Peshawar administration bans export of beef, poultry to Afghanistan
ALI AKBAR — UPDATED about 11 hours ago
WHATSAPP
2 COMMENTS
PRINT
5592cb0a25e5d.jpg

The district government says those found in violation of the order will be dealt as violators of section 144.– AFP/File photo
PESHAWAR: The district administration of Peshawar on Tuesday imposed a ban on the export of poultry and cattle to Afghanistan to check skyrocketing meat prices in the holy month of Ramazan.

According to a circular issued from Peshawar Deputy Commissioner Riaz Khan Mehsud’s office, the ban on export of chicken and beef to Afghanistan has been imposed for a month under section 144 of the Criminal Procedure Code.

The circular reads that those found in violation of the district government’s order will be dealt as violators of section 144.

Peshawar’s district administration claims the decision to ban meat exports was taken in order to bring down climbing prices of poultry and beef in the provincial capital.

Illegal export of mutton, beef, chicken and live animals to Afghanistan has been going on for decades, often impacting the local market, especially on occasions such as Eidul Azha and Ramazan.

@Horus, @rockstar08, @WAJsal, @Junaid B, @Pomegranate, @Color_Less_Sky, @Zarvan, @xyxmt, @SipahSalar, @Bratva, @Stealth, @Rashid Mahmood,
@syedali73, @Leader, @DESERT FIGHTER, @Jazzbot, @Spring Onion, @chauvunist,
@Pakistan Shaheen, @karakoram, @syedali73, @rockstar08, @haviZsultan, @Gufi @Muhammad Omar, @graphican, @Gazi, @Donatello, @Hyperion, @Pak_Sher, @Sage,

@Shamain @Azad-Kashmiri @friendly_troll96

The world is moving towards free trade and market access to its products while the protectionists create artificial walls to stop free exchange of goods and services. Instead of providing loans to start more poultry and dairy farming to create jobs and exports the KPK government is taking wrong economic steps.

I'm pretty sure this is a temporary step. A lot of people in Pakistan hike prices in Ramadhan there's no gradual transition it artificially jumps on on the first day of Ramadhan.

Free trade is great but you have to plan for that and usually it's gradual. You can not have extra poultry pop up tomorrow. First that's impossible then there's maintenance and land required.

Closet afghani spoke up.

Pakistan should have enough of it to meet Afghanistan needs as well. Win win situation. But should be done through legal channels and not smugling.

Closet afghani spoke up.

That is the extent of you intellectual abilities !

Ban all exports ( smuggling ) to Afghanistan for 2 - 5 years. Ensure any export that does happen, happens through measured quantities and legal posts.

You want India to dominate Afghan consumer market ? Why not Pakistan build more industry to earn foreign exchange. We already have high trade deficit and unemployment.

let them dominate poultry and food through the sea and charabar port.

I will see how expensive it is.

Excellent step.

Ban all exports ( smuggling ) to Afghanistan for 2 - 5 years.

Ensure any export that does happen, happens through measured quantities and legal posts.

Solution is to have more poultry farms to meet local demand and exports as well.

I support the beef ban but poultry ban should only be temporary

pointing out wat looks obvious
How india??????? Pak gave no land routes. Let iran get the share. Who cares , after all its all smuggling back of goods to pakistan

let them dominate poultry and food through the sea and charabar port. I will see how expensive it is.

The failed Afghan policy has now created anti-Afghan sentiment from bitter people who always disregard Pakistan's long term interests.

How india??????? Pak gave no land routes. Let iran get the share. Who cares , after all its all smuggling back of goods to pakistan

Countries have policies to increase employment and exports through industrialization and small businesses. But short sighted emotional people can't see the big picture. You want Afghanistan to be totally dependent on Pakistan ? No wonder Pakistan loses friends in Afghanistan !

I support the beef ban but poultry ban should only be temporary
Keu murghi pay aitraz keu nahi?
Lagta hai kisi nay bhi news nah parhee ghor say

"the ban on export of chicken and beef to Afghanistan has been imposed for a month under section 144 of the Criminal Procedure Code."