Quaid wanted ‘Mussalmans’ to enter film industry

In this day an age if mass commercialism of movie and tv industry, I don't know how getting one's point through is possible. Year after year I find myself watching less and less movies. Last year I saw a total of four movies. The Hobit, The Dark Knight, Hunger Games and Lincoln. I watch mostly TV shows, Documentries and Pak Dramas.

I thought it was me but a lot of my collegues and friends are the same way, too now. Sure, through movies you can communicate with regular folks but they're for the most part are looking for mainstream commercial stuff. If you make a targeted audienced political agenda film, then your audience becomes very limited and is also very rational and smart to see through your propaganda.

I think more than film or tv its the getting together of the world through the Internet and social media that helps getting someones point across. Even the big news networks and newspapers people always doubt. Because we know they serve vested parties agendas.

by the way the Great Salman Rushdie is writing the screenplay for a movie on his book Midnight;s Children. Directed by Deepa Mehta. Cant wait.

You must be new to this world, and know nothing about the topic.

They hate Hindu culture. They have debates every week on national news channels talking about how Pakistani Muslims shouldnt be watching Hindu Bollywood stuff :P

Also, Bollywood movies have been banned for long periods in Pak, and the ban was recently lifted in 2008.
arre bhai mujhe pataa hain.. hindu bollywood?????? salman, amir, srk, irfan, imran, farah khans.. javed farhan akhthar. rahmna.. cant say no more mate

by the way the Great Salman Rushdie is writing the screenplay for a movie on his book Midnight;s Children. Directed by Deepa Mehta. Cant wait.

arre bhai mujhe pataa hain.. hindu bollywood?????? salman, amir, srk, irfan, imran, farah khans.. javed farhan akhthar. rahmna.. cant say no more mate

Dude I am not agreeing with their point of view, just letting you know that most Pakistanis dont think of Bollywood as similar culture. They see it as Hindu Bollywood.

You are right in this regard... a person stated television doesn't make a culture stronger but breaks it. Sometimes have to wonder about it.

Movies in the 1930s and 1940s were used to subtly criticize British rule in India - I know because my family used to make movies then. Some of the movies were banned under the sedition law. So, the producers-directors often turned to Hindu epics - or rather tales of Hindu epics to create a feeling of nationalism amongst the population. My guess is that seeing the proliferation of such movies, Jinnah wanted to include Muslims in this field - perhaps so they could tell tales of Mughals and the Muslim population would also see a stake in getting rid of the British.

Qaid e azam was not Holy Prophet k tum uskey letter ko aik hadith ki tara importance dey rahe ho.

whats your problem??, tum jese baray hadith or Quran ko manay walay ho... tumhari posts tumhari gandi zehniyat ka ainadar hain... behtar hai apni zehan ki gandagi apnay tak hi rakho tum...

The directors killed this industry in Pakistan.

The sort of movies coming out were unwatchable with a family, the storyline became hard to guess and most of the audience didn't find the pathetic sound/video interesting.

film industry needs patronage, its not just about the money but developing a culture for families to have quality entertainment. its about supporting film schools, build Cinema, studios with latest technology.

See Turkey is developing its film industry very rapidly, a good way to communicate with other nations and influence them. same as what bollywood does with Pakistani audience, they use Urdu not Hindi as medium of communication in their films as they know they are influencing the region with their films...

The Qaid was progressive no doubt about that.

Qaid e azam was not Holy Prophet k tum uskey letter ko aik hadith ki tara importance dey rahe ho.

Yeah if you read the comments of the liberal lunatics you'd think jinnah is no less than a Prophet - Asthugfirullah

The reason Pakistan is in a dismal state is precisely because jinnah's words are presented like Quran and Hadith. In fact, it seems like Quran & Hadith is given less importance than a shia's word.

whats your problem??, tum jese baray hadith or Quran ko manay walay ho... tumhari posts tumhari gandi zehniyat ka ainadar hain... behtar hai apni zehan ki gandagi apnay tak hi rakho tum...

kia baat he, kyun itna barrak rahe ho? may ne koi ghalat baat tu nahi ki.

The Qaid was progressive no doubt about that.

No doubt about that. But were or are his professed followers in the same category? Is the nation that he founded also adhering to that attribute of his?

The answers to those questions will help determine how much his thoughts and ideals are now relevant to the existence of the nation that he created.

Otherwise he will just remain a "picture of a patrician gentleman in a gilt-edged frame, hanging on various walls in Pakistan".

496489-mohammadalijinnah-1358658171-401-640x480.jpg

496489-EndorsementphotoTughralYamin-1358629026-464-640x480.JPG

Where successive Pakistani governments have subjected the country’s once prosperous film industry to official neglect, a recently discovered letter penned by Quaid-i-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah reveals the country’s founder gave seminal importance to the industry.

“I am in receipt of your letter of December 30th 1944, and I wish more Mussalmans would enter into this realm of film industry, and I shall always be glad to do all I can to help it. I have noted that Mr Mahboob is producing a historical picture “Humayun”, and if I have an opportunity of seeing it I might be able to express my opinion about it, but generally I do wish that more Mussalmans would enter this line, as there is plenty of scope for them in the film industry,” reads the Quaid’s letter, dated January 6, 1945.

The type-written letter clearly bears his personal monogram and is neatly signed by his own hand.

The letter was written in response to a letter by Mohammad Masud, then a young political activist, who sought the Quaid’s opinion on the role of Indian Muslims in the sub-continent’s film industry.

Now in his 80s, Masud resides in Karachi with his grandchildren. While he has never been particularly talkative, many an eager ear has been mesmerised by his narration of pre-partition experiences. From his youth to his old age, Masud has also cultivated a penchant for writing letters to the country’s leaders, past and present. The Quaid was among the few who got back to him.

Pakistani film industry today is exemplified by mustachioed men with ‘gandasas’ staring down plus-sized women as they dance.

Cinemas themselves are dominated by Bollywood and Hollywood. The industry has been on the verge of demise ever since the separation of East Pakistan (and with it, its film industry), and the advent of the VCR.

The state, meanwhile, has had bigger concerns, leaving an industry, which once provided much revenue and was a means of promoting a ‘softer image’, in shambles. No government has tried to restore Pakistani cinema to its former glory – the state does not even acknowledge it as an industry. Similarly, little official attention has been given to film education – not a single state-funded film school exists in the country.

Quaid’s letter could not have been uncovered at a more apt time. It shows the level of enthusiasm a person who represented the entire Muslim population of India at the time possessed, even as he replied to someone as inconsequential as a young admirer – that too at a time when the entire region was embroiled in a crisis much graver than cultivating a film industry.

Masud still pens letters to the country’s present day leaders, often reminding them of their duty to the nation. Most never bother to reply. Only Jinnah had the courtesy and the vision to respond to each letter he received. One can only wish we could have another leader like that.

The author is the nephew of Mohammad Masud and a retired brigadier who teaches strategy at the National Defence University, Islamabad

Quaid wanted

zinna was not a true musalman as per zarwan's view. waese bhi he is not considered as a musalman by many scholars, pakistaniyo, yaad rakho, agar galti se bhi film line me jaane ka khayal bhi dil me aa gaya to seedhe dozakh me jaoge. yaad rakhna, fir na kahna ki tharki buddhe ne waqt rahte chetawni nahi di thi.

No doubt about that. But were or are his professed followers in the same category? Is the nation that he founded also adhering to that attribute of his?

The answers to those questions will help determine how much his thoughts and ideals are now relevant to the existence of the nation that he created.

Otherwise he will just remain a "picture of a patrician gentleman in a gilt-edged frame, hanging on various walls in Pakistan".

I agree with you, sir, that people in my nation have distorted his vision (due to various reasons). However, we must take into consideration that since our inception we've been fighting for survival whether under a perceived threat or a real one but our collective will has not yet matured to solve our existential crisis. However, hopefully, we're arriving there and we Greens are a stubborn and persistent lot if anything else! So you never know we might surprise everyone. Just my opinion because I still believe in my people, in my nation and our future.

I do wish you and your compatriots well.
And hopefully all of you will be able to overcome your problems in time. Please do't think too much about surprising anyone; that really does not matter at all. Mohammed Ali Jinnah in many respects was a far-seeing man. If you are able to actualise his visions, that will be a tremendous thing; not one that you will ever have to be ashamed of.

Good Luck. :cheers: