Russia to deliver fifth upgraded submarine to the Indian Navy in 2012

Big Boss

Russia to deliver fifth upgraded submarine to the Indian Navy in 2012

In the second half of 2012, the Sindhurakshak diesel electric submarine, currently being upgraded in the Zvezdochka ship repair yard in Severodvinsk, will be transferred to the Indian Navy, reports korabel.ru website.

The contract for the repair and modernisation of the submarine was signed between Zvezdochka and the Indian Ministry of Defence in June 2010. This is the fifth Indian ship to undergo modernisation at the shipyard.

“Zvezdochka plans to deliver the submarine to the customer in terms determined by the contract, namely, in the second half of 2012,” a press release said.

According to information on the site flotprom.ru, the Project 877 EKM (NATO classification: Kilo) Sindhurakshak diesel electric submarine was laid down at one of Russia’s oldest shipbuilding enterprises, the Admiralty Shipyard (St Petersburg), in 1995 at the order of the Indian Navy. The ship was launched in June 1997 and delivered to the customer in December of that year. The submarine design was developed by the Rubin Central Design Bureau (St Petersburg).

The submarine’s performance characteristics include a displacement of 2,300 tons, length of 72.6 metres, beam of 9.9 metres, surface speed of 10 knots, submerged speed of 19 knots, operating range of 6,000 miles, endurance of 45 days, operating depth of 300 metres, and a crew of 52 people. Its armament consists of six 533-mm torpedo tubes.

Russia to deliver fifth upgraded submarine to the Indian Navy in 2012 | Russia & India Report

So we can expect this sub in the first quarter of 2015 then?!!

+ on a serious note, IN sub arm is in dire need of up gradation and expansion.

So we are getting all these back in 2012:

Upgraded conventional subs, Nuclear sub, Aircraft carrier, frigate from Russia alone.

Indian Navy would be very busy with the inductions.:yahoo:

So we are getting all these back in 2012:

Upgraded conventional subs, Nuclear sub, Aircraft carrier, frigate from Russia alone.

Indian Navy would be very busy with the inductions.:yahoo:

Don't get too excited buddy, we heared about induction of SSN and carrier from jan and now we have dec, but none of them is available yet.

You are right buddy....

But the excitement is hard to suppress.

Aur ek baar Russia se nikalne ke baad kitni bhi site-seeing karen, India me to pahuchenge hi. "Der aaye durust aaye" - mujhe chalta hai.

what a pathetic country, still cant make their own subs.

LOOOOL

So what would you say about the country that is hosting this website? Does the remark apply to them too?

The funny thing is that remarks like this often gets thanks from pakistanis.

In the past 10 minutes, you have made similar one liners in at least 3 threads in the India section. In all those you mentioned the "retail sector farce", although the topics were F-INSAS or something defence related. I'm surprised you didn't say that here. Get a life.

So what would you say about the country that is hosting this website? Does the remark apply to them too?

The funny thing is that remarks like this often gets thanks from pakistanis.

In the past 10 minutes, you have made similar one liners in at least 3 threads in the India section. In all those you mentioned the "retail sector farce", although the topics were F-INSAS or something defence related. I'm surprised you didn't say that here. Get a life.

i guess since its a russian sub, india will provide the paint job.

paint will be imported from china too.

i guess since its a russian sub, india will provide the paint job.

paint will be imported from china too.

You didn't answer the question. If you are saying India is a pathetic country for not making its own subs, would you say the same about the country that hosts this website? Are you embarasssed to follow your own remarks to their logical conclusion?

It sucks, doesn't it, that you made an anti India remark to get a few thanks, but forgot that it also applies to the people you want to get thanks from? And now you don't want to address that, but like a true troll, you want to make an irrelevant remark about paint jobs. As I said before, try to get a life.

And by the way India won't provide the paint job either. This news is about subs being upgraded in Russia. Not about subs being made. These subs were made in Russia, and India was not involved in making or painting. I guess you are unable to understand what a thread is about.

Also, if I were you, I wouldn't talk about importing Chinese paint. It kills:
http://www.nytimes.com/2007/08/02/business/02toy.html
http://health.howstuffworks.com/wellness/preventive-care/china-lead-poisoning.htm

There are many things that your country exports that you can boast of. Paint is not one of them.

Learn the strengths and weaknesses of your own country before you decide to troll.

Quoting from above link:

"U.S. regulatory agencies and companies instituted numerous recalls for defective, dangerous or toxic products, such as toothpaste, children's jewelry, toys, tools, dog food, baby bibs, tires and computer batteries. The common link between many of these products: They were made in China and contain lead paint."