Pakistan fan handed free ticket by Indian

Mani2020

25-pak-fan-600.jpg.jpg

A Pakistani fan's journey across seven seas turned sour after he was not allowed to carry the India-Pakistan flags and jerseys inside the M Chinnaswamy stadium ahead of the first Twenty20 international here on Tuesday.

The fan, however, was overjoyed after he got a ticket free of cost from an Indian fan outside the stadium. Mohammad Bashir came all the way from Chicago to witness the first-ever bilateral series between the two countries since 2007. "I am very sorry to say that the police has not allowed me to carry India-Pakistan flag and jersey inside the stadium. I did not like it," Bashir told PTI.

"Why did they do it to me? There will be many Pakistani government officials who would watch the match. Wouldn't they not be carrying our national flag and wearing jersey. Will they stop these officials from carrying the Pakistan flag and jersey inside the stadium?" he asked. Bashir, who claimed he had also watched the Indo-Pak 2011 World semifinal in Mohali, said a feeling of love and bonhomie should exist between the two nations.

Bashir said he arrived here from Chicago last evening after with his wife. He got a shock, though, on arrival as he found out that tickets had been sold out. But Bashir did not lose hope and visited the stadium in the morning and, fortunately, a gentleman handed him a ticket without taking a penny.
"The gentleman approached me with the ticket after he watched me on a news channel airing my disappointment of not getting a ticket to watch India-Pakistan match which the world enjoys. People in India are so good that I really would cherish this very moment for years to come," he said. Asked for his reaction about a 500-odd Pakistani fans not getting tickets due to some delay, Bashir said this experience was no different from the World Cup semifinal. "I faced the same problem, but somehow I got into the stadium. Pakistani fans should come to India and enjoy matches with Indian fans. This will strengthen friendship between the two nations. If there are bad elements in both countries they should be punished," he said.

source: Pakistan fan handed free ticket by Indian - Thatscricket

Hope cricket authorities take this matter with concern. Such events bring many tourists who come to watch or attend a particular event also visit other places and word of mouth publicity they will do back to the country they come from helps in tourism industry.

Hope we learn somethings really fast. Hats off to that Indian who gave that ticket.

Good people are there regardless of their political and religious views ... good stuff unnamed Indian person

what was the reason for not allowing Pakistani flag?? people carry their national flags at such events from whatever country they are. The organizers should take care of such issues for sure.

He was a good guy .
Sacrificing his money and once in a decade oppurtunity to the travelling fan . Hats off :tup:

But the Pakistani guy should have booked his tickets weeks ago, how can one expect to get tickets to a Indo-Pakistan cricket match, a day before the game, that too in India? :blink:

^ Totally unnecessary comment. Not cool.

what was the reason for not allowing Pakistani flag?? people carry their national flags at such events from whatever country they are. The organizers should take care of such issues for sure.

It was not organizers, but the police who banned it. Probably as a mere precaution. You never know, tempers always flare in an India-pakistan match, and with so much crowd, perhaps for his own safety the police prohibited him from carrying it ( I suppose he got the ticket either for the gallery or an intermediate stand where the local crowd is rather boisterous).

There is no such restriction when other teams tour.

It was not organizers, but the police who banned it. Probably as a mere precaution. You never know, tempers always flare in an India-pakistan match, and with so much crowd, perhaps for his own safety the police prohibited him from carrying it ( I suppose he got the ticket either for the gallery or an intermediate stand where the local crowd is rather boisterous).

There is no such restriction when other teams tour.

That is even worst , i don't think we will feel happy while in Pakistan we are not allowed to carry our national flag at a Match.

Dude come on i don't think we Indians will start beating up visiting people just because we loose a match ??

Ever been to a East Bengal-Mohun Bagan football match? :azn:

@Akash A. The guy was from Chicago, where living standard is pretty high. Maybe he wasn't sure about his VISA approval, so didn't bought tickets. Delete that comment.

Ever been to a East Bengal-Mohun Bagan football match? :azn:

@Akash A. The guy was from Chicago, where living standard is pretty high. Maybe he wasn't sure about his VISA approval, so didn't bought tickets. Delete that comment.

Arey bhai theek hai par phir bhi how can u deny somebody from carrying his country's flag??

self deleted

Dude delete this comment please, not looking good.