Pakistan is world’s 5th largest milk producing country

Dubious

RETIRED MOD
Associated Press of PakistanSeptember 27, 2019

• Pakistan’s agro-import from New Zealand consists of animal feed, feed premixes, animal products.
  • New Zealand consider importing mangoes from Pakistan along with other fruit and vegetables like dates, citrus, guava, onion and potato.

milk.jpg

ISLAMABAD: The newly appointed High Commissioner of New Zealand to Pakistan Hamish MacMaster Friday called on Federal Minister for National Food Security and Research Sahibzada Muhammad Mehboob Sultan.

The high commissioner apprised the minister that after taking office this is his first visit to any ministry and that shows how much importance New Zealand gives to agricultural cooperation between the two countries.

Pakistan exports hides and skins of buffalo, cow to New Zealand. The hides export brought Rs7.9 million in year 2017-18. Pakistan’s agro-import from New Zealand consists of animal feed, feed premixes, animal products (bovine semen, edible offal, tallow) dairy products and sheep.

Speaking on the occasion, the minister told the high commissioner that Pakistan is world’s 5th largest milk producing country and annually produce 60 million metric tons, while only 6% could be processed.

He said New Zealand has a very strong dairy sector farming area along with processing and value addition, Pakistan would welcome any substantial cooperation in the field from production to value addition.

He further told that cow fattening and enhanced meat production is one of the programs of PM’s Agriculture Emergency Project and we are looking forward to get technical assistance–machinery, technology and equipment from New Zealand.

It is pertinent to mention that exotic bovine semen and cattle feed premixes are already imported from New Zealand, moreover that veterinary Health Protocol for import of dairy cattle to Pakistan has already been harmonized.

Federal Minister Mehboob Sultan said Pakistan is desirous of expanding its mango market as it is already exported to 48 countries of the world and even it is exported to Australia due to its unique taste and aroma.

We are hoping that New Zealand will consider importing mangoes from Pakistan along with other fruit and vegetables like dates, citrus, guava, onion and potato, he added.

Mehboob sultan said ease of regulations may also be negotiated for the enhancement of bilateral trade, as the current volume of trade between the two countries does not reflect the potential agro-products; this may also be negotiated for mutual benefits.

New Zealand high commissioner told the minister that to facilitate and enhance the agro-trade between the two countries he will play his role effectively and expressed his gratitude for speedy processing of pea seed consignment to Pakistan , case at the Ministry’s level and thereby resolving it amicably.

https://www.brecorder.com/2019/09/27/524863/pakistan-is-worlds-5th-largest-milk-producing-country/

Sharam ka muqaam hai, because we are 5th largest producer of milk but millions of our kids suffer from stunted growth due to lack of nourishment.
bhai amul ka milk powder import hota hai is mulk may!

but our industry is inefficient no work done on local breeds or to increase their efficiency and yield

5th largest and yet we are forced to drink poison.

We both know what “milk” we get in Karachi.
filth bro i am associated with dairy industry in. karachi and what they do with milk is filthy but there are few who can supply you with clean an healthy milkmwell ifmyou can force your family to use cow milk then try rajput dairy i have visited their farm many times and i can tell you its the best milk available in karachi

We don't even improve our own breed and instead even import semen?

Laziness to the extreme
yes we are importing semen but see i have seen improvement specially in punjab farmers in punjab have developed their in cross breed HF breed by using importer semen on local cows they have created a cross that can resist extreme climatic conditions of Pakistan i have seen local cross cows giving 38 liters milk in karachi and 23+ is quite normal yes compared to dutch cows that avges 60 liters a day is not great but if you compare cost of dutch importered pure breed coe to our local corss the difference is huge and i think if the trend continues we will see improvement and our own brand of HF cow that is not only a good milker but also suitable to our climate

Worst part, it imported cheese worth 1 billion USD.
as for cheese i had a detailed discussion about it with somene who worked in dairy industry in germany and he told me that 1 our milk is expensive and milk to cheese yield from our milk is very low as it doesn't coagulate properly so our cost will be always be higher becuase of low yields and imported cheese even after all the duties costs lower.

filth bro i am associated with dairy industry in. karachi and what they do with milk is filthy but there are few who can supply you with clean an healthy milkmwell ifmyou can force your family to use cow milk then try rajput dairy i have visited their farm many times and i can tell you its the best milk available in karachi
Where is it? I live at Malir garrison.

Worst part, it imported cheese worth 1 billion USD.

That's frankly inexcusable. Cheese, yoghurt, milk drinks etc require just minimal investment for the value they then generate. Is the official problem in Pakistan cold storage logistics? (unofficial problem is always current cartels).

Even if (esp end sale) cold storage is problem...simply more hardy cheeses can be looked at in interim.

our milk is expensive and milk to cheese yield from our milk is very low as it doesn't coagulate properly so our cost will be always be higher becuase of low yields and imported cheese even after all the duties costs lower.

Hmm interesting, but I think some RnD can be applied to this. There are many coagulant variants these days past traditional rennet...and it can be optimised to the milk. The thing is you need a dedicated team to research somewhat intensely...because often everyone simply want you to believe (arguing immediate bottom dollar rather than long term vision one) that you need to copy and paste global supply (so you can get mismatch from what the generic world logistics provide in bulk compared to what you are able to produce at home).

I mean heck, mozarella is produced in italy with buffalo milk! Replicate a desi mozarella...it can be done I am sure.

yes we are importing semen but see i have seen improvement specially in punjab farmers in punjab have developed their in cross breed HF breed by using importer semen on local cows they have created a cross that can resist extreme climatic conditions of Pakistan i have seen local cross cows giving 38 liters milk in karachi and 23+ is quite normal yes compared to dutch cows that avges 60 liters a day is not great but if you compare cost of dutch importered pure breed coe to our local corss the difference is huge and i think if the trend continues we will see improvement and our own brand of HF cow that is not only a good milker but also suitable to our climate

as for cheese i had a detailed discussion about it with somene who worked in dairy industry in germany and he told me that 1 our milk is expensive and milk to cheese yield from our milk is very low as it doesn't coagulate properly so our cost will be always be higher becuase of low yields and imported cheese even after all the duties costs lower.

Sorry, cannot say about other areas but in our area of Gujranwala/Sialkot we ONLY like to drink milk of Buffaloes. We DON'T like cow's milk. Our ancestors have always kept only Buffaloes for dairy purposes for centuries, cows were there but their milk was considered to be for "bemaar" people or "babies" who cannot digest Buffalo milk. The only thing I miss living in Germany is Buffalo milk because here in Germany all dairy products are made out of Cow milk. The taste of Buffalo milk is far superior to the taste of cow's milk, also Buffalo milk has more calcium/protein/fat/calories than Cow's milk per one liter.

That's frankly inexcusable. Cheese, yoghurt, milk drinks etc require just minimal investment for the value they then generate. Is the official problem in Pakistan cold storage logistics? (unofficial problem is always current cartels).

Even if (esp end sale) cold storage is problem...simply more hardy cheeses can be looked at in interim.
People are simpley Had Haram.Most of them like to invest in sugar mills,cloth items and real estate.

There must be a way around it.