returning to normalcy. However, the situation is far from normal. The devastating suicide bombing in Bajaur Agency on Saturday in which 43 people were killed and the death of 11 soldiers in the daring attack by the militants on five security forces posts in Mohmand Agency the previous day showed that the TTP and its affiliates can strike anywhere anytime in the province and the adjacent tribal areas.

The reasons for not holding the 31st National Games in Peshawar are still largely valid. In fact, such big events provide a ready and easy target to the terrorists. Gatherings of this scale are also a soft target. Insisting on holding such events despite the precarious security situation amounted to exposing the athletes, the spectators and the common people to unnecessary risks. Security concerns and the incapacity of Peshawar to stage the big event forced the city to allow Mardan, Abbottabad and Islamabad to host some of the sports competitions.

Schools and teachers were asked to bring students to the Qayyum Stadium for the inaugural ceremony to fill the stands. Real spectators weren’t there in large numbers to witness the colourful spectacle put on display by the organisers due to the unprecedented security measures. People in Peshawar and the province no doubt are fun and sports-starved and many would have welcomed the National Games as a means to put away the worries and send a message that acts of terrorism won’t take away their zest for life. But such an exhibition of bravado could also be termed stupid at a time and in a situation in which every event and activity associated with the government has become a legitimate target for the terrorists.

PM skips opening ceremony over security fears

Don't you guys ever get tired of ranting about Indian media? :blah::blah::blah::blah:

The reason we "rant" over your media is cause it twists words and adds unnecessary drama to an article. I've never seen a Pakistani news stations/articles have headlines like: dus khadam aur Pakistan khatam

Yeah? What about 'The News'? Or is that also a part of Indian Orange media now? :lol:

The reason we "rant" over your media is cause it twists words and adds unnecessary drama to an article. I've never seen a Pakistani news stations/articles have headlines like: dus khadam aur Pakistan khatam

lol ever heard of 'Zaid Hamid' or 'Hamid Gul' etc.? :cheesy:

May b sucide bomber also attack england team during cricket world 2011 in india:pakistan::pakistan::pakistan:

Funny to me is that its now a days a indian member / aka troll :mod: posting Pakistani news eather false or true.. seems like our indian friends are more worried about Pakistan then there own nation mind your own business we shall face handle all threats as we have been and will kill it from its roots for good so help us GOD.