PIA considering to form a low cost airline, 'PIA Gold'.

SHAMK9

The Acting Managing Director of Pakistan International Airline (PIA), Muhammad Junaid Yunus visited Infrastructure Project Development Facility (IPDF) with a view to explore avenues of co-operation between the two entities. Junaid was received by Ghulam Murtaza Satti, Advisor on Public Private Partnership to IPDF.

Junaid expressed his interest in the Public Private Partnership (PPP) programme as envisioned by President Asif Ali Zardari. He opined PPP to be the only viable option for taking the financially strained airline towards the government's vision of strengthening state institutions by ensuring their financial self sustainability. He expressed his desire to turn around the airline with the assistance of IPDF.

IPDF, the central Public Private Partnership unit established under the Ministry of Finance, is mandated to assist line ministries and other government agencies in the structuring their infrastructure projects on PPP basis. IPDF has recently finalised a Pakistan Railways track access project for private sector participation, he added.

Satti was assisted by Adil Anwar, CEO, IPDF and members of projects team from IPDF. Adil Anwar thanked MD PIA for his visit and exchanged his views in areas of mutual interest and provided a roundup of recent IPDF transactions, which included the recent successful bid of Pakistan Railways' Track Access Project.

Acting Managing Director PIA shared his vision for revolutionizing the airline industry and plans to make PIA operationally profitable within one year. He presented his plan of introducing new routes and starting operations on routes which have been abandoned due to non-availability of Aircraft. He mentioned the possible option of Low Cost Carriers by the name of PIA Gold, for which discussions are being held.-PR
PIA's acting managing director visits IPDF | Business Recorder

'PIA Gold' sounds weird....

Anyways i don't think its that easy.

First step is to plan to have the right aircrafts. We recently bought the Boeing 777s to replace an aging aircraft like Boeing 747-300s, however note that its for longer destinations i.e. to the U.K, U.S, and Canada. If you take a look at the frequency of flights to these destinations, its pretty darn low. I believe the first priority should have been given to routes that are either domestic or near Pakistan. Without this we cannot have a solid foundation. IMO, they need to replace Boeing 737-300 and Airbus A-310 ASAP maybe with the likes of Airbus A-319/A-320 or maybe with Boeing 737-800.

PIA has created many successful airlines before, I think 7 international airlines are established by PIA.

its not a bad idea !!

The Acting Managing Director of Pakistan International Airline (PIA), Muhammad Junaid Yunus visited Infrastructure Project Development Facility (IPDF) with a view to explore avenues of co-operation between the two entities. Junaid was received by Ghulam Murtaza Satti, Advisor on Public Private Partnership to IPDF.

Junaid expressed his interest in the Public Private Partnership (PPP) programme as envisioned by President Asif Ali Zardari. He opined PPP to be the only viable option for taking the financially strained airline towards the government's vision of strengthening state institutions by ensuring their financial self sustainability. He expressed his desire to turn around the airline with the assistance of IPDF.

IPDF, the central Public Private Partnership unit established under the Ministry of Finance, is mandated to assist line ministries and other government agencies in the structuring their infrastructure projects on PPP basis. IPDF has recently finalised a Pakistan Railways track access project for private sector participation, he added.

Satti was assisted by Adil Anwar, CEO, IPDF and members of projects team from IPDF. Adil Anwar thanked MD PIA for his visit and exchanged his views in areas of mutual interest and provided a roundup of recent IPDF transactions, which included the recent successful bid of Pakistan Railways' Track Access Project.

Acting Managing Director PIA shared his vision for revolutionizing the airline industry and plans to make PIA operationally profitable within one year. He presented his plan of introducing new routes and starting operations on routes which have been abandoned due to non-availability of Aircraft. He mentioned the possible option of Low Cost Carriers by the name of PIA Gold, for which discussions are being held.-PR
PIA's acting managing director visits IPDF | Business Recorder

:rofl: PIA cannot manage the existing set-up and they are going to create another airline!

Bad bad idea.

For low cost airlines, we have to get low cost airplanes. So, these antique A310's and 737's are not going to do the job. So more planes needed.

Second problem is a whole new administrative setup, specifically geared towards low cost ops.

As Fatman17 said, abhi kaunsa acha haal hai jo aik aur airline banao gay!!!

My advice, focus on the current setup you have. We don't want to have another PPP union running our airlines.