PIA seek to purchase 10 A-320 Aircrafts

Tuesday, October 04, 2011

KARACHI: Only by introducing taxi-in with one engine shut down procedure, the airline is saving about Rs2 billion in a year. Pakistan Airlines Pilots Association (PALPA) President Capt. Suhail Baluch said that PALPA had withdrawn or minimised many allowances in the proposed working agreement for 2011-13.

He said that PALPA had proposed half the flying allowance rate above 75 hard hours flown instead of 200 percent as done earlier. This will result in substantial saving, he claimed. Baluch said that they had also proposed to reduce the per sector allowance of Long Range flights, which would help save millions of rupees annually.

fuel costs account to about 50% of PIA operating costs.

This can be solved by reducing tax on fuel for PIA,
-Having a professional management company, hire them from somewhere.
- Reduce weight,
Cost to carry "unnecessary" fuel/water/other stuff is 4% per hour (average) - that means if you are carrying 1000 kg extra (just for nothing) you will burn 40 kg extra to carry that.

A typical flight dispatch at PIA looks like;

- Captain at dispatch briefing - Yaar 1 tons fuel aur dal day - pata nahin raastay ka weather kaisa hay!!
- one of the flap seal is missing - engineer - yaar agli dafa aaiy ga to daal dain gay - he does not have any clue what kind of extra fuel will that aircraft burn
- Dispatch Technician/Engineer - Fuel Upload - 36,000 Kg - he will uplift 36,500 in order to make up for fuel panel qty and cockpit fuel gauge mismatch
- Potable Water - yaar bhar do pura - they dont know it will not be utilized 100%!!!
- Cabin crew - yaar 20 bottles paani ki aur day do!! - chalo ji 30 kg extra in every galley!!!

and the list goes on and on and on!!!!!

The real dent in PIA revenues is the devaluation of the Pakistani Rupee , as every year dollar goes up Rupees come down , it cuts down their profit

Secondly the fuel costs fluctuates

But even so PIA should have had a strategy , e.g perhaps buy the fuel 1 years supply so their budget is constant or perhaps try to change their profits/sales into a stable currency

Their staff members are quick large for a carrier with only

40 planes , 16 crew per plane = 640 crew members
May be 200 pilots

17,000 workers for administration is lost revenue, this figure should ideally be just
3,000 employees

agree about the devalue of rupee. BUT they also increase the ticket prices, so it compensate for it..

im quite happy that PIA is acquiring more 777 (probably 300ER) to replace 747 end of this year!

1964741.jpg

1991442.jpg

1986389.jpg

1981750.jpg

1972351.jpg

yup, im 100% sure they will get a320s and 777-300ers, i think they will go for 787s too but not quite sure, does anyone thinks that too?? btw, i miss the old tails, they were amazing and gorgeous, this livery is outstanding too, specially the pakistan on the belly of the plane and the green tail.

_____________________double post_________________________

i think PIA should consult with chinese as they are developing/developed some stuff in the same category

the 747-300's are being phased after a year or so AFAIK, so what is the replacement?

These aircraft should be replaced pronto with 777 or with the improved 747-400.

787 is too much out of our price range gents, be realistic.

the 747-300's are being phased after a year or so AFAIK, so what is the replacement?

These aircraft should be replaced pronto with 777 or with the improved 747-400.

787 is too much out of our price range gents, be realistic.

ahmm 777 is more expensive than 787, but PIA is not gonna go for it anywayy..
777-300ER is the choice for replacing 747s. 747-400 or 8 are not in the best interest of PIA. they r a lot costly to operate than 777. and besides we already have the infrastructure that is needed to keep them in the air. and about A-320, if PIA do buy these then thats also a good choice, because Air Blue also operates them.

emirates is phasing out their 777's , so second hand option was in my mind.

i dont think emirates is phasing out their 777-300ers, might be, 200, 200er and 300 bt these cant replace a 747, 777-300 doesnt has lots of range and payload, i think they should go for a couple 777-300ers and lease 747-400 during hajj seasons and dont u guys think that a321 would make a good replacement for a310?