Pakistani Models And Actresses

Mehwish Hayat
28278964_730583213810983_8585357843824169013_n.jpg

@django @jamahir @Hell hound
Is she getting hotter or what?

What we did and didn't like from Ayesha Omar's New York Fashion Week looks

The red pants can stay but those slouchy boots and shiny trench coat aren't doing her any favours

5a8a9def642ae.jpg

Fishnet heels are edgy, they're on-trend; Just don't pair 'em with leather pants AND fur (faux we hope!), that's overkill. (R)
If you're feeling some work envy, we don't blame you; Ayesha Omar has been rubbing shoulders with Hollywood's top models in New York as Maybelline Pakistan's official spokesperson.

This is the first time a celebrity from Pakistan has been invited to attend New York Fashion Week and meet its international ambassadors along with global fashion industry icons as part of the Maybelline New York Global Family. As Bruno Mars would say, "she's living it up in the city!"

But we have a bone to pick with her. As pictures from her time in the Big Apple started to pour in on Instagram, we noticed that she had made some...questionable sartorial choices. The Bulbulay actress usually has her style game together and has a great physique but she is petite; maybe drowning her frame in bulky trench-coats, slouchy boots or a leg-shortening midi dress wasn't the best idea.

We dissected her looks to find items we thought were cool — and some we think she should ditch.

Keep: Red pants with white stripes
5a8a8f9bcb238.jpg

Wide-leg trousers work for petite girls as they elongate your legs
Talking to her stylist behind this particular look, Rao Ali Khan shares, "The first look was a fun crop top with poofy sleeves and red trousers. I thought it would make Ayesha look taller and will compliment her body."

We really believe denim is the devil so we're all for coloured pants and wide-leg trousers, like the ruby ones Ayesha wore. They're comfortable and they make a statement. However, we really weren't fans of the complete look. We think she would have looked way better had she opted for a form-fitting sleeveless crop-top and maybe a smaller bag. Speaking of bags...

Ditch: Big bags
5a8a903d4aca9.jpg

Seriously, these are bordering on mom bags...
The oversized everything rule has dominated the accessories game for a while but that seems to be over now. Iconic designer bags are great but their bite-sized version look much better when you're going out for a night on the town and looking for something a little dressier.

5a8ab4a11a887.jpg

Smaller cross-body bags like the Fendi Amo B carried (L) and the YSL Sadaf Kanwal opted for are convenient and cuter!

Keep: Fishnet heels
5a8a93cd0ddc1.jpg

Fishnet heels are unexpected,bold and chic when worn right!

They're edgy, they're on-trend; Just don't pair 'em with leather pants AND fur (faux we hope!), that's overkill.

Ditch: Slouchy boots
5a8a94e819799.jpg

Those boots have got to go girlfriend!
While dainty women have some limitations when it comes to clothing, shoes are where they can experiment with one exception: boots. Or over the knee boots to be exact. You really have to find the right fit and if you fail to do so, slouchy ones will just add width to your frame, making your legs look bigger and shorter.

Kylie Jenner wore similar Balenciaga purple boots and made it work; we think it's because the rest of her outfit didn't have much going on, not to mention they fit her like a glove.

5a8a9b68a9958.jpg

The white and purple combo definitely works better than the purple and black
Keep: Statement sunnies
5a8aa2a0c61a2.jpg

Keeping it shady

You can always count on cat-eye sunglasses to turn a casual outfit into a glam moment; it's a classic but has been reinvented in recent years with bolder designs and sharper wings. You can always count on a statement pair to cinch your whole outfit together and Ayesha Omar seems to know what's up.

Ditch: That shiny red leather trench coat
5a8aa19d78865.jpg

Not everything that shines is sartorial gold...

5a8ab7ea14129.jpg

Pakistani Celebrities At Lux Style Awards 2018 At Lahore

Lahore

never really fancied her a huge deal but Peshawar Zalmi did good gotta say that Mahira khan look f uckin HOT

The LSAs this year were a desi affair and they got us thinking... does eastern wear on the red carpet only translate to shaadi joras?

Mahira Khan, who chose a slinky black dress at the awards last year, wore bridals from Elan and Faraz Manan this time around. Hamza stayed true to his roots with his staple black shalwar kameez and Rabia Butt was all black errything in a Faraz Manan sari.

But... did the celebs desi style add more oomph to the red carpet or did they look out-of-place? Here's what we think.

Sajal Aly
5a8d35c32ae9d.png

Sajal Aly in an IVY Bridals ensemble.

Sajal Aly usually stays under the radar when it comes to red carpet looks. Last night, however, the actor chose to wear a bridal to the awards with the works (notice the jhumkas?). Sajal's white peshwas style ensemble from IVY Bridals was sweet and simple but it made her look like she was heading straight to a dholki after - we wish she'd wear something more fun and age-appropriate to award shows.

Urwa Hocane
5a8d3c4ee618d.png

Urwa wearing Mohsin Naveed Ranjha.

Is it a coat? Is it a kameez? Is it a dress?

We're trying hard to figure out Urwa was wearing last night... but.we.just.don't.know.what.it.is.

The Punjab Nahi Jaungi star wore a white embellished custom-made Mohsin Naveed Ranjha piece and we're just speechless. What is it even?

Mawra Hocane
5a8d449090e26.png

Mawra in Manish Malhotra.

In a first, Mawra ditched her princess-y ball gown look and chose a Manish Malhotra lehenga choli. Did it win us over? No. Could she have gotten rid of the drape? Yes.

But we give her props for trying something new.

Mahira Khan
5a8d35c32364d.png

Mahira Khan in Faraz Manan (left) and Elan (right).

Mahira Khan was an absolute stunner last year at the LSAs, we're afraid we can't say the same this time though. The Faraz Manan gharara belongs at a wedding, not the red carpet and the white Elan sari with the cape just did not work. Maybe if she let her luscious locks loose, we'd have spared her.

Sorry Mahira, we expect a lot from you in the style department.

Meera
5a8d45a363e7a.png

Meera in Saadia Mirza

This Saadia Mirza sari has too much going on; the silk, the embellishments don't work on Meera. Less is (always) more. We hope the veteran actor keeps that in mind for next time.

Amna Ilyas
5a8d480b82240.png

Amna Ilyas seen in Fahad Hussayn.

Amna Ilyas has a slender frame and long legs, had she chosen anything to accentuate her figure, we bet we would've loved it. But this Fahad Hussayn bridal didn't belong at the awards and was a misfit.

Rabia Butt
5a8d501b04cdc.png

Rabia Butt in Faraz Manan.

Rabia Butt's Faraz Manan sari at the LSAs is quite reminiscent of Deepika Padukone's sheer black Sabyasachi sari. Oops. The model could've perhaps worn more statement earrings or rings to complement the sari; the straight hair and tiny emerald studs did no favours to the dress.

Zhalay Sarhadi
5a8d493c4540f.png

Zhalay Sarhadi in Shamaeel Ansari.

Another bridal. Sigh. Zhalay wearing this Shamaeel Ansari number reminds us of weddings in 2014. It's time to update that wardrobe.

Uzma Hassan
5a8d4a679d17e.png

Uzma Hassan in Wasim Khan

The Arth star has a love for saris, and this mustard Wasim Khan had so much potential if only it didn't drown her and make her look twice her age. The bun was also a bad idea. Tsk.

Hadiqa Kiani
5a8d5e2a6d105.png

Hadiqa Kiani in grey shalwar kameez.

One to always dress young and hip, Hadiqa Kiani failed to impress last night. The grey shalwar kameez made the singer look old and frumpy; the loose pants are ill-fitted, the neckline gives her no breathing space and the tie-up around the waist fails to accentuate her curves.

1643611-kubra-1519464608-343-640x480.jpg

PHOTO: PUBLICITY

Rabia Khan, better known as Kubra Khan is more than what meets the eye. She’s the ebullient starlet who’s also a Motor Engineer with specialisation in Formula One. Following her comeback of sorts, in no time at all, she‘s built a formidable position for herself in the entertainment scene. In the last two years, she’s appeared in seven serials altogether, most of which have been with leading banners and were top-listing plays throughout their run on the small screens.

However, it wasn’t her foray into television that introduced us to the fresh-faced starlet. In fact, it was long before, in Fizza Ali Meerza and Nabeel Qureshi’s 2014 satire, Na Maloom Afraad (NMA), which saw Khan playing Mohsin Abbas Haider’s love-interest and the saviour of three hooligans trying to better their lives ending up in much absurdly punishing situations; post which, she was nowhere to be found in local productions for over two years.

thumbnail_img_5413-1519464326.jpg

kk-1519464262.jpg

klkjb-1519464529.jpg