Pakistan's External debt surpasses historic high of $122billion

View attachment 780930

That is a exceptional performance.

More than $10b are in our reserves. ( Net increase in reserves)

We paid almost $10- $12b in interest payments in 3 years. ( High debt payments, with a classic debt trap).

Rest is for all the assorted. e.g.

Funding against projects by WB ADB.
Managing CAD, currency stabilisation etc

This is what a significantly better model gets you primarily with market based currency.

Had we been prudulent like this a decade ago, our economy would be in a lot better shape.

This is why I feel the forum is just filled with uneducated media cell political posters who barely understand economy.

To the Indian poster Pakistan overall debt to GDP ratio has gone below India. Correct me if I am wrong for the first time 😂

External debt is not a problem as long as Debt to GDP ratio kept in check, From last year to current year Our debt to gdp have improved from 87% to 81% , (its still high) and need to be less than 70%

Is it better than it was in 2018 under PML?

INDIAPOSITIVE mian, let us not worry about Pakistan's economy but focus on these :

anti nacional!

mitrrrunnn lynch this Modi g ka gaddar!
on topic!

wou khan sabh na kaha tha mian sanp sey paisay nikalain gey! zardari sey bhi lakin fauji boys nay mian ko nikal dia aur zardari say partnership karli!

who to blame? Alpha Mafia aka dha inc or IK?

View attachment 780930
Out of which how much we paid back loan which nawaz has taken

You can fool patwaris not us.

If only Indians took their bad news as well.......Instead of which they will make up excuses and chant MODI MODI MODI. Then go onto gang rape and no toilets.

India has thousands of newspapers in tens of languages and Hundreds of tv channels all competing to report the most sensational, lurid, eye-popping news to keep their readerships.

So examples of suicides in UK (pop 65 Million) . Suicides, 18 per day. And using one example of such a suicide and pretend something very terrible is happening in UK would be to deliberately twist to disinform.

Indias pop 1400 Million. There will be suicides in India as elsewhere in the world, including Pakistan. Every suicide is a tragedy, as is the attempt to portray such incidents to malign a country or pretending something unique is taking place.

A child died from a genetic disease that has no cure anywhere in the world. This is portrayed as India's failure . AGAIN POP 1400 MILLION.

THAT'S 6.2 PAKISTANS in one country

PMLN took loans from 54 billion to 92 billion at the end of their tenure. Where were you at that time? Who is suppose to make interest payments and repayments on loans with mere 8 billion in reserves. PTI paid 12 billion in first in loans and interest payments in first year and ever since they are paying 10 billion every year. That too after PMLN left country with 20 billion in deficit.

India has thousands of newspapers in tens of languages and Hundreds of tv channels all competing to report the most sensational, lurid, eye-popping news to keep their readerships.

So examples of suicides in UK (pop 65 Million) . Suicides, 18 per day. And using one example of such a suicide and pretend something very terrible is happening in UK would be to deliberately twist to disinform.

Indias pop 1400 Million. There will be suicides in India as elsewhere in the world, including Pakistan. Every suicide is a tragedy, as is the attempt to portray such incidents to malign a country or pretending something unique is taking place.

A child died from a genetic disease that has no cure anywhere in the world. This is portrayed as India's failure . AGAIN POP 1400 MILLION.

THAT'S 6.2 PAKISTANS in one country
I have no doubt that there are stupid lurid headlines in various media. However I question the purpose of an Indian national coming to a pakistani forum and posting this in a " I am superior" tone. Sad little posters like him need to take their small dick energy elsewhere.
There are no doubt erudite, eloquent Indians out there but they get drowned out by the small brained ,small dick bigots.

Under the current IMF program, short-term loans were to be replaced with longer-term ones, thereby improving debt sustainability. If we can convert the significant chunk of our debt stock into long term ones, our ability to repay the debt without burdening the budget too much would improve manifold, which means more funds for developmental funding, which in turn means higher growth which in turn would result in lowering down the debt to GDP ratio.

I think you did not like the news. Quite understandable.

Why should I like or not like the news ? And why should you not talk of the artificial and very avoidable socio-economic tragedies in India that I pointed out ?

The committee was told that more than $22.37 billion was borrowed from international financial institutions for 124 projects.

Now this part is interesting. I was concerned that PTI government might have taken out loans to plug budge deficits. But this article suggest that they borrowed $22.37 billion for '124 projects'. Our budget deficit is no more than $3 billion per year so I was wondering what was this extra financing for?

This $22.37 billion is almost 1/3 of total CPEC cost. Does anyone has any knowledge of what those projects might be?

And I am also curious if government is willing to finance $22.37 billion for 124 projects, then why ML-1 is not approved. ML-1 needs only $6-$9 over 6 years, so roughly $1.4 billion per year.

To the Indian poster Pakistan overall debt to GDP ratio has gone below India. Correct me if I am wrong for the first time 😂
The devil is in the details. Majority of India's debt are incurred by Indian corporations. Our government debt is lower than your entire debt and most importantly we can afford to have the debt and get more borrowings with easier constraints because of our ext credit rating. That is the risk of declaring bankruptcy is low and will pay back the debt incurred.

External debt is not a problem as long as Debt to GDP ratio kept in check, From last year to current year Our debt to gdp have improved from 87% to 81% , (its still high) and need to be less than 70%

Exactly. Also it's important to know what the debt is being taken on for. As long as it's spend re-financing onto better terms, or by developing infrastructure or projects that will help enable revenue generation - then it's no bad thing.