2006022400300402.jpg

mixtures_250x250.jpg

Mirchee Bhajee
mirchi_bhaji.jpg

Tandoori Aloo Wrap
five_low_cal_indian_recipes.jpg

Spinach and Sesame Tikkis
low_calorie_indian_snacks_s.jpg

They are the best kind. But must be fried in Coconut Oil for a superlative taste. No other oil; no 'sarson ka tel', no peanut oil, no corn oil, no soya-bean oil!

I dont know, but somehow the Mallus make the finest chai and the best banana chips. :agree:

Now I am officially offended ma'am. :argh:

Taste it with Sambhar,Coconut Chutney and I bet your mornings will never be the same again.

Bade Miyan is getting costly by the day - when I first went there in Dec 2008, in the aftermath of 26/11 the prices were almost half as it is now. :frown:

BTW our favourite spot used to be the midnight cafe 'Bachelors' opposite Chowpatty.

That is "Bambai" for you! In the words of an old hindi song "eeh hai Bambai sehar tu dekh babua".
The first time I ate at "Bade-Miyas" (in the last century ;)) Old Man Bade Miya was alive and operating from a "Thela". Now his sons run the show with lights and :cheesy: a telephone for large "parcel" orders!

Yes the rates have gone up.

I dont know, but somehow the Mallus make the finest chai and the best banana chips. :agree:

If you don't believe what I said about the oil. Then, next time in Bombay, go next to Matunga Station (Matunga East); follow your nose (the smell of frying coconut oil is unmistakeable) and you will reach "good" banana chips. Of course, if you want the "best" banana chips; then buy a ticket to Kerala (and meet Benny also) :azn:

Aloo Tikki & Corn Bhel (Indian Street Food Fare)
aloo_tikki_corn_bhel.jpg

Corn Bhel
corn_bhel_imli_chutney.jpg

Chili Paneer
Chili-Paneer.jpg

Mutton Pickle
Mutton-Pickle.jpg

Mutton Chukka
mutton-chukka.jpg

Lal Chilli Mutton fry
Red-Chilli-Mutton-fry.jpg

bhai ap tu bandar ko bhi khaate hain, divya ki tarha :)

If you don't believe what I said about the oil. Then, next time in Bombay, go next to Matunga Station (Matunga East); follow your nose (the smell of frying coconut oil is unmistakeable) and you will reach "good" banana chips. Of course, if you want the "best" banana chips; then buy a ticket to Kerala (and meet Benny also) :azn:

No no I believe you. Cos one of my favourite haunts is the Idly House near Kings Circle and there are many shops there selling these chips.

Actually thats why the Kerala chips are best since the Mallus usually use coconut oil for all their cooking. And since I hail from a border district in TN (Coimbatore) there is actually many Kerala chips shops over there.