Pak pavilions shut down at UK arms fair

Veeru

Pak forced to shut shop at UK arms fair for flouting norms

Popular interest in Islamabad’s flamboyant display of gold-plated sub-machine guns could not prevent the Pakistanis from being kicked out on Friday for “infringement” reasons from the Defence and Security Equipment International (DSEi) exhibition.

The Tribune has been given to understand that Pakistanis were penalised by exhibition organisers for publicising the manufacture of cluster bomblets that are forbidden under UK law.

A spokesman for the exhibition explained, “We have very strict laws in the UK about what kind of exhibits can be shown here. If exhibitors infringe UK law, we close their stand.”

He said, “The Pakistan Ordnance Factory stand and Pakistan’s Defence Export Promotion Organisation pavilion have both been permanently shut after promotional material was found on both containing references to equipment, which after close examination, was found to breach UK Government export controls and our own contractual requirements.

“We are currently investigating how this breach of our compliance system occurred. However, we believe that the immediate action we have taken highlights our commitment to ensuring that all equipment, services, promotional material, documentation and anything else on display complies with domestic and international law.”

Gold-plated gifts

Earlier in the week, arms specialists from Islamabad were also showcasing other defence items like fashion body armour, another way of describing leather jackets and waistcoats with reinforced linings.

More deadly items, such as nuclear weapons parts, which used to be available to the highest bidder, were missing. They have remained off limits ever since the US pressurised the Pakistani authorities to arrest the notorious nuclear scientist Dr AQ Khan.

What was left for interested buyers visiting the Pakistan stand at the Defence and Security Equipment International (DSEi) exhibition were relatively “harmless” artillery shells although these were easily overshadowed by the ‘piece-de-resistance’ represented by gold-plated sub-machine guns manufactured under licence from German weapons manufacturer Heckler&Koch.

A spokesman for Heckler&Koch explained how sometime in the past - in the 1970s - the German Government granted Pakistan a licence to manufacture the 9mm weapon that has a range of 30-40m. Each one of the gold-plated variety is available for a mere £10,000 (approximately Rs 7.5 lakh) and their most eager customers, according to Pakistani defence salesmen before they were forced to shut down their stand, inevitably are Arab princes from Saudi Arabia and the Gulf states who want something a little different to give as presents to their friends and relatives.

These princes, in turn, got the idea of gold-plated weapons from the late Saddam Hussein who started a trend back in the 1980s by gifting gold-plated pistols and Kalashnikovs to friends and allies in his own country and the rest of West Asia.

Although the defence value of such weapons is questionable - the consensus at the exhibition is that they are prestige/ceremonial items for display - they easily outshone more standard items of warfare on show from other countries.

The nearest popular rival to the Pakistanis before they withdrew was the so-called invisible tank made by the UK’s BAE System. It is described as invisible because of its ability to create a false thermal image of a van or a truck for an enemy wearing night-vision goggles.

The Indian stall

India is also visible at the arms fair, although its presence is less obtrusive. The Defence Research Development Organisation has been exhibiting models of the Light Combat Aircraft (LCA), recently ordered by the IAF, as well as the Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft (AMCA) and the Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) that has attracted attention from Oman and South Korea.

Buyers from Slovakia have expressed interest in India’s armoured personnel carrier (BMP2K). Private companies selling wares to countries like Egypt have also shown interest in India’s small calibre ammunition and the 7.62 medium machine gun.

Tata Steel, which is separately represented, is involved in an extremely interesting project to produce under licence an ultra-hardened steel called super bainite that can be used for a new type of body armour. The British Ministry of Defence wants super bainite to be manufactured at Tata’s plant at Port Talbot in Wales.

The Tribune, Chandigarh, India - Main News

See no one has ever been able to beet the british at this game.

Go there to play cricket, and they will start a parallel media war before you set foot on the field.
go there to do business and they will start another media war, to squeeze every penny out of you.

Laws ... Morals ... Ethics ..... what does this have to do with British ?

It is strictly business, nothing personal :D

But still who has more potential to sell Aircrafts and Tanks ? India or Pakistan ? :D If the latter , then kindly dont post for the sake of increasing post count :rofl:

I thought that gold plated and pearl handled weapons went out of fashion with guys like Billy The Kid, Butch Cassidy / Sundance Kid and George Patton / Douglas MacArthur. Obviously there are guys still living in the past.

Which aircraft are you willing to sell? f-16? :lol: Oh...if by any chance you are mentioning jf-17, I've got some news for you. Enjoy :)
http://www.defence.pk/forums/jf-17-thunder/109589-pakistan-can-not-sell-jf-17-china.html

Is it official ? lol Did Chinese Govt say that Pakistan isn't allowed to sell JFT ? ... Since we financed the 60 % of the JFT , its impossible that we cant sell the plane ... Keep these uncredible reports to yourself :D Even if Chinese sell JFT , they are bound to give 50 % of the profit to us ... Keep jumping now

..Poor worlds..Norms, ethics etc. are for the rest of the world... and how dare they expect this from pakistan.:devil:

Is it official ? lol Did Chinese Govt say that Pakistan isn't allowed to sell JFT ? ... Since we financed the 60 % of the JFT , its impossible that we cant sell the plane ... Keep these incredible reports to yourself :D

Lets talk about this if / when Pakistan makes its first sale of JFT...
Several countries are already in negotiation :D I expect replies like these when people's claims are debunked lol BTW how many of LCA have been sold ? Tell me the same for Arjun ? Bangladesh has already placed its order for Al Khalid expected to be delivered by 2013

Al-Khalid tank - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Bangladesh Army - 44 MBT-2000s and 3 armored recovery vehicles to be delivered by China in 2013 and 2014

LOL...

As I said, tell me when Pakistan actually makes a sale and delivers on it...

once again you have trouble understanding whats a JV ... Pakistan will get 50 % of the profit no matter who sells it :D

As I said, share the details when it actually happens.. ;)

Which aircraft are you willing to sell? f-16? :lol: Oh...if by any chance you are mentioning jf-17, I've got some news for you. Enjoy :)
http://www.defence.pk/forums/jf-17-thunder/109589-pakistan-can-not-sell-jf-17-china.html

LOLZ YOU ARE STILL CRY BABY YAAR

we sold already 5 nations aircrafts . and at this time pakistani made air crafts are in service .

at this time syria iran saudia oman egypt :lol:

attachment.php

Al-Khalid tank - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Bangladesh Army - 44 MBT-2000s and 3 armored recovery vehicles to be delivered by China in 2013 and 2014

Who just posted it ? :D

Libya acquires Pakistani Integrated Dynamics Border Eagle UAVs over two year period

By Mona Hussain

Pakistani unmanned air vehicle manufacturer Integrated Dynamics has confirmed that it has supplied UAVs to Libya within the past two years, although the deal may have been limited to the supply of airframes rather than complete systems.

The deal appears to have been for a limited number of Integrated Dynamics Border Eagle Mk II systems, although the company declines to confirm this other than acknowledging that the air vehicle type is its primary export platform.

Chief executive Raja Sabir Khan told Flight that within the past two years the company had made deliveries to users in Australia, Libya, South Korea, Spain and the USA. "Most of the orders to the countries mentioned were placed, and delivered, during this period," he says. Khan declined to provide details on the end user for the Border Eagle systems, citing restrictions by Pakistani military authorities.

"The Border Eagle Mk II appears to be our most popular UAV airframe and mostly these have been exported to various customers," he says. "I would put the numbers at approximately 15-20 airframes." The total value of exports to the five nominated countries was $300,000, he adds.

Integrated Dynamics is pursuing a business strategy of supplying low-cost components rather than full systems, Khan says, adding: "Most competitors have a limited range and are reluctant to make their airframes available outside of complete system sales."

The international defence equipment sales embargo on Libya was lifted at the end of 2003, but the country is still identified by US authorities as a sensitive destination.

Pakistan’s Beagle to sniff U.S. borders

by Brian Walters

An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) dubbed ‘Border Eagle,’ together with ground display software, is to be supplied by Integrated Dynamics (ID) to the U.S. Homeland Border Control. Some 20 of these mini surveillance systems are to be delivered before the end of February and an example is featured on the Pakistan-based company’s Dubai 2003 exhibit (Stand No. W102). On-board sensors are to be supplied in the U.S.
ID is making its second appearance at a Dubai show, having previously promoted its UAV expertise in 1997 and winning orders as a result. Although Pakistan is the company’s biggest customer for UAVs and support systems, its expertise in flight control, telecommand and control systems has won recognition in several other countries including France and the UK to which such electronic equipment has been supplied.
While the company’s smaller UAVs are powered by piston engines in the pusher configuration, the Tornado 2000 aerial target and decoy system, also on display, is powered by two 18-pound thrust mini turbojets, which endow a speed range of 70 to 300 knots. To help train UAV operators, ID has developed pilot and mission simulators that offer low cost solutions to training requirements that would otherwise oblige use of real UAVs.

The pilot simulator provides a high level of realism and can support single or multiple instrument failures, while the mission simulator enables the user to analyze the mission before the actual flight, thus reducing risk and increasing system cost effectiveness.