Start Preparing for Ramadan

One thing I have started to avoid during Ramzan is to stuff my tummy at Iftari.

It is much better to just do a lightish aftari, with importance on fluids. Samosas and Pakoras only in small amounts. Then about an hour or so later, attack the food!!!

If I start eating too much right at aftari, I can't get up for the next 3 hours!

do you guys get angry easily during that period... I am in bad mood if I am hungry.. :P

that is the trick, Ramdan and Fasting is all about patience. Allah do not need us to live Hungary or thirsty, its about developing patience and understanding the suffering of others. This is the difference between starving and fasting. This is a problem and people do get easily irritated, as i said, specially in evening it is common people engaged in heated arguments and fights but that is not good and Islam ask us not to act like this. So my request for Ramdan is to keep your patience and this is what this month is all about!

It is much better to just do a lightish aftari, with importance on fluids. Samosas and Pakoras only in small amounts. Then about an hour or so later, attack the food!!!

If I start eating too much right at aftari, I can't get up for the next 3 hours!

hahahaha exactly,,,,,
You must be a scientist working on WAYS TO DESTROY FOOD in Ramdan!

But i dont think how it should be, you know, our grocery and food expenditure increase in ramdan as compared to other months. For me Ramdan is about sharing and understanding the pain of those who are not as blessed as our self and then being thankful for everything that God have given to us. Unfortunately we don't do this, I DON'T

Have anyone of you ever tried an Iftar with poor people? spend an iftar with those living in your city's slum and see how it feels? i will like to know the feeling and you experience. I am sorry and ashamed that i haven't ever done this myself, i hope it is not too late.

Well I don't want to boast, but yes I have done it for 2 past Ramzans.

When we were in Pakistan, sometimes used to do it in the father's unit with all the OR's and JCO's etc. But that was still a somewhat formal affair.

When we shifted to Oman, after the initial 5-10 days at home, went to the local mosque and did aftari there...all the Pakistani truck drivers, shopkeepers, labourers etc. The food was delicious in the mosque...camel pulao and Biryani on alternate days!

do you guys get angry easily during that period... I am in bad mood if I am hungry.. :P

sir that is what we have to control anger not lying not doing fraud not cheating and hurting innocents disrespecting elders watching women and other things sir Ramadan trains us so we can continue for whole year

sir you are not trained to eat like a molvi I can teach you that

This is not the case with me. I would definitely wage a war against pakoras and samosas in my favorite month.

However I would try to keep myself calm during roza. Good ikhlaq and all that. Also would recite Quran daily and pray five times punctually and regularly.

I've learned there's no such thing as light iftari.

Add up the calories

1 date
1 Samosa
3 pakora
Dahi bhalay (with 2 bhalay)
Fruit chaat
Ruuh Hafza with milk

Best thing to do is kholte saath hi khana kha lo.

I've learned there's no such thing as light iftari.

Add up the calories

1 date
1 Samosa
3 pakora
Dahi bhalay (with 2 bhalay)
Fruit chaat
Ruuh Hafza with milk

Best thing to do is kholte saath hi khana kha lo.

Lol, hamaray ghar main to pakoray and one more thing, either some chaat or dahi bhalay.

I try my best to reserve a plate of pakoras but that attempt is futile most of the times.!

Something happens with me if I eat all the iftari within 15 minutes, my stomach gets swelled up or something and I cant do anything excpet sit on the couch for the next 3 hours. So I eat the big stuff an hour later. You could call that a iftari plus dinner. Dinner in Ramzan becomes noodles, kebabs, chicken etc, not the staple diet of rice.

Ab ham arbi to hain nhn keh puri raat jagay rahay aur din sotay rahain!

Lol, hamaray ghar main to pakoray and one more thing, either some chaat or dahi bhalay.

I try my best to reserve a plate of pakoras but that attempt is futile most of the times.!

Something happens with me if I eat all the iftari within 15 minutes, my stomach gets swelled up or something and I cant do anything excpet sit on the couch for the next 3 hours. So I eat the big stuff an hour later. You could call that a iftari plus dinner. Dinner in Ramzan becomes noodles, kebabs, chicken etc, not the staple diet of rice.

n when u r invitd at iftar parties n dinner,esp there when da host pushs u to eat each n evry thing when u dun want to...lol :girl_wacko:

All the women of the house are in cooking mode in Ramadan.

Let me tell you about my Ramadan with mom around

Subah sawere mom ne parathay zaroor banane hotay hain, when you say something Oh yeh bohot hi light paratha hai, saath koi saalan, usually keema.

Phir kha ke jo neend aati hai... Abhi shukar hai humare ghar main imsak wala hisaab nahi hai, azaan tak kha pi lo... So afterwards bass thuss so gaye.

Phir office... And yaar Sharjah ki traffic ke liay Ramadan main sahi ghaddar machta hai. Sab bawwlay huay hotay hain jese. My office ends around 2:30 but I'm there usually till 4-5 trying to wait for the traffic to end.

Phir takreeban roz ghar main:

Dahi bhallay, pakoray aalu type, palak type, either egg or either chicken type, sab bantay hain... fruit chaat, rooh hafza, sometimes those half cut sandwiches...

Sahi ki overeating hoti hai.

Always break the fast at a mosque and say full prayers there.
Problem solved.

Ek namaz ka tees gunnah sawab hai. Faida uthana chahiye

I think you missed the KEY WORD "ONLY" during Ramadan....Otherwise bhi tou thawaaab hai uska faedah kiyun nai utha tay?! :unsure:

Just curious, are there organizations jo gareeb ko iftari kerwati hain or something? I mean I know here in UK, we have tons of Muslim students and so people volunteer to send food to masjid to help students with iftar...

I am wondering if there are such organizations in Pakistan to whom I could give zakaat to...I am having an earning sooo was thinking of giving something :ashamed:

I know abu gives to charities and esp in our area in Pakistan...I am not sure which is the right charity anymore....

I hope I get to go home for Ramadan :cray: stupid visa issues...

Just curious, are there organizations jo gareeb ko iftari kerwati hain or something? I mean I know here in UK, we have tons of Muslim students and so people volunteer to send food to masjid to help students with iftar...

I am wondering if there are such organizations in Pakistan to whom I could give zakaat to...I am having an earning sooo was thinking of giving something :ashamed:

I know abu gives to charities and esp in our area in Pakistan...I am not sure which is the right charity anymore....

I hope I get to go home for Ramadan :cray: stupid visa issues...
awww......poor girl......:P yes in Pakistan,there are various organisations who do that..selani welfare is most trustable one,besides edhi is also good for zakat....
May Allah give you barkat in your salary ameen