Social media being used against Pakistan, institutions: DG ISPR

The genius establishment just figured this out? Question is what are they going to do about it - NOTHING!

What should they do? Formulate and execute on laws against fake news. Don't get intimidated by hashtag trends on twitter. Be firm. Expand to take on the libel and slander spewed in Pak's "free" media. Have a general policy to deal with the anti-peace elements.

What will they do? Be lazy. Be clumsy. Be reactive. And then back to 1960s style public diplomacy and the meaningless slogans they usually trot out. "Democracy" is needed and wanted. We have lost so much in the WoT. We support Afghanistan's stability. Give back posts to Afghanistan. Meet with PTM losers. Have soldiers killed. Then meet the very people propagating against you and issue joint declarations of peace and brotherhood. Rinse, repeat. Chutiyas.

No, they have the ability to monitor social media. It's not about saying things we want everyone to believe (that's pov), it's outright anti-truth and fake news. But as usual, they'll do nothing. Because why do anything that doesn't mess with water-wasting golf courses and wasteful villas?

Exactly. 100% agreed.

we have trolls who spew hate against army every day, and they are loyal to their God Nawaz and Goddess Marium
Plenty of examples on this forum. So many trolls and anti-Pakistani hindjews causing mischief and dissension, spewing anti-muslim and anti-Iran crap.

There is it not much you can do on countering these social media accounts. Unless you can mass produce your narrative like the Israelis do with their Hasbaras. But even then their narrative is not the popular one.

Banning social media will only strengthen their cause they have other ways such as blogs to get their word out and at the same time our narrative will be weaker, it's a two way street.

Pakistanis need to choose themselves, that is the only way. But then again the VAST majority of people in Pakistan don't have social media. There are only a few million out of 200 million.

A troll account is a troll account. As long as the average person on the street isn't affected by them they're useless.

That's just lazy, wrong, and the standard response of a weak state. These campaigns have no intention of reasoning or addressing real issues. They're vessels targeted for chaos. Action is not about shutting down specific websites, posts, or accounts. It's about taking action (legal and with real consequences) against those very real individuals (usually in the english-speaking medias and local marxists) that disseminate and amplify patently false bits of info for anti-Pakistan ends. No amount of counter-narrative is going to work - nor needed, when dealing with them. They actively seek out support of anti-Pakistan forces and act in service of said forces. Mature, developed countries do not let such things go. They have anti-fake news laws, libel laws, slander laws. etc... to deal with such occurrences. Thinking that your own population is fair-game or a battlefield for outside, foreign, malign influences is the first and last mistake in the modern world.

and you think the army can do all that by themselves? cyber laws have already been passed but once acted upon the hissy fits start about freedom of speech. what needs to be done is a full spectrum response. make sure pro-Pakistan narrative is dominant in Pakistan while at the same time there are crackdowns against them.

most of these "mature, developed countries" work together in this regard and have very few countries attacking them from the outside. The US is infested with fake news to the point where its treason yet no action is taken against them.

and you think the army can do all that by themselves? cyber laws have already been passed but once acted upon the hissy fits start about freedom of speech. what needs to be done is a full spectrum response. make sure pro-Pakistan narrative is dominant in Pakistan while at the same time there are crackdowns against them.

most of these "mature, developed countries" work together in this regard and have very few countries attacking them from the outside. The US is infested with fake news to the point where its treason yet no action is taken against them.

That's exactly the problem. Why put so much credence into noises on the internet? Let them throw hissy fits and in the process out themselves even more. Be firm and consistent. They'll forget about it and move on to the next hashtag trend a couple weeks later. Meanwhile you've demonstrated that actively engaging with and participating with anti-Pakistan elements will not be tolerated and that you stand for the rule of law. No need to dress this as unpatriotic or anti-free speech. Just someone being taken to task for breaking the rule of law and being anti-truth.

I live in the US. Fake news that targets the very foundation and stability of the country is NOT tolerated. It was back in the 30s with all the communists. McCarthy's witch hunts put an end to that to the point that media and social media commentators actively self-censorship to this very day with or without the u.s. establishment's prodding. Try campaigning for a separate state or write eulogies to OBL or the Taliban and see where your free speech gets you.

Yes Social media should be banned immediately indefinitely, swift actions are needed against anti Pakistan elements and trolls.

Internet ban kardo haramzado.

Ban breathing in public places while you're at it.

Pakistan ki weli awam ka kaam he yahi hai her waqat social sites mein beth ke seyasat mein

till twitter has its Asia head office in India, they wont do anything about anti pakistani and racist tweets from Indians and afghans and paid bots.

government of Pak should make it very clear to twitter that the website will be banned from Pak unless it does something about concerns pak has with abusive and racist twitter account.

Indians can go on twitter and say the most offensive things about Pakistan when you report the tweet nothing happens because the person dealing with a report is an indian who doesnt have problem with abusive pakistani tweets.

either we ban social media like China has done and its worked or we tell Facebook, twitter etc to make offices n Pakistan dealing with issues we have against abusive and racist indian accounts and bots.

RT-PakistanTraffic.jpg

Pakistan army spokesperson accuses journalists of anti-state activity on social media

June 5, 2018 1:54 PM ET
press conference yesterday, Ghafoor derided the rise of social media troll accounts, which he said spread propaganda against the army and state, and said that Pakistan's spy agency, the Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI), was monitoring such accounts and those that engage with them, including journalists.

During his presentation, Ghafoor showed a graphic featuring an alleged troll account's Twitter activity and the journalists and other individuals allegedly connected to the account, who, Ghafoor said, redistributed anti-state and anti-army propaganda from the troll's account.

The journalists featured on the graphic include Ammar Masood and Fakhar Durrani, both with media Jang Media Group, Umar Cheema from the Jang-owned daily The News, Azaz Syed from the Jang-owned broadcaster Geo TV, and Matiullah Jan with the broadcaster Waqt News. Cheema received CPJ's International Press Freedom Award in 2011.

"Displaying photos of journalists alleged to help push anti-state propaganda in Pakistan is tantamount to putting a giant target on their backs," said Steven Butler, CPJ's Asia program coordinator in Washington, D.C. "General Ghafoor should apologize for his comments and explain how security forces might help promote journalist safety in Pakistan, where reporters and editors are routinely threatened, attacked, and killed for their work."

Pakistani authorities have cracked down on press freedom ahead of national parliamentary elections scheduled for July 25. Recently, CPJ documented disruptions to the distribution of Dawn newspaper and access to television channel Geo TV.

https://cpj.org/2018/06/pakistan-army-spokesperson-accuses-journalists-of-.php

Yes Social media should be banned immediately indefinitely, swift actions are needed against anti Pakistan elements and trolls.
than how would people voice concern ...issue should be why are high figures like politician tolerates doing anti judiciary comments

a common man would have been sentenced

DG ISPR pointed to growing negative propaganda on social media against Anti Judiciary, Anti Paksitan and Anti Army. DG Sahab PMLN and Nawaz Sharif already did half and easy work for you by passing a BLACK LAW in 2017 "Cyber Act Law". The law is extremely dangerous for the Internet users. Use the law against these PMLN Khotay and tell them to bash your shit leader because the law was made on the instructions of your legend begerat leader Nawaz Sharif and his Govt. According the majority of clauses, 3 years of minimum Jail with 50,000 - 1Million fine on anti speeches, statuses and materials against the Army and Judiciary.:lol::lol::lol:

Be Ready PMLN supporters NO MORE BS, your leader already did enough to hold you guys from your neck UNDER THE LAW so no more "Missing person" stamp required for chitrool
1f609.png
;) GO BABY GHQ... I know I know Team Six waiting for the time period of this Govt and act swiftly.. be Ready no more PMLN GOVT... Maryam Nawaz Team and bashers No one save you whether you're 13 years old or 30 years old. jo boya woh katogay!

DG ISPR said we know who they're... off course, they have technology, tracking, powerful cyber hackers and cyber warfare teams.

Timely press conference by DG ISPR. Well-chosen precise words. Social Media, especially twitter, is a constant threat. Foreign influence and traitors from within our ranks all acting to destabilize pakistan at this critical stage of FATF listing and general elections.

IF twitter is banned half of the problems would be solved esp. these foreign funded desi liberals. There biggest target are university and school going kids on whichp akistan is banking on for its future. IT is definitely dangerous and a real catastrophe waiting to happen. Social media not only purports fake news or news with an agenda, it also is propaganda and organizing tool. Even doctored photos are released and posted, this is a well-organized group withcontact groups in foreign countries giving heir support thru writing for them and promote their fake conjectures abroad. This is mostly happening in Muslim contries or those not allied with US. Half of those barking won't come out in public to support a desi liberal or their cause. Its thru youngsters with feminist or westernized tendencies who are brainwashed and easily misled.

In July 2016 when social media started revealing indian atrocities in KAshmir, Indian trolls pushed Balochistan fake photos and started deactivating accounts in facebook thru moderators. Anyone discussing or sharing reports on Kashmir had his account deactivated for one month. Compare this with Arab spring and usage of facebook posts to organize political campaigns
and post vdos of killings and beatings.
Quora is another battlefront for indian trolls to spread different disinformation regarding Pakistan. There also pakistani ccounts are banned immediately.

Pakistani agencies need to work on it and try to expose these agents they are fighting an uphil battle as the news media dalaals allied with the foreign agents would use excuse of freedom of expression which they abuse and block against themselves.