PM (Nawaz) gives go-ahead to raise power tariff

That Guy

PDF THINK TANK: ANALYST
Canada
PM gives go-ahead to raise power tariff

51badcd541aaf.jpg

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Friday gave a go-ahead to raise power tariff during a high-level meeting on energy crisis in Islamabad.

The tariff for electricity is likely to be increased from July 1.

Moreover, the meeting also decided to immediately start communications with neighbouring states, including India, for energy import.

A plan aimed at resolving the circular debt issue was also presented in the meeting.

The country is facing a shortfall of over 4,500 megawatts of power resulting in unprecedented load-shedding. Since taking over, Prime Minister Sharif has vowed to address the concerns on power crisis and has dubbed the issue as one to be dealt with as a matter of priority.

Moreover, the prime minister has also called a high-level meeting to deliberate on matters relating to Pakistan International Airlines (PIA).

The meeting, which is to be held later today, is expected to arrive at important decisions concerning the airline's administrative and financial matters.

The beleaguered national flag-carrier is notorious among Pakistanis for delays and cancellations and its planes have suffered a number of embarrassing technical problems this year.

It has also been a subject of a case in the Supreme Court over alleged corruption and mismanagement.

PM gives go-ahead to raise power tariff - DAWN.COM

Thoughts?

good decision, need to know exact amount though, it should not be more expensive than running genset, or should not encourage theft.

So as not to shock consumer, it should be done in small increments.

PM gives go-ahead to raise power tariff[/SIZE]

http://i.dawn.com/large/2013/06/51badcd541aaf.jpg[IMG]

[B]ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Friday gave a go-ahead to raise power tariff during a high-level meeting on energy crisis in Islamabad.[/B]

The tariff for electricity is likely to be increased from July 1.

Moreover, the meeting also decided to immediately start communications with neighbouring states, including India, for energy import.

A plan aimed at resolving the circular debt issue was also presented in the meeting.

The country is facing a shortfall of over 4,500 megawatts of power resulting in unprecedented load-shedding. Since taking over, Prime Minister Sharif has vowed to address the concerns on power crisis and has dubbed the issue as one to be dealt with as a matter of priority.

Moreover, the prime minister has also called a high-level meeting to deliberate on matters relating to Pakistan International Airlines (PIA).

The meeting, which is to be held later today, is expected to arrive at important decisions concerning the airline's administrative and financial matters.

The beleaguered national flag-carrier is notorious among Pakistanis for delays and cancellations and its planes have suffered a number of embarrassing technical problems this year.

It has also been a subject of a case in the Supreme Court over alleged corruption and mismanagement.

[url=http://beta.dawn.com/news/1018195/nawaz-chairs-meeting-on-energy-crisis]PM gives go-ahead to raise power tariff - DAWN.COM[/url]

[I]Thoughts?[/I][/QUOTE]

Double the price but guarantee 24 hours non stop availability.

good decision, need to know exact amount though, it should not be more expensive than running genset, or should not encourage theft.

So as not to shock consumer, it should be done in small increments.

I agree, but we'll see if this is actually implemented properly.

It seems PML is following the same agenda PPP was.......rise the cost of electricity to an extent, that it becomes rather a luxury than a necessity for the general public. People who are suggesting to double the price with 24 hours availability.....bhai mera waisa he available ho jai gi since is rate per aik aam admi to electricity waisa he afford nahi ker paii ga.

Times like these make me glad KESC is privatised. I believe this won't apply to us? Most don't

Wese hum kre to PPPP Buri hai, Nawaz kre to end of loadshedding. Wah!

And he will end it because of our projects!

It seems PML is following the same agenda PPP was.......rise the cost of electricity to an extent, that it becomes rather a luxury than a necessity for the general public. People who are suggesting to double the price with 24 hours availability.....bhai mera waisa he available ho jai gi since is rate per aik aam admi to electricity waisa he afford nahi ker paii ga.
Subsidy for life-line consumer remains available. The increased tariff will be applicable for those users which consume more electricity than the life line consumers. And it is economically just too because subsidy should be for those who can't afford it, not for everyone as is the case right now.

Times like these make me glad KESC is privatised. I believe this won't apply to us? Most don't

Wese hum kre to PPPP Buri hai, Nawaz kre to end of loadshedding. Wah!

And he will end it because of our projects!

KESC's electricity is also subsidized by the government. Their generation mix is even worse than the national grid since most of their electricity is generated from oil. So Karachi will get even a higher tariff hike than the rest of the country since KESC is a private entity.

they would have to increase the price for some time but they should immediately start shifting plants on coal which are running on oil and also built new plants which use coal as fuel not oil

Nothing drastic will be done by these clowns, just same old agenda which N-League and PPP are following since 70's..

they would have to increase the price for some time but they should immediately start shifting plants on coal which are running on oil and also built new plants which use coal as fuel not oil
All the new plants that are being built are not on oil. They are either stressing combined cycle plants or nuclear plants. There are also incentives for solar energy farms.

Actually there is a qualitative difference between PPP and PML-N. If I say more, I shall be branded a Nawaz loyalist, and that I am not.

However, it has been apparent for quite sometime that a price hike is inevitable. PPP's being a weak coalition government did not have the stomach to make difficult decisions. Plus they wanted to fleece us with RPP dacoity. Even being weak and corruption-prone, they could however have substituted coal instead of oil.

In any case PML-N would certainly do a better job, just because they have seen what happened to PPP. Moreover voters in industrial cities of Northern Punjab voted heavily for PML-N and these people can not be ignored.

The last election was voted on mandate of survival, not ideology. We shall see the results soon enough.

I do not mind a permanent Rs 2-3 hike provided GOP tackles theft and solves the crisis. We need investment in this sector and no one would invest in provision of subsidized electric power supply. GOP has to draw a plan that takes this important factor into account.

All the new plants that are being built are not on oil. They are either stressing combined cycle plants or nuclear plants. There are also incentives for solar energy farms.

so you are telling me that all the projects dar mentioned in his budget speech would run on nuclear power are you serious or joking ? I hope it was a joke

PMLN cant do anything

guys believe me they wont perform any better, they are the new PPP

the tarriffs wont stabilise, they will keep increasing

sales tax is already increased

PMLN has no brains and no plans to tackle the problem other than cut karachi electricity and transfer it to lahore

nawaz is an ultra stupid guy from the beginning and he has become even stupider because of his old age

zardari was clever we just have stupider version of PPP now

so you are telling me that all the projects dar mentioned in his budget speech would run on nuclear power are you serious or joking ? I hope it was a joke
Re-read my post pls.