Pakistan is world’s 5th largest milk producing country

Thank you @newb3e , just sent the following info to my family thanx to you:

https://m.facebook.com/rajputdairyfarm/

Rajput Dairy Farm
Memon Dairy Corporative Soceity, Gadap Town, Karachi, Karachi City, Sindh, Pakistan
+92 21 111 132 479
i supply them fodders i visit their farm regularly have also seen their milkijg and the whole process they maintian good standards and dont use any hormones. so yeh go for it

yes we are importing semen but see i have seen improvement specially in punjab farmers in punjab have developed their in cross breed HF breed by using importer semen on local cows they have created a cross that can resist extreme climatic conditions of Pakistan i have seen local cross cows giving 38 liters milk in karachi and 23+ is quite normal yes compared to dutch cows that avges 60 liters a day is not great but if you compare cost of dutch importered pure breed coe to our local corss the difference is huge and i think if the trend continues we will see improvement and our own brand of HF cow that is not only a good milker but also suitable to our climate
I only pointed it out coz my own cousin in law did a PhD from Punjab university on molecular study to improve cow milk giving capacity...The research was done, thesis made but we still import semen?

Stupidity at its best! Where research never reaches market level and we increase our imports due to laziness of linking research to market!

as for cheese i had a detailed discussion about it with somene who worked in dairy industry in germany and he told me that 1 our milk is expensive and milk to cheese yield from our milk is very low as it doesn't coagulate properly so our cost will be always be higher becuase of low yields and imported cheese even after all the duties costs lower.
Well that can be fixed with enzymes these days...ALL cheese uses enzyme...But it has been selective to suit a certain milk content coz research was not done on our milk composition! So a different set of enzymes would be needed...Probably cheaper. THAT IS if research has been done!

Desi cattle breeds or humped breeds are inferior to European breeds
These are two sub specieas of cattle Bos indicus or humped cattle and Bos Taurus or humpless cattle
with selective breeding yield of Desi cows can be improved but still their yield will be much lower than Frezian and Jersey
And artificial insemination of Sahiwal breed is more popular because semen of exotic breeds costs more
Yes I know (roughly)

The west didnt have naturally strong breeds...Selective breeding over decades to centuries led to their current breed! You can read up their history...It isnt rocket science; YET Pakistan's laziness sees no extreme!

They rather import than work on their own resources!

@Dubious

Without sounding patronizing, condescending and sarcastic, I would like to add my two cents. These reports mostly are stupid, outdated and often lack primary data. Most of them are often not even based upon secondary data, tertiary data even that is questionable.

Let me give you few examples while I have my reservations about processed milk from olpers and nestle but the way they have setup the collection channel is a wonder in itself. Totally green filed projects coupled with micro-finance banks who did lending to purchase a cow/buffalo even goats for household and milk production, excess milk is sold. There are collection points all across Punjab from small villages to town where milk is collected by these companies and they are compensated (economically) well. The financial proceed are used to payoff the micro-finance banks. I know families in rural Punjab who had nothing a decade or so ago now they are having flocks of dozens of cows/buffaloes.

If you travel on M2/M3/M1 in the early hours of the day (between 3 am to 5 am) like me you will see vehicle upon vehicle travelling on M1/M2/M3, specialized vehicles carrying milk from collection centers to processing centers.

People may not have heard of ever fresh they have 2600 buffaloes, 3000 Australian cows and almost the same amount of dutch cows and they are going into massive expansion upto 10,000 each all the milk is collected by them and sold to nestle on daily basis. BTW their farm is located near bhera.

Now those living in central punjab know about Prema/Anhaar milk units their dairy farms are much bigger than that of ever fresh, they have mostly dutch/australian/newzealand breeds along sahiwal/neelibar cows and local buffaloes. Each one of them have good breeding capabilities/expertise all imported, local enhancements too are being done.

Nishat (Mian Mansha) is coming in this business really big time, another large industrial concern from Faisalabad (JK Spinning) is starting this business even in bigger terms, I do know a few other projects in KPK and Punjab are about to kick start.

BTW military dairies made a large acquisition of a local brand (NURPUR) and they are into massive expansion, this number 5 position may not hold true for much longer I think we will be at number three in less than a decade, milk processing is improving, I heard milk condensation and powder plants have been planned.

There are large dairy farms being setup in sahiwal and okara, with the exception of military dairies/sahiwal/okara rest of Punjab based processing/farms mostly are located in and around bhera/faislabad conveniently located near motorway of for that matter near fateh jang/chakwal/mansehra/mardan etc. Easy access to road infrastructure mean enhanced processing due to specialized vehicles and less travel time.

Local cheese brands are available in large quantities, although I have my concerns over taste but it is available now in quantities.

While we have had a slow start our pace in this area at least is much faster than any other in the region, if I would to believe people in this business we will be exporting this commodity few years from now. Do bash around, criticize but also do research/meet people (right kind of people) who don't waste themselves in the negativity tide of our stupid media jokers or sponsored gangustani negativity.

We are slow starters but once we set our minds to something, we outpace anyone we want to. Over the next decade our processing and production capability will not just increase it will increase exponentially and then we will go into exports big time.

As far as Baluchistan is concerned, for the first time there is a better CM if things improve I see good things and news coming from there, SIND is another case I don't want to share insider news yet but rest assured sind too will be on the right track very soon.

I am keeping an eye with positive mind on faisalabad at one end I see a chain of dairy farms coming up spread all the way from bhera to sargodha to khushab to mianwali to talagang to Chakwal and on the other end M3 SEZ expanding all the way through Jaranwala to Sheikhupura.

Have faith and positivity.

@Mangus Ortus Novem
@Arsalan
The problem is not the numbers but the quality!

We do have a quality issue! Maintaining quality by losing some $$ is difficult for many in the business community! What they dont see is the need for better quality over quantity!

People need to understand that when you do milawat of 1 commodity, what makes you think no one did the same to you on another commodity? [Lesson from @zulu ] Govt needs to ensure quality is maintained! Coz West will not accept basic malawat!

I think @zulu was telling me that something as simple as cleanliness is lacking! Algae growing in drinking stations led to milk having toxins - which were tested by Western labs and large quantity was rejected as export material! This is just 1 case, am sure there are plenty other ways to get cows sick or get low quality milk which the locals fail to counter!

Now what is the use of the large quantity when the quality is not export quality? And if it is not export quality, who does it go to? Local consumption! Why do so many become sick from Milk, Pakistanis are a population that are largely not lactose intolerant ...yet we have highest case of sickness due to milk!

Just at the bottom of the page:

Pakistan has gone from being 2nd to 4th to 5th largest produce of milk?!

I wonder how updated these reports are...Esp as per the OP, this was being told to the ambassador from NZ!!

bhai amul ka milk powder import hota hai is mulk may!

but our industry is inefficient no work done on local breeds or to increase their efficiency and yield
I also dont understand why the hell milk powder is IMPORTED to feed kids?

In the West mother's milk is advertised as the best source of everything for a child while in Pakistan women are bragging about which milk powder is stuffed down their child?! Sad :(

Fodder business say Yaad Aaya... I came across this video last year. Your thoughts on this method? Have you tried this?

In the West they are going for alternative sources as well...

Like I know a pitcher came to our uni in UK from india. He was pitching sorghum improvement for cattle feed! It is a cheaper crop and easier to grow!

What is Pakistan's case? I know PARC did some sorghum projects...

What is sorghum in Urdu?

Fodder business say Yaad Aaya... I came across this video last year. Your thoughts on this method? Have you tried this?

i have read about it and research sounds good havnt tried it yet so i cant say if its economiclaly viable right now i am looking for red worms want to run an experiment if in khi climate red worms can make good compost from cow dung and how much it cost and if there is market for good quality vermicompost in pakistan.

Question should be why can't Pakistan produce milk powder
The same reason Pakistan cant produce anything!

Lack of will and lack of interest!

Lack of quality assurance! Who will buy? Coz everyone is interested in showing off imported names that even I cringe hearing!

i have read about it and research sounds good havnt tried it yet so i cant say if its economiclaly viable right now i am looking for red worms want to run an experiment if in khi climate red worms can make good compost from cow dung and how much it cost and if there is market for good quality vermicompost in pakistan.
I would suggest using organic compost, it is easier and you can just work with garbagge collectors...tell the residents to sort their trash - putting organic in different bins...like in West? Yea, you might need to work with educated society!

I also dont understand why the hell milk powder is IMPORTED to feed kids?

In the West mother's milk is advertised as the best source of everything for a child while in Pakistan women are bragging about which milk powder is stuffed down their child?! Sad :(

as far as i know use of urea and milk powder is common in pakistna and big brnads also using it to cut costs its a crime against peiple of Pakistan to be exact but recently ban on imports from india and 30% increase in duties processors are forced to buy raw milk from farmers and they have also increased their buying price from 45 to 55 in punjab

and cna you pleaee help me source red worms i want try and make vermicompost and use all the cow dung thats being wasted

Lack of quality assurance! Who will buy? Coz everyone is interested in showing off imported names that even I cringe hearing!

I would suggest using organic compost, it is easier and you can just work with garbagge collectors...tell the residents to sort their trash - putting organic in different bins...like in West? Yea, you might need to work with educated society!
unfortunately our society is not advanced enough to make money from garbage but cow manure its easier to collect and process i think and the whole process of collection is also cheap or cheaper than getting it from every gali mohala

Two days ago incidentally my friend was saying that Pakistan only exports/sells raw materials. If these raw materials are processed into products their prices increases many folds.

But it requires Govt. policies and also an educated public and Pakistan at this moment lacks both.

Well that can be fixed with enzymes these days...ALL cheese uses enzyme...But it has been selective to suit a certain milk content coz research was not done on our milk composition! So a different set of enzymes would be needed...Probably cheaper. THAT IS if research has been done!
karay kon research yahan? hamarya mulk may RNd hai he nai bas import kiye jao!

Jo research already available hai woh b buried hai! Not implemented!

and cna you pleaee help me source red worms i want try and make vermicompost and use all the cow dung thats being wasted
I have no clue actually that is why suggested organic :ashamed:

unfortunately our society is not advanced enough to make money from garbage but cow manure its easier to collect and process i think and the whole process of collection is also cheap or cheaper than getting it from every gali mohala
You can use cow dung for fueling greenhouses and tunnels ...lights and heat for winter (if you are into that)

Why do you need to add worms in cow manure? Isnt the manure enough to make fertilizer?

Two days ago incidentally my friend was saying that Pakistan only exports/sells raw materials. If these raw materials are processed into products their prices increases many folds.

But it requires Govt. policies and also an educated public and Pakistan at this moment lacks both.
The problem is quality actually! And yes policies would go a long way if them elites dont ask for some % under their own names and think about Pakistan first!

We have been selling raw material since the beginning of time! All the raw material is made into finished product and resold to Pakistan under the banner of another country and we pay many folds for it!

Like our cloth, wool, leather, milk, fruits, cereal and everything is exported as raw materials at cheap prices and we buy back expensive branded leather goods and garments! Milk products like cheese and other things!

Jo research already available hai woh b buried hai! Not implemented!

I have no clue actually that is why suggested organic :ashamed:

You can use cow dung for fueling greenhouses and tunnels ...lights and heat for winter (if you are into that)

Why do you need to add worms in cow manure? Isnt the manure enough to make fertilizer?
vermicompost is less labour intensive,requires less space and is more beneficial to plants then normal manure.

and worm poop or casting are called black gold and has potential to fetch more value than normal compost.

vermicompost is less labour intensive,requires less space and is more beneficial to plants then normal manure.

and worm poop or casting are called black gold and has potential to fetch more value than normal compost.
ahan...I see..Sorry you might need to consult some entomologist and ask him where to get worms?!

Obviously, the answer lies in changing such self-damaging social attitudes. The old slogan "Be Pakistani, Buy Pakistani" comes to mind.