PDF Doctors- need urgent guidance-

Hi

Last week my cousin had a premature baby in 32-33 weeks-
its been almost 4 days and the doctors now have diagnosed him with Patent Ductus Arteriosus-
which means his blood vessels the Ductus Arteriosus is not naturally closing which should have been closed by now as is common in new born babies-

The doctors have recommended Surgery-
I want to know what good hospitals we have in Pakistan- Lahore or any where else-
which hospital has most qualified doctors to perform such surgery-
what are the chances?-

Kindly all of you help me out-

@S.U.R.B. @Manticore @halupridol @gslv

any other doctors you may know in PDF kindly tag them in-
your help will be highly appreciated-

Jazak Allah Khair-

Edit: i am out consulting a local surgeon friend- yours opinions will be highly valuable as well- will be back in few hours- Thank You-
Wishing lil one a speedy recovery.. Insha'Allah

What Is Patent Ductus Arteriosus?

Patent ductus arteriosus (PDA) is a heart problem that affects some babies soon after birth. In PDA, abnormal blood flow occurs between two of the major arteries connected to the heart. These arteries are the aorta and the pulmonary (PULL-mun-ary) artery.

Before birth, these arteries are connected by a blood vessel called the ductus arteriosus. This blood vessel is a vital part of fetal blood circulation.

Within minutes or up to a few days after birth, the ductus arteriosus closes. This change is normal in newborns.

In some babies, however, the ductus arteriosus remains open (patent). The opening allows oxygen-rich blood from the aorta to mix with oxygen-poor blood from the pulmonary artery. This can strain the heart and increase blood pressure in the lung arteries.

patent_ductus.jpg

Figure A shows a cross-section of a normal heart. The arrows show the direction of blood flow through the heart. Figure B shows a heart with patent ductus arteriosus. The defect connects the aorta and the pulmonary artery. This allows oxygen-rich blood from the aorta to mix with oxygen-poor blood in the pulmonary artery.

Go to the "How the Heart Works" section of this article for more details about how a normal heart works compared with a heart that has PDA.

Overview
PDA is a type of congenital (kon-JEN-ih-tal) heart defect. A congenital heart defect is any type of heart problem that's present at birth.

If your baby has a PDA but an otherwise normal heart, the PDA may shrink and go away. However, some children need treatment to close their PDAs.

Some children who have PDAs are given medicine to keep the ductus arteriosus open. For example, this may be done if a child is born with another heart defect that decreases blood flow to the lungs or the rest of the body.

Keeping the PDA open helps maintain blood flow and oxygen levels until doctors can do surgery to correct the other heart defect.

Outlook
PDA is a fairly common congenital heart defect in the United States. Although the condition can affect full-term infants, it's more common in premature infants.

On average, PDA occurs in about 8 out of every 1,000 premature babies, compared with 2 out of every 1,000 full-term babies. Premature babies also are more vulnerable to the effects of PDA.

PDA is twice as common in girls as it is in boys.

Doctors treat the condition with medicines, catheter-based procedures, and surgery. Most children who have PDAs live healthy, normal lives after treatment.

FOR MORE DETAILS: What Is Patent Ductus Arteriosus? - NHLBI, NIH

. . . . .
Mujhay tou aysa koi impression nai mila just the other day I was going gaga over the cute eagle (pata nai konsa bird of prey hai but it always reminds me of the eagle, hawk, kite that we had...was too small to care which one it was) in @chauvunist display pix :angel:

:lol: I think he talked about his studies, being busy or something and that related to medicine. so I am quite sure that he is... @chauvunist hana lala?

In most cases it closes spontaneously but if it doesn't then first is conservative approach with drugs like Indomethacin or ibuprofen if it fails then Interventional options are cardiac catheterization or if the Infant is not fit for this procedure(too underweight) then surgical repair...

Mujhay tou aysa koi impression nai mila just the other day I was going gaga over the cute eagle (pata nai konsa bird of prey hai but it always reminds me of the eagle, hawk, kite that we had...was too small to care which one it was) in @chauvunist display pix :angel:

My DP represents a Fighter and Commando Eagle,Not an innocent or innocuous Bird...:tsk:

Why are docs on this forum soo...shy and chup chup? :unsure:

The docs in my family are crazy people like @Manticore (though he is emo) and @Emmie :p:

My DP represents a Fighter and Commando Eagle,Not an innocent or innocuous Bird...:tsk:
Well, I was too young to know what my bird was and well it too was still a chick (just few mths old) to know what it would become when it grew up...Innocent tou usko hona para...he was with a little kid (me) :dirol:

Who cares if it is innocent or not...its cute :wub: ...end of story :p: