Pakitan bankrupt power sector

THE government has extracted concessions worth several hundred billion rupees in future payments to the 47 independent power producers (IPPs) set up between 1990 and 2013 by forcing their hand but the ‘deal’ has left a bad taste in the mouths of their investors.

The government has secured the lucrative deal in exchange for promises of payment of Rs403 billion it owes to the IPPs. What makes the bargain sweeter for the government is the fact that it will pay only a third of the amount in cash; the remainder will be disbursed equally in 10-year bond and 5-year Sukuk. The power producers will get 40 per cent of their money upfront after signing ‘binding agreements’ revising the terms of their original power purchasing agreements and the rest in six months.

This is not all. Instead of paying cash, the government has extended contracts of 12 IPPs in exchange for an award of Rs92bn won by them in an international arbitration a few years ago. “This alone will save us Rs32bn since the extension in contracts will cost the government around Rs60bn,” Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on power Tabish Gauhar told Dawn by telephone.

Moreover, the new revised agreements have a binding force for the IPPs, but will not be so much obligatory for the government as it retains the right to order forensic audit of their bills if and when it feels like. “The forensic audit option is there,” Mr Gauhar said. “It’ll be a major exercise and can have detrimental effects on (future) investments but it is a decision the government can take any time.”

Background interviews with senior executives of three power companies suggest that the IPPs may have been coerced into agreeing to new power purchasing agreements. They were unanimous in alleging that the government had used the Mohammad Ali Inquiry Committee report on the IPPs to build a case against the power producers and later force them into signing memorandums of understanding. “The threats of corruption inquiries and public humiliation through media trial are enough for a businessman to give in to the pressure from the government,” one of them said.

Khalid Mansoor, chief executive officer of Hubco, who was part of the process of negotiations, didn’t say anything when asked if the government had applied any kind of pressure on them to secure the deal from the IPPs. “This isn’t a deal. We have (voluntarily) given the government concessions for the stability of the power sector and the country and demanded nothing in return. The money they’ve agreed to pay us is ours and has been stuck with the government for the last many years,” he told this reporter from Karachi by telephone.

“We’ve given up Rs836bn in our profits (over a period of next 20 years) and we are still labelled as thieves and plunderers,” he said, pointing to the local arbitration ordered (under the agreement) on an amount of Rs53bn, which the government insists the 12 IPPs have received in excess payments. He said the concessions given by the IPPs would have an impact of Rs1.5 per unit of electricity.

Conversations with energy sector analysts suggest new contracts will significantly shrink future earnings of the IPPs after the removal of the dollar indexation from their returns (on equity), which was one of the main attractions for investors, and downward revision of their returns. “I see earnings of these IPPs shrinking at worst or stagnating at best,” one analyst said.

“The agreed changes in their power purchasing agreements will have a negative impact on the IPPs. The only positive for these companies is the settlement of their long overdue, unpaid bills, which are expected to alleviate liquidity pressures on them and reduce their reliance on borrowings to fund their operations.”

The agreements will cover 53 IPPs with a total capacity of around 8,000 megawatts or nearly 23pc of the installed generation in the country. “The agreements with the remaining six IPPs, including Kapco and Uch, will be signed in a few days as their foreign sponsors are not available at the moment,” Mr Gauhar said. The government owes them nearly Rs90bn in unpaid bills.

“Without going into a debate whether the agreements with the IPPs are fair or not, expensive or not, these are contractual dues of the power companies we are paying them. We have not given them an NRO. We have swallowed a ‘bitter pill’ but secured relief in return,” he argued

The agreements are part of the government strategy to resolve the issue of power sector circular debt. Mr Gauhar said the agreements with the IPPs would help reduce the existing circular debt stocks of Rs2.3 trillion — which includes Rs1tr parked with the state-owned power holding company and part of the public debt — down to Rs1.9tr.

“So once IPPs’ dues are paid, we will be left with circular debt stock of about Rs900bn with about Rs600bn to be paid to state-owned Gencos and around Rs200bn to the CPEC projects,” the SAPM added.

He also listed various measures the government is taking for the resolution of the power debt build-up in future by reforming the Discos to reduce their losses, encouraging electricity consumption to use large idle generation to cut capacity payments and so on.

He agreed that the power projects set up under the 2015 policy under or outside of the CPEC initiative were the bigger elephant in the room and said: “If we somehow succeed in convincing these companies to agree to the same terms we have offered the older IPPs, it will result in savings of Rs6,500bn-7,000bn over a period of 30 years.” But, he added, it was a sensitive matter (because it involved Chinese power companies and banks) and had to be settled by governments of Pakistan and China.”

The management of the IPPs and sector analysts are unanimous that the way the government has forced the power producers to agree to revise their contracts will have a long-term impact on investments in the power sector. “It will have negative fallout on future investments. The future investors might not find investments in future power projects economically viable after all (since the governments here cannot stick to the original agreements),” Khalid Mansoor argued.

If the past experience is anything to go by, the risk premium on energy projects will increase after this deal. But, of course, that will be in future. For now, the government appears to be in a celebratory mood.

The power sector is the foundation of an economy. Red alert: Pakistan’s power sector – sans government subsidies – is bankrupt. The real culprit behind this bankruptcy is: gross misgovernance. This gross misgovernance shows up as: circular debt and capacity payments (the two are indeed related).

Circular debt has risen from Rs1.1 trillion in 2018 to Rs2.4 trillion – and is projected to hit Rs4 trillion by 2025. Capacity payments – payments made for not utilising the installed power capacity – have gone up from Rs664 billion to Rs900 billion, and are projected to hit Rs1.5 trillion a year in the next couple of years. Imagine, capacity payments amount to 3 percent of Pakistan’s GDP. Lo and behold, circular debt is projected to hit a worrisome 8 percent of GDP.

Pakistan’s energy is both dirty and expensive – and the government is bent upon adding more of the same. The culprits behind dirty energy are the coal-fired plants. And the two culprits behind expensive energy are: the government’s failure to stop theft and the expensive Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs) with the Independent Power Producers (IPPs).

Pakistan’s energy is not only dirty and expensive but we have too much of it too. For the record, current summertime and wintertime peak demand hovers around 25,000MW and 12,000MW, respectively. What we have – installed as well as in the pipeline – is 38,000MW. There are two problems with the installed capacity. One, the current transmission and distribution infrastructure cannot transmit and distribute 38,000MW. Two, the economy that was growing by 5.8 percent in 2018 has gone into a nose-dive.

Some energy projects under CPEC are quite expensive. Of the 10,000MW capacity under CPEC 65 percent is coal-fired. Currently, Pakistan’s obligations under capacity payments to Chinese financed energy projects stand at around Rs400 billion a year, every year. Lo and behold, in the next couple of years this amount will go up to Rs800 billion a year, every year.

Pakistan’s policy framers have just blundered through a coal-heavy power expansion whereby 64 percent of our electricity is now from fossil fuels, 27 percent hydropower, 5 percent nuclear and only 4 percent from solar and wind. The good news is that Pakistan has shelved two coal power plants.

Reform or regress. To be sure, the government of Pakistan has almost no capacity to reform. The two tools that the government seems to possess are: subsidies and one tariff increase after another. Over the past decade or so, the government has doled out more than a trillion rupees in subsidies and an additional half a trillion to K-Electric. The power sector is bankrupt – sans government subsidies. Yes, we have a national Electric Vehicle (EV) policy to reduce the impact of climate change but 64 percent of our electricity is from fossil fuels.

Pakistan’s power sector is dirty, expensive and bankrupt. Imagine trying to build an economy on a foundation that is bankrupt. We urgently need a paradigm shift. We urgently need a brand new model. The ‘single buyer’ model has failed-failed miserably. We need a more competitive model. To be certain, Pakistan’s power sector will make or break Pakistan’s economy. Red alert: A bankrupt power sector will, sooner or later, lead Pakistan into a default.

The writer is a columnist based in Islamabad.

Email: farrukh15@hotmail.com Twitter: @saleemfarrukh

2.5 years of PTI

nothing done to alleviate this issue

as of today, capacity payment tarriffs stand .

change my mind .
Much of the population doesn't pay anything against electricity. Many villages in Sindh enjoy it, while not paying anything. Many parliamentarians don't pay anything against electricity. Thousands of electricity company employees sell the electricity illegally and collect money from consumers. This money goes in their pocket(of course the chain gets this money) . And not to mention corrupt mafias like abraj group aka K electric and their accomplices within Imran cabinet.
Pakistan main 1000 tak aisy log Hain jinko line main khara kerky goli marna paryga, or takreeban itnon ko hi bad main goli Marni parygi. 2 Sal ki sakht qanoon sazi or idara sazi hogi. InshaAllah sb set ho jaeyga.
Nai Mar sakty goli? :lol: :pakistan:

Indians derailing the thread,
and what are we doing?

why calling them not to derail it?
why calling moderators to stop or block them?

can't we preform this duty ourselves?
can't we stop replying them?

there are here for this filth or what else do you expect?
perform your own duty and do not reply them.

The power sector is the foundation of an economy. Red alert: Pakistan’s power sector – sans government subsidies – is bankrupt. The real culprit behind this bankruptcy is: gross misgovernance. This gross misgovernance shows up as: circular debt and capacity payments (the two are indeed related).

Circular debt has risen from Rs1.1 trillion in 2018 to Rs2.4 trillion – and is projected to hit Rs4 trillion by 2025. Capacity payments – payments made for not utilising the installed power capacity – have gone up from Rs664 billion to Rs900 billion, and are projected to hit Rs1.5 trillion a year in the next couple of years. Imagine, capacity payments amount to 3 percent of Pakistan’s GDP. Lo and behold, circular debt is projected to hit a worrisome 8 percent of GDP.

Pakistan’s energy is both dirty and expensive – and the government is bent upon adding more of the same. The culprits behind dirty energy are the coal-fired plants. And the two culprits behind expensive energy are: the government’s failure to stop theft and the expensive Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs) with the Independent Power Producers (IPPs).

Pakistan’s energy is not only dirty and expensive but we have too much of it too. For the record, current summertime and wintertime peak demand hovers around 25,000MW and 12,000MW, respectively. What we have – installed as well as in the pipeline – is 38,000MW. There are two problems with the installed capacity. One, the current transmission and distribution infrastructure cannot transmit and distribute 38,000MW. Two, the economy that was growing by 5.8 percent in 2018 has gone into a nose-dive.

Some energy projects under CPEC are quite expensive. Of the 10,000MW capacity under CPEC 65 percent is coal-fired. Currently, Pakistan’s obligations under capacity payments to Chinese financed energy projects stand at around Rs400 billion a year, every year. Lo and behold, in the next couple of years this amount will go up to Rs800 billion a year, every year.

Pakistan’s policy framers have just blundered through a coal-heavy power expansion whereby 64 percent of our electricity is now from fossil fuels, 27 percent hydropower, 5 percent nuclear and only 4 percent from solar and wind. The good news is that Pakistan has shelved two coal power plants.

Reform or regress. To be sure, the government of Pakistan has almost no capacity to reform. The two tools that the government seems to possess are: subsidies and one tariff increase after another. Over the past decade or so, the government has doled out more than a trillion rupees in subsidies and an additional half a trillion to K-Electric. The power sector is bankrupt – sans government subsidies. Yes, we have a national Electric Vehicle (EV) policy to reduce the impact of climate change but 64 percent of our electricity is from fossil fuels.

Pakistan’s power sector is dirty, expensive and bankrupt. Imagine trying to build an economy on a foundation that is bankrupt. We urgently need a paradigm shift. We urgently need a brand new model. The ‘single buyer’ model has failed-failed miserably. We need a more competitive model. To be certain, Pakistan’s power sector will make or break Pakistan’s economy. Red alert: A bankrupt power sector will, sooner or later, lead Pakistan into a default.

2.5 years of PTI

change my mind .

Farukh Saleem is the last person you would go for facts.

First is, this government cancelled all the projects which were not already under construction (coal / gas) thus saving country a lot of money, remember opposition claiming CPEC stalled?

You do realize majority of this capacity payment (900b in 2020-21) is CPEC IPP's. This is something we have to handle very carefully.

The thing they failed to do is hang the people who signed these contracts. I hope we do agree on this part.

Regarding IPP's before 2015, capacity payment is not the biggest contributor to deficit it was the dollar indexation and return on investment, and high cost of purchase agreement. They contribute only 23% of generation capacity as of this date, one could imagine where the bulk of capacity payment is coming from even now?. Regarding agreement there is concession on capacity payment as well, but they are not totally removed. Rs 80b saving is hard to achieve on just dollar indexation and guaranteed returns discount of around 2%.

Line losses is something which is dependent on DISCO's and yes a lot of work is happening and on top of it a lot of pressure is exerted as well, NEPRA previously adjusted 15% line losses in power tariff, now the target limit is reduced to 13% I think.

If you see the overall pattern of ratio of increase in circular debt to capacity payment in 2018 it stood at almost 1:1. Now it stands at 1:2. Since 2018 capacity payments have almost doubled yet the increase in circular debt is almost same 400-500b a year. That means there is a great deal of structural reforms undertaken ( this is before the recent tariff increase).

He agreed that the power projects set up under the 2015 policy under or outside of the CPEC initiative were the bigger elephant in the room and said: “If we somehow succeed in convincing these companies to agree to the same terms we have offered the older IPPs, it will result in savings of Rs6,500bn-7,000bn over a period of 30 years.” But, he added, it was a sensitive matter (because it involved Chinese power companies and banks) and had to be settled by governments of Pakistan and China.”

What does the above quoted part tell you? Who fucked up the power sector? And where does the majority of circular debt crisis stemming from? How delicate it is to handle given our bilateral relations?

2.5 years of PTI

change my mind .

You are very naive. PTI cannot do anything. They have already done , what they could do best.

The contracts signed by the thugs of PPP and PMLN are very damaging for Pakistan, with Sovereign guarantees. These contracts can not be cancelled by PTI.
Otherwise the situation would be the same what happened with the contract with Mussavi's company.
Pakistan would be sued in the UK and would end up paying huge damages and costs.

Lol as an Indian you creatures are last to comment on Pakistan....Indians hate African blacks but compared to same Africans, Indians are even worse....any wonder you are less happy than we Pakistanis. :lol:

More of world's poor live in India than in all sub-Saharan Africa, says study

Hate going up, happiness down; India way behind Pakistan, Nepal in happiness index

such a poor response, we are talking about pakistan's bankruptcy but you took it to another level, but still you can call others a headless chicken.... LoL.

you are not in control of this situation, and pakistan is again going to IMF for another loan. looks like another year with shame in store.

im copying the same image that i posted above for you to ponder upon and then come with a better response... this is one free chance from me.
1615204904990.png

and yes, happiness index... here is much recent one...

i really really hope to see a better reply... so think much much harder

Farukh Saleem is the last person you would go for facts.
That guy is true patwari
You are very naive. PTI cannot do anything. They have already done , what they could do best.

The contracts signed by the thugs of PPP and PMLN are very damaging for Pakistan, with Sovereign guarantees. These contracts can not be cancelled by PTI.
Otherwise the situation would be the same what happened with the contract with Mussavi's company.
Pakistan would be sued in the UK and would end up paying huge damages and costs.
Pakistani think you can **** and noone needs to clean it

Or worse IK needs to clean faster or they will **** more

On the topic
We will have to wait & see what happens this yr. will the govt be ablw to privitize distribution faster and get solid contract rather then MoUs from IPPs

We would also need to figure out what are we going to do with excess power?
such a poor response, we are talking about pakistan's bankruptcy but you took it to another level, but still you can call others a headless chicken.... LoL.

you are not in control of this situation, and pakistan is again going to IMF for another loan. looks like another year with shame in store.

im copying the same image that i posted above for you to ponder upon and then come with a better response... this is one free chance from me.
View attachment 722898

You are behaving Like india never went to IMF
India metrics are pretty much the same as pakistan

Lastly this isnt a pakistan bankruptcy thread..you should make one bharat rakhsha

View attachment 722898

Sorry my bad, you are not behaving like a headless Chicken but rather you are indeed an Ostrich....who doesn't want to hear anything about own country . Damn this must be the most attention you ever got.
If you aren't keen to listen to your own shortcomings than better return to your echo chamber.

India top recipient of US economic aid

Read more at:
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...ofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

Sorry my bad, you are not behaving like a headless Chicken but rather you are indeed an Ostrich....who doesn't want to hear anything about own country . Damn this must be the most attention you ever got.
If you aren't keen to listen to your own shortcomings than better return to your echo chamber.

India top recipient of US economic aid

Read more at:
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...ofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

why dont you take few days off and decide once for all what you want to call me?

your poor replies are so boring that im not enjoying them....

posting an article which is six years old :rofl: :rofl: oh this is a desperate attempt to save face

1615214860810.png

if i have to remind you, this thread is about pakistan power sector and its pathetic state of affairs... try sending some pounds and save your country....

also you want to talk about pathetic state of affairs in pakistan railway?

open a new thread and we will talk...

come on gather yourself ... i give you one more chance to come out of posting useless threads of fallen Indian soldiers and talk on important topics...

Nobody care about country. You can promote these corrupt and what they do is to make you bankrupt. Big names with colorful ties, like there is nothing bigger than them in this country. These people know that if they go abroad, they will be driving taxi. This is reality of our country. Corrupt has been chosen above educated people. No place for merit and country is now facing immense pressure to change things. Nobody can change this system overnight but one can try.

why dont you take few days off and decide once for all what you want to call me?

posting an article which is six years old :rofl: :rofl: oh this is a desperate attempt to save face

View attachment 722964

if i have to remind you, this thread is about pakistan power sector and its pathetic state of affairs... try sending some pounds and save your country....

come on gather yourself ... i give you one more chance to come out of posting useless threads of fallen Indian soldiers and talk on important topics...
Yes it's about Pakistan so what is your concern or interest.....don't you have any issues in India, instead of wasting space make yourself useful, else don't cry when you get banned for trolling.
Your soldiers making videos complaining of food, committing suicides and your farmers making headlines around the world, China killed 20 of your soldiers captured hundred kilometres of your area and here you are talking like you belong to some superior race.....any wonder Justice Katju put a figure on your intelligence.

View attachment 722898

You are behaving Like india never went to IMF
India metrics are pretty much the same as pakistan

Lastly this isnt a pakistan bankruptcy thread..you should make one bharat rakhsha

Fo **** sake go open a indian thread on line loses and circular debt

Which stand at greater then 1.4 trillion rupees or twice of that we have in pakistan

Indian genco are also bankrupt and govt had to bail them out with 1.1 trillion rupees just yesterday

Atleast we are holding up the payments

================[====[=[=====≠======
Economic Survey 2020-21 flags high T&D losses in power sector
India's T&D losses have been over 20 per cent of generation, which is more than twice the world average. The ideal level of T&D losses ranges between six to eight per cent.
PTI January 30, 2021, 08:01 IST

New Delhi: India's transmission and distribution (T&D) losses in the power sector are "substantial" and are very high compared to peer nations, flagged the Economic Survey for 2020-21. The T&D losses represent electricity that is generated but does not reach intended customers.

India's T&D losses have been over 20 per cent of generation, which is more than twice the world average. The ideal level of T&D losses ranges between six to eight per cent.

According to the Central Electricity Authority's latest report of October, 2020 the T&D losses had declined to 20.66 per cent in 2018-19, from 21.04 per cent in 2017-18, and 21.42 per cent in 2016-17.

"T&D losses have been declining since 2001-02 but are still substantial. As compared to the T&D losses of the peer countries. India's T&D losses are very high," the survey stated.

The observation assumes significance in view of the stressed power sector because of cash strapped discoms which are finding it difficult to make timely payment for electricity supply by generation firms (gencos).

As per the Payment Ratification And Analysis in Power procurement for bringing Transparency in Invoicing of generators portal, the discoms' total outstanding to gencos stood at over Rs 1.39 lakh crore as of November 2020, which includes Rs 1.26 lakh crore of overdue amount.

The outstanding dues become overdue when discoms do not pay gencos for supply of power after 45 days of generation of the bills.

The huge overdue amount shows that there is a liquidity crunch with the discoms. In order to deal with the issue, the centre had announced a liquidity infusion package for discom with an outlay of Rs 90,000 crore which was later expanded to Rs 1.2 lakh crore.

The survey also said that the power sector has witnessed substantial transformation from both the demand (universal electrification) and supply-side (the advent of green energy).

Commendable progress has been made in the generation and transmission of electricity in India, it said adding that the total installed capacity has increased from 3,56,100 MW in March-2019, to 3,70,106 MW in March 2020.

Further, the generation capacity increased to 3,73,436 MW in October-2020, and comprised 2,31,321 MW of thermal, 45,699 MW of hydro, 6,780 MW of nuclear, and 89,636 MW of renewables and others.

The capacity addition in the power sector was mainly driven by the government in the year FY20, it added.

The decline in energy deficit may be partially attributed to enhanced energy efficiency and improved energy intensity in India, it observed.

Energy intensity is defined as the quantity of energy required to produce a unit of output. Therefore, lower the energy intensity, better it is.

The energy intensity of India (at 2011-12 prices) decreased from 65.6 toes per crore rupees in FY12 to 55.43 toes (tonnes of oil equivalent) per crore rupees in FY19.

At the same time, the per capita consumption increased from 0.47 toe in FY12 to 0.58 toe in FY19, it added.

In 2014, the central government approved the Integrated Power Development Scheme (IPDS) to facilitate state utilities to ensure quality and reliable 24x7 power supply in the urban areas with a total outlay of Rs 32,612 crores.

So far, projects worth Rs 30,991 crores have been sanctioned to the states and the distribution strengthening has been completed in 442 of the 546 circles till the end of September-2020, it observed.

Further, the country has already accomplished two major landmarks in the rural electrification arena. Firstly 100 per cent village electrification under Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Joyti Yojana, and secondly universal household electrification under 'Pradhan Mantri Sahaj Bijli Har Ghar Yojana' (Saubhaagya).

View attachment 722964

====
1 lakh crore is 1 trillion rupees or 2 trillion pakistani rupees

Atleast most of power is clean not dirty coal

Yes it's about Pakistan so what is your concern or interest.....don't you have any issues in India, instead of wasting space make yourself useful, else don't cry when you get banned for trolling.
Your soldiers making videos complaining of food, committing suicides and your farmers making headlines around the world, China killed 20 of your soldiers captured hundred kilometres of your area and here you are talking like you belong to some superior race.....any wonder Justice Katju put a figure on your intelligence.

two important things happened here
1. you decided not to call me names
2. you agreed this thread is about pakistan

good start... lets consolidate on this...

pakistani power sector and its railways are in dire straits and it needs immediate revival. we have lots of issues in India as well.... but when i see that some people here posting them and taking lots of interest when your country is in (again) dire straits i decide to show some mirror.

making myself useful??? i'll tell you, im making good use of my knowledge and money for my country,

i'm earning plenty and paying my taxes on time,...
following law of the land in each country that i visited in last 10 years and spreading awareness about India and our culture....
voting in each election and bringing prime minister like Modi to power....
also making significant contribution to government by donations ...
raising funds for/ teaching to underprivileged children....
making sure that each anti India voice is dealt with...
and finally (most important) im living in India to make it better place for coming generations...