PM Shehbaz announces 10pc 'super tax' on large-scale industries

Then they should have taxed the agri-sector, which is the least taxed sector, but they won't since both coalition parties are made of feudal lords whose primary source of income besides looting is agriculture.
That will not happen in any developing country. It is not fair to raise such expectations from PDM. Taxing industries one time is tough, but necessary for the fiscal health. Government will not take unpopular policy moves if they have a choice in the matter.

I am honestly surprised how N league followers are gladly eating the chooran of 'we are taxing the rich capitalists by this measure, no common person will be affected'.

But I guess if they had brain cells instead of qeema they wouldn't be following N league in the first place.

Continuance is an excuse. Kiyani was his own man. He had his opportunity to shine---he failed.

He is the designer of NRO---he is the man behind it.

He SABOTAGED Musharraf---

Janab, 'guarantors' were far more powerful than Mr. Kayani and many 'pious' generals like him. It was in fact Mr. Kayani who negotiated with BB as Musharraf's representative as Mr. Kayani had earlier served as MS for BB.

As I said earlier Pakistani establishment likes 'guarantors' as visionless institutions prefer foreign interference.

Janab, 'guarantors' were far more powerful than Mr. Kayani and many pious generals. It was in fact Mr. Kayani who negotiated with BB as Musharraf's representative as Mr. Kayani had earlier served as MS for BB.

As I said earlier Pakistani establishment likes 'guarantors' as visionless institutions prefer foreign interference.

I know it otherwise---.

What's shabaz Sharif and his parties economic ideology .do they profess socialism or free market liberalisation?
This action of his shows, shabaz Sharif is socialist displaying protectionist tendencies and distrust of the industrialists.
Than this fellow raises petrol prices, he comes out as a pucca laissaez faire free market capitalist?
What is his guiding principle for economy?
Hardly any party in Pakistan has a concrete economic ideology. PMLN claims to be an advocate of free market capitalism but then we see them increasing corporate tax like they are doing right now. Our exports declined under PMLN's previous tenure thanks to the genius policies of ex-finance minister Ishaq Dar. PPP claims to be a socialist party but their party is full of feudal lords and crony capitalists.

I am honestly surprised how N league followers are gladly eating the chooran of 'we are taxing the rich capitalists by this measure, no common person will be affected'.

But I guess if they had brain cells instead of qeema they wouldn't be following N league in the first place.
We had increase in exports in 2012-2018
Now second export increase will happen

FB_IMG_1656101578634.jpg

No---he was not the only one---but to allow Zardari to be president that was THE CRSUHING BLOW---that was a cardinal sin.
The damage done in those years - and even by Bhutto during your years by institutionalized nepotism and destruction of merit was the nail on the coffin for Pakistan.

Shehbaz govt was brought in to destroy pakistan's economy so that pakistan can go bankrupt and the powers to be can force pakistan to relinquish it nucs.

That is never going to happen.

Nukes are the very guarantee of the status quo continuing for the "elites". It's their biggest security against external and internal enemies so to speak.

The same powers to be cannot afford a nuclear-armed Pakistan to turn into a new Afghanistan so they will do what is necessary to help protect and keep afloat the very same Pakistani "elite". As has been the case for decades.

That is never going to happen.

Nukes are the very guarantee of the status quo continuing for the "elites". It's their biggest security against external and internal enemies so to speak.

The same powers to be cannot afford a nuclear-armed Pakistan to turn into a new Afghanistan so they will do what is necessary to help protect and keep afloat the very same Pakistani "elite". As has been the case for decades.
That’s a good point

With the number of nuclear weapons and the geographic dispersal of these system means it would be a nightmare for Pakistan to collapse suddenly.

The ideal situation is to basically keep it just above the waterline and gradually have the nukes removed.
You forget that the “elites” are not generational and more focused on their today. At best they want to secure their next generation an even brighter future.

Large investors will pack their bags and take their money elsewhere with better return on their investment, whereas crooks elitist will evade Taxes. Only people left to prove their toughness will be average person like you and other small businesses that will end up with losing jobs created by large investors or running out of business. You will move from middle to lower middle class.
If I understand correctly, the tax is only on the very rich. You are right that higher taxes lead to evasion, but with technology and so many linkages and identification numbers, it is rather difficult to escape the long arm of the law, i.e. if the government is really serious about it. New (higher) tax bracket on the rich is an indication that the government has run out of options. If inspite of this they choose to allow rampant evasion by the rich (who should already be in the tax net), it is very unfortunate.

What's shabaz Sharif and his parties economic ideology .do they profess socialism or free market liberalisation?
This action of his shows, shabaz Sharif is socialist displaying protectionist tendencies and distrust of the industrialists.
Than this fellow raises petrol prices, he comes out as a pucca laissaez faire free market capitalist?
What is his guiding principle for economy?

khata hai to lagata bhi hai

Okay , I see means no plan
He goes with the flow

India hammered zamindars in 60s itself.
And took away most of property of Rajas and nawabs in 70s .

Hardly any party in Pakistan has a concrete economic ideology. PMLN claims to be an advocate of free market capitalism but then we see them increasing corporate tax like they are doing right now. Our exports declined under PMLN's previous tenure thanks to the genius policies of ex-finance minister Ishaq Dar. PPP claims to be a socialist party but their party is full of feudal lords and crony capitalists.