ASIA PACIFIC
Date Posted: 15-Nov-2010

Jane's Defence Weekly

Pakistan ready to hand Arabian Sea port to China

Farhan Bokhari JDW Correspondent - Islamabad

Pakistan is seeking to cancel a management contract with Singapore's PSA International for a Chinese-funded port in the northern Arabian Sea in what could be the first step towards transferring it to Beijing's control, a senior Pakistan government official told Jane's on 11 November.

Taking control of Gwadar port would give China a friendly deep-water facility on the edge of the world's busiest oil shipping lanes. Chinese control of Gwadar port would also give People's Liberation Army Navy (PLAN) vessels a safe haven in a friendly country in the Indian Ocean Region (IOR).

Though it may be several years before PLAN vessels regularly sail to the IOR, a senior Pakistani government official in Islamabad told Jane's : "China's access to control Gwadar will be the first step towards meeting long-term ambitions."

Cancelling the existing contract would be controversial, not least because PSA International signed a 40-year deal in 2007. Pakistani officials argue that PSA has failed to fulfil promises to develop the facility, which is about 700 km west of Karachi but only 80 km east of the Iranian border.

"We have detected lapses and therefore want to move ahead to formally consider cancelling this contract," said the official, who wished to remain anonymous, adding that a Chinese firm "will be the likely future operator of this facility. There are lots of interests that tie Pakistan and China together".

On 8 November a second senior official in Islamabad told Jane's that Pakistan expects China to invest "over the long term" in the "laying down of a railway line [and] a road network" to its border with northern Pakistan. These transport links would allow China to significantly reduce travel time for travellers and exports from its northern Xinjiang region to the Middle East, via Gwadar.

This summer, Pakistani naval officials revealed discussions with China over the joint development of future submarines, which if agreed would be the latest in a series of joint ventures. They include the F-22P frigate programme, the JF-17 Thunder aircraft, the Al-Khalid I main battle tank and development of an airborne early warning and control aircraft.

Pakistan is keen to purchase more submarines in response to what defence planners say is a growing threat to the country's interests in the IOR, where India has announced significant expansions to its naval facilities. Though Pakistan has sounded out French and German submarine manufacturers, financial constraints are believed to have hindered the signing of a deal. By contrast, China has a long-established record of extending generous loans to Pakistan.

Perhaps the article could be more provocatively worded? what do you think?
in what could be the first step towards transferring it to Beijing's control
Taking control of Gwadar port would give China
said the official, who wished to remain anonymous,

With the Darth Vader theme playing in the background - Angraiz Ki tau baat hi kuch aur hai

I find it strange that you guys are thrilled that your most important port is being 'Handed Over' to the Chinese, just because you hope it will be a thorn in India's side. Looks like surrender of sovereignty for imagined strategic gains is starting to become official policy- pehle US tha, aur abh China hai.:disagree:

:lazy: thank you. This should be none of bharti aka Indian business.

dont you think??

Perhaps the article could be more provocatively worded? what do you think?

With the Darth Vader theme playing in the background - Angraiz Ki tau baat hi kuch aur hai

:agree::agree: very right. They are sensing that Pakistan will prefer China over US hence they are carrying out psyops for making a case for US.

I find it strange that you guys are thrilled that your most important port is being 'Handed Over' to the Chinese, just because you hope it will be a thorn in India's side.

Come on yaar, get over yourselves - it's not about India, it's about Pakistan -- I know you are having a hard time understanding, but there are bigger fish and more important commercial considerations than India or the US

Giving another country a military base on your territory is simply-sad.
How is it about Pakistan muse? If it was to remain a commercial port with only Pakistani military presence, then PSA International would do just the same as any chinese port management company.

The objective over the long term as pointed out in the article is to have Chinese take the base.

Giving regular access to Chinese naval vessels to Gwadar port will increase friction in the region.

Chinese commercial vessels visit is OK.

Giving another country a military base on your territory is simply-sad.
How is it about Pakistan muse? If it was to remain a commercial port then PSA International would do just the same as any chinese port management company.

:) so all those countries who have given you bases are plain silly ?

It is very much about Pakistan. And uptill now India has been spreading their phobia about Gwadar saying it will give Pakistan and China a big military edge and suddenly now you are using all your force to convince us that its purely a commercial port and that hey its bad for Pakistan.

BTW its our internal issue whether bad or good thats our decision and who are Indians to get worried over our sovereignty ?

On second thoughts, this is actually good for Indian weapons procurement.

Increased Chinese presence in the region will force GoI to increase defence allocations and Indian navy acquisitions will be put on the fast track.

:) so all those countries who have given you bases are plain silly ?

They are countries who have compromised. Ideally no country wants to give its territory to another nation for military use.

Giving access to warships for repair is different from giving the base entirely to the Chinese-which is what the article hints at.

Giving regular access to Chinese naval vessels to Gwadar port will increase friction in the region.

Chinese commercial vessels visit is OK.

:no: what friction you are talking about? if you are worried as an Indian for Indian interests then we are very much having the same right to worry for our own Pakistani interests.

India is buying massive weapons, modernising Indian airforce, Indian navy is far ahead of Pakistan. In such a situation Pakistan should be working for its interests and there is no Love between the two already so there is no question of friction.

Above all India had done everything to counter Gawadar port (if you forgot chahbahar and all that investment in Iran/Afghanistan just for blocking Gawadar by India)

Malay

Gwadar was built primarily for commercial interests having to do with the transport and processing of energy -- if you get a chance check out the whole pipeline business -- it's about business -- don't get too caught up in this US "terror" mumbo jumbo, they are after the exact same thing, except they are gangsters who think they will roll us over, -- it's just business --- Resolve Kashmir and have Indian merchant ships and Navy pay good will visit - we'all all sing and dance -- think business

And by the way there are two other naval bases which the US navy continues to frequent, for now.

Come on yaar, get over yourselves - it's not about India, it's about Pakistan -- I know you are having a hard time understanding, but there are bigger fish and more important commercial considerations than India or the US

So you're saying that there isn't even a teensy-weensy ****-a-snook at India wrt Gwadar and China? Honestly?

Here's how this pans out IMO. You hand over Gwadar to the Chinese, Indian hawks start screeching "CHINESE BASE!!!" and IN gets a get out of jail free card, and lots more fancy toys.

Maybe we'll buy the UK super-carriers. Wow, actually that should be awesome. Overkill, but still awesome.

:no: what friction you are talking about? if you are worried as an Indian for Indian interests then we are very much having the same right to worry for our own Pakistani interests.

India is buying massive weapons, modernising Indian airforce, Indian navy is far ahead of Pakistan. In such a situation Pakistan should be working for its interests and there is no Love between the two already so there is no question of friction.

Above all India had done everything to counter Gawadar port (if you forgot chahbahar and all that investment in Iran/Afghanistan just for blocking Gawadar by India)

Well, offcourse, you have every right to think about yourself. No argument on that.

But its just about comfort levels.

Though India/China are increasing bilateral relations, but still there is some suspicion in both of them against each other.

Given China's strong military links with Pakistan, Increased Chinese military presence will call for Indian counter-measures in terms of buying more weapons and increased patrolling.