PDF Doctors- need urgent guidance-

. . . . .
AKUH in Karachi
NICVD in Karachi

Call them up first, and try to get hold of a specialist, explain the situation and ask them for advice.

All the best for the new born!

Hi

Last week my cousin had a premature baby in 32-33 weeks-
its been almost 4 days and the doctors now have diagnosed him with Patent Ductus Arteriosus-
which means his blood vessels the Ductus Arteriosus is not naturally closing which should have been closed by now as is common in new born babies-

The doctors have recommended Surgery-
I want to know what good hospitals we have in Pakistan- Lahore or any where else-
which hospital has most qualified doctors to perform such surgery-
what are the chances?-

Kindly all of you help me out-

@S.U.R.B. @Manticore @halupridol @gslv

any other doctors you may know in PDF kindly tag them in-
your help will be highly appreciated-

Jazak Allah Khair-

Edit: i am out consulting a local surgeon friend- yours opinions will be highly valuable as well- will be back in few hours- Thank You-

I hope he will have a speedy recovery soon inshAllah.

My advise is to take second and third opinion from well known paediatric consultants/surgeons in the field then of course after Allah, rely on what they say. Management in pretetm babies is a bit different so keep in mind that advice of two consultants might vary. For instance one might go for conservative management first and the other might advocate surgery first. Both are right. Regarding hospitals, NICVD and Agha Khan have been recommended. Also check Tabba heart institute Karachi out. If you PM me, I can tell who to contact to discuss the case. Allah shifa de!

hey,,antibody is a pretty cool name...
even I was thinking of ANTIGEN for nick,but chose haloperidol
Nope you should 've named yourself after a lentivirus which causes immunodeficiency syndrome of highest order :ph34r:
Dont name that disease here.:lol:

If baby is preterm as in this case Indomethacin or ibuprofen is adviced . If baby is not preterm and PDA do not closes in first week of life it requires surgical intervention usually ligation and division of ductus is carried out..
If PDA is large then closure is necessary to prevent complications .
If you want some cardiac consultaion then AFIC ( armed forces institute of cardiology ) is a good choice in Rawalpindi .

If baby is preterm as in this case Indomethacin or ibuprofen is adviced . If baby is not preterm and PDA do not closes in first week of life it requires surgical intervention usually ligation and division of ductus is carried out..
If PDA is large then closure is necessary to prevent complications .
If you want some cardiac consultaion then AFIC ( armed forces institute of cardiology ) is a good choice in Rawalpindi .

For congenital cardiovascular abnormalities, NICVD is better than AFIC.