Pakistan offers training to Afghanistan army and police: Qureshi

Cool down m8!.Fighting fire with fire is not a good idea:).
This certainly is a well thought move to counter indian influence in afghanistan.Gotta wait and see how the Afghanis react to the offer.

You might be able to see the propaganda that India combined with West tried to show the world. What Pakistan is at 2% and India at 74% popularity? If India had been that popular in Afghanistan, why is that Pakistan offering bridge between the Government and People who are actually in power?

Just like USA, India had put all the eggs in the basket of Karazai, those Afghans who are particularly anti-Pakistan (Northen Alliance) forgetting that money or bullets cannot buy hearts. India has spent 5 billion dollars, USA has spent a trillion plus of it but what do you guys have in hand? A puppet President who cannot go out of his presidential palace boundries?

It is good to dream but it is equally important to have right resources to make them come true and history has brought USA/India at a stage where these dreams are about to shatter completely in less than a years time. Kabul is already under attack of Taliban and USA has no means to push them back. Are you reading writing on the wall yet?

I guess the majority will back it , unless the karzai wants to earn more from the drug business ...!

You might be able to see the propaganda that India combined with West tried to show the world. What Pakistan is at 2% and India at 74% popularity? If India had been that popular in Afghanistan, why is that Pakistan offering bridge between the Government and People who are actually in power?

So you are glad that pakistan is able to broker a deal with the terrorists and the Afghan govt?? Meaning they have enough influence with the terrorist organizations.. Hmmm...

Do you really think that the terrorists who hate US's guts will give up their old ways and anti US thought process when absorbed inthe mainstream. And what will happen when they make their next big move on the US?? Who do you think US will come calling on at that time?

Anyway, I think we are all getting ahead of ourselves. Remember it is less than a month when the same role was being envisaged for Indian forces and all the pakistani folks on this forum were up in frenzy and there was a talk of 2 front war and what not while Indian govt (not the folks on this forum though) was not at all reacting to that. These are early days and like always media plays up anything if they can not find something sustantial. Thats what they get paid for.. So as they say in Bollywood

Picture abhi baaki hai mere dost...

Induction of officers in our academies will give us better ties on institute level.
These things help facilitate a close cooperation environment which is a good thing.

However this time Pakistan should ensure that all is done in a controlled and transparent environment and Pakistan creates the right vibe.
We need to get the Afghan government to recognize the positive role of Pakistan in their history, we need the Afghan people to realize the same and also we need to convert this cooperation into viable bilateral trade agreements with the Afghan people.

We cannot just continue blindly on faith alone when many leaders in the state of Afghanistan have managed to create a negative perception about Pakistan which has become a very convenient bogey for their failures.
I completely understand this is what politicians do when they themselves do not want to own their mistakes, however it is of utmost importance that we tread carefully and take solid steps.
Our policy should be strong enough to be able to create a working relationship no matter who is in government.

I am very glad that Pakistan is already doing much in the way of help for common Afghans in education and health sectors, this should all be promoted more and more.

Well read the history books; Afghanistan is known for bandits, thieves, dacoits, criminals, drug traffickers, kidnapings for ransom, human trafficking and what not. It is not me who is calling Afghans barbarians, this word is used by people like Babur ad Amir Temur as well in their memoirs. Who was Mahmood Ghaznavi? A saint? or a looter who attacked on Indian subcontinent 17 times..for what? Surely these people have known Afghans better than any one else.

the same Turk Mahmoud Ghaznavie is always admired by you guys as a hero. stop naming your misiles after the theives and thugs. if you are not theif and thug you wont admire other thieves and thugs.

Indeed, Mahmood is admired by only those who are clueless about the history. If I were in-charge of the missile program, I would never name them after any human being let alone Ghaznavi.

I think the Afghans are going with India on this one.

What is Pakistan saying here ..... come we will train you by day ..... and when your "training" is done, by night we will send our Talibs across the border to test the skills we have taught you?

Theory bhi aur baad mein viva practicals bhi? Jiyo to pass, aur mar gaye to fail?

Give me a break with the common religion and people horsepoo PLEASE ..... the whole world knows how much love the Afghans have for their Pakistani "brothers."

Besides what will the Afghans stand to gain from Pakistanis in terms of military training? As proven fighters they are second to none in the world. With India they get access to latest military tech and tactics which the Pakistanis will be loath to share with them for obvious reasons.

Afghans know sooner rather than later they will go up against Pakistani forces .... in small skirmishes if not an all out war. The pakistanis know that too. That in itself puts Pakistan in the position of a less than neutral adversely-interested party. No such fear of getting shafted by India ..... in fact just the opposite in terms of shaft directionals.

Just as India uses its position in Afghanistan to neutralise Pakistan, so too does Afghanistan see interest in using its position with India in doing the same. The enemy of an enemy is a friend .....

Cheers, Doc

So you are glad that pakistan is able to broker a deal with the terrorists and the Afghan govt?? Meaning they have enough influence with the terrorist organizations.. Hmmm...

Do you really think that the terrorists who hate US's guts will give up their old ways and anti US thought process when absorbed inthe mainstream. And what will happen when they make their next big move on the US?? Who do you think US will come calling on at that time?

Anyway, I think we are all getting ahead of ourselves. Remember it is less than a month when the same role was being envisaged for Indian forces and all the pakistani folks on this forum were up in frenzy and there was a talk of 2 front war and what not while Indian govt (not the folks on this forum though) was not at all reacting to that. These are early days and like always media plays up anything if they can not find something sustantial. Thats what they get paid for.. So as they say in Bollywood

Picture abhi baaki hai mere dost...

First of all Afghanistan is our backyard, why the hell are you indians so obsessed with Afghanistan? The damn country has NOTHING in common with india!!!! You don't even border it!!

Secondly, no one, not even you indians know Afghanistan better than us! 35% of Pakistan's army is Pashtun, Pakistan has more Pashtuns than Afghanistan, and Pashtuns make up the majorit ethnic group in Afghanistan! Pakistan and Afghanistan are both Muslim countries! Whatever happens in Afghanistan, it directly affects Pakistan! Most Pakistanis share culture with Afghans!

So we have every damn right to be worried! But my question is, what the hell does Afghanistan have anything to do with india?

Thirdly, why the hell are you so upset about Pakistan helping to bring peace between Taliban and Karzai gov? Are you that much against peace in Afghanistan? Does it make you happy that innocent children, men, and women are suffering because of this war?

Even Americans have more remorse and pity for the Afghans than you warmongering indians! History has proven that your a sworn enemy of Afghans, you supported Soviet invasion, and now your against a peace agreement?

Long live Afghanistan and Pakistan! :pakistan:

First of all Afghanistan is our backyard, why the hell are you indians so obsessed with Afghanistan? The damn country has NOTHING in common with india!!!! You don't even border it!!

I think you cant tell afghans whom to have relations with and with whom not. if afghans have relations with pakistan they as a country and nation have right to have relations with other people too. Afghanistan is not kashmir.

Secondly, no one, not even you indians know Afghanistan better than us! 35% of Pakistan's army is Pashtun, Pakistan has more Pashtuns than Afghanistan, and Pashtuns make up the majorit ethnic group in Afghanistan! Pakistan and Afghanistan are both Muslim countries! Whatever happens in Afghanistan, it directly affects Pakistan! Most Pakistanis share culture with Afghans!

Who cares how manay pashtoons in your army is!! Afghanistan dont have any majority ethnic group, they are the first , second and third largest groups, not majority as you claim. you guys have already alienated other ethnic groups against yourselves and the pashtoons are not and will never be in favour of pakisan anyways, remember the durand line? it is the pashtoons who dont recognize it, not the non-pashtoons.

So we have every damn right to be worried! But my question is, what the hell does Afghanistan have anything to do with india?

afghanistan is a victim of your proxy wars, go and wage this war in kashmir.

Thirdly, why the hell are you so upset about Pakistan helping to bring peace between Taliban and Karzai gov? Are you that much against peace in Afghanistan? Does it make you happy that innocent children, men, and women are suffering because of this war?

It is the first time a pakistani talks about peace in afghanistan and dont encourage and support fighting. strange.

Long live Afghanistan and Pakistan!

Yes, hope the people of these 2 countries put everything behind and start a fresh start, it only comes with honesty in policy.

Why has Pakistan woken up only now what about all these years of Bloodshed? What is NATO doing in Afghanistan ?

You barbarians and your whole nation is barbarian. If the admins ban me for this statement then they should ban you as well if they claim to be impartial. enough is enough, i have seen many insult and nasty words against my nation from pakistanis in this stie.

I don't consider Afghans barbarians! In fact, back in USA i had Afghan friends and i got along with them, i prayed with them in the Mosque, they played cricket with me and my friends, they never had problem with Pakistanis!

Afghanistan is a land locked country, they have no choice but to make guns, grow poppy and that's how they make a living! Besides, no one ever gave them a chance to develop but in stead imposed sanctions, cut of their resources and invaded the poverty stricken nation!

But the duty of Pakistan, and not only Pakistan but other neighboring Muslim countries is that we should open up roads and trade routes for Afghans so that they can move away from drugs and guns and go for more useful things! We can train them and provide opportunities for education and jobs!

I know its easy to say, but its worth it! Remember what Allama Muhammad Iqbal said regarding Afghanistan in his poetry: "Afghanistan is the heart of Asia, peace in Afghanistan is peace in Asia, turbulence in Afghanistan is turbulence in Asia"!

:pakistan:

@ Goodperson: ^^^ Your second flag is the answer to this new found love and bonhomie!

Cheers, Doc

I don't consider Afghans barbarians! In fact, back in USA i had Afghan friends and i got along with them, i prayed with them in the Mosque, they played cricket with me and my friends, they never had problem with Pakistanis!

Afghanistan is a land locked country, they have no choice but to make guns, grow poppy and that's how they make a living! Besides, no one ever gave them a chance to develop but in stead imposed sanctions, cut of their resources and invaded the poverty stricken nation!

But the duty of Pakistan, and not only Pakistan but other neighboring Muslim countries is that we should open up roads and trade routes for Afghans so that they can move away from drugs and guns and go for more useful things! We can train them and provide opportunities for education and jobs!

I know its easy to say, but its worth it! Remember what Allama Muhammad Iqbal said regarding Afghanistan in his poetry: "Afghanistan is the heart of Asia, peace in Afghanistan is peace in Asia, turbulence in Afghanistan is turbulence in Asia"!

Thanks for the nice thoughts brother. Lets pray for a better future for both of us.

@ Goodperson: ^^^ Your second flag is the answer to this new found love and bonhomie!

Cheers, Doc

Pakistan always shared border and religion with Afghanistan, Why did it let India get foothold ? I know the answer : Its mistrust between Pakistan and Afghanistan. But if Military training helps improve the situation in Afghanistan then it its always welcome.

I think you cant tell afghans whom to have relations with and with whom not. if afghans have relations with pakistan they as a country and nation have right to have relations with other people too. Afghanistan is not kashmir.

Afghans have every right to choose their friends, but don't forget after Soviet left Afghanistan, india and iran began to wage proxy war against Pakistan (ie BLA back in the 80's and early 90's)! We had no choice but to counter them!

afghanistan is a victim of your proxy wars, go and wage this war in kashmir.

Not only our proxy wars, but Russia, USA, Iran, and india also had and still have proxies in Afghanistan (Northern Alliance)!

It is the first time a pakistani talks about peace in afghanistan and dont encourage and support fighting. strange.

This is nothing strange, we never did support war in Afghanistan! We never wanted Soviets to invade Afghanistan, we helped Afghans expel soviets while indians wanted Soviets to stay and continue to fight (just as they want America to stay and continue the war) for their own evil designs against Pakistan! Even now, who's helping to stop fight in Afghanistan? Who's helping both Karzai and Taliban to reconcile? And yes i agree, in past people like Musharraf did take advantage of this war and events leading to it for their own personal gains, this war could have been prevented, but you can't blame every Pakistani for the stupidity of a dictator (not to forget our corrupt politicians)!

And i do agree with you that there is a lot of arrogance in some Pakistanis, but i would like to remind them that arrogance and pride is what has led to the destruction of many nations and empires! Afghans are not barbarians, they can be smart and intelligent and capable of doing anything if they were given the proper resources and facilities!

Yes, hope the people of these 2 countries put everything behind and start a fresh start, it only comes with honesty in policy.

My prayers and Duas are always for my brothers in Afghanistan, Pakistan, Iraq, Kashmir, and Palestine, and wherever else Muslims are suffering!