Pakistani Air Force Chief rolls out F-16 to bombs Taliban himself.

More like he just wanted to 'feel' the Block 52!

And so very manly, bombing from 3 kms above the Earth!!

Firstly he wasn't flying the Block-52, secondly what's the regular pattern for a precision weapon delivery.
Besides before assuming command, i understand he was the head of operations, so carrying out a bombing run is exactly not a new experience for him. PAF requirement is that it's head should be also an active flyer hence the 23rd March flypast always lead by the serving chief. !!

Firstly he wasn't flying the Block-52, secondly what's the regular pattern for a precision weapon delivery.
Besides before assuming command, i understand he was the head of operations, so carrying out a bombing run is exactly not a new experience for him. PAF requirement is that it's head should be also an active flyer hence the 23rd March flypast always lead by the serving chief. !!

Thanks for the explanation my friend. But I believe it does not suit his stature, he should always be composed and purposeful.

After the APS horror, did General Sharif took the fight to the terrorists himself? His way is the wright way.

Your posts phrasing is idiotic but the jist of it might have some merit. The idiotic bit has to do with your nationality and the ingrained need to diss anything Pakistani whether as a start or as a reply.

But the core of it has some merit that perhaps one might object to the Air Chief not being in the best of shape to lead a combat mission. However, that goes against the requirement of Air Chiefs in the PAF who are generally fit to fly even at the late stages of their careers. In addition, he flew a fairly routine ground strike against an undefended target in generally friendly territory; hence, was not a demanding sortie that needed the best of the best.

So as a trade off from a morale point of view to the risks involved, the morale bit wins.
And most likely as a WSO (are our F-16 B/D special mission capable like those of Israeli and Singaporean Air Force's?) or simply as an observer in F-16 D.

The problem I have is that the NCO's are very capable and able bodied personal---they are extremely intelligent and devoted and have leadership qualities as well.

Don't get it wrong---American officers also lead from the front as well----they are right there in the thick of it----. But the american NCO handles a lot more and is more of a take charge position.

Just for a moment----take away the anger and dislike from your thinking---and understand---what more can you accomplish---if your NCO's start thinking and doing things that your Jr officers are doing---Leadership is not all about dying for the country.
Sir let me quote an example
My cousin was serving as a second lt. in a highly volatile region in a forward post.
He was fresh there straight from LIC school, now the "subedar sahab" on the said post had over 15 year of experience but still on the second day of his posting when they come under attack that subdedar comes running to a rookie 2nd lt and ask him "what should they do?" and he jokingly reply "what you always do"
Now the reason for quoting this event was that how can you hand over the comand of a platoon or a company to an NCO when they are running to officers and that too a 2 day rookie for so simple a task?

I think those are 750 pounders, the ones below are the bad boys you are talking about.

paf2_zps0ad1230c.jpg

Windy bhai mujhay tau yeh bhi chotay lug rahay hain I think the previous ones was 500lbs and these are 1000lbs LGBs where as 2000lbs are quiet a big ones almost 1.7 of its size huge.

My cousin was serving as a second lt. in a highly volatile region in a forward post.
He was fresh there straight from LIC school, now the "subedar sahab" on the said post had over 15 year of experience but still on the second day of his posting when they come under attack that subdedar comes running to a rookie 2nd lt and ask him "what should they do?" and he jokingly reply "what you always do"
Now the reason for quoting this event was that how can you hand over the comand of a platoon or a company to an NCO when they are running to officers and that too a 2 day rookie for so simple a task?
Subedars or JCO's are usually old chachas and not in a good shape. Their role is to act as a communication bridge between officers and soldiers, that rank was established by British to clear any confusions between angrez officers and local jawans, like Bangladesh, we should have abolished this rank a long time ago.
The fit man to lead a squad is an NCO, usually a sargeant or havildar not a JCO. And NCO's neither command platoons nor companies, officers command platoons and companies all over the world.

Subedars or JCO's are usually old chachas and not in a good shape. Their role is to act as a communication bridge between officers and soldiers, that rank was established by British to clear any confusions between angrez officers and local jawans, like Bangladesh, we should have abolished this rank a long time ago.
The fit man to lead a squad is an NCO, usually a sargeant or havildar not a JCO. And NCO's neither command platoons nor companies, officers command platoons and companies all over the world.
Well, I am of opinion that JCO rank should remain. I see these old roosters as experienced nursing staff helping doctors with everyday chores. Trust me, without these experience helping hands, doctors wont be able to cope with the pressure.

Thanks for the explanation my friend. But I believe it does not suit his stature, he should always be composed and purposeful.

After the APS horror, did General Sharif took the fight to the terrorists himself? His way is the wright way.
My dear, General Sharif visiting the troops in Waziristan and spending Eid with them was in same spirit as was the case when General Musharraf spent a night with the troops in Kargil sector.
Remember Nur Khan did it during full scale war. Anyways, I'm sure this was a one off mission.

Air Chief Marshal Sohail Aman boosts the morale of his troops by flying a ground support mission, in long tradition of all Pakistani Air Chiefs to be valid on the front line fighter. Bravo.

Your posts phrasing is idiotic but the jist of it might have some merit. The idiotic bit has to do with your nationality and the ingrained need to diss anything Pakistani whether as a start or as a reply.

But the core of it has some merit that perhaps one might object to the Air Chief not being in the best of shape to lead a combat mission. However, that goes against the requirement of Air Chiefs in the PAF who are generally fit to fly even at the late stages of their careers. In addition, he flew a fairly routine ground strike against an undefended target in generally friendly territory; hence, was not a demanding sortie that needed the best of the best.

So as a trade off from a morale point of view to the risks involved, the morale bit wins.

I have long given up to expect anything but a bigoted response from you, so wont react to idiotic bit in your post. But basically, leadership is not always about being at the front, specially in a war that is already being won. Risk-reward just doesnt compute.

And most likely as a WSO (are our F-16 B/D special mission capable like those of Israeli and Singaporean Air Force's?) or simply as an observer in F-16 D.
Probably as WSO. He might have flown the aircraft but I doubt that.

Some leaders are hands on, some aren't. Nothing too complicated.

Because he is programmed to seek orders----that he has a great respect and is duty bound to acknowledge his superior officer---even though the officer is green behind the ears.

This is also called trust that is ingrained in him to submit to the order of a 2 day old rookie on the job. Because what ever the Subedar Sahab is doing not for himself to seek the order---but is sending a message to all the troops letting them know WHO THE BOSS IS---and that is also a part of teaching that a Subedar / NCO goes thru---acknowledge and establish a chain of command immediately.

His job is to submit himself to the order given by the officer---and by default he is directing everyone else to submit to the will of the officer as well.

So---tell your cousin that he got a good man working under him.

Once you and Donnatelo were discussing same thing and I asked him, now asking you about that special mission part?

Windy bhai mujhay tau yeh bhi chotay lug rahay hain I think the previous ones was 500lbs and these are 1000lbs LGBs where as 2000lbs are quiet a big ones almost 1.7 of its size huge.

Tasveer main tau ef sola bhi meray haath jitna lg rha hay, yeh tau jo khaty hain koi un sey puchy k chotay hain ya bary

500 lbs:
CM8RVXOUYAAGZnq.jpg

2,000 lbs
:
paf2_zps0ad1230c.jpg