PAF to get eight new F-16

i tend to agree with you on first point and disagree with second point.
US have bases in afghanistan and this is good enough for them.

Batman
It is not a question of just having bases. When your lifeline goes through Pakistan, you need to keep us reasonably happy. Keeping pakistan happy in finer terms means keeping its armed forces happy. Now economic aid will not do the trick unless it is affiliated with military aid, especially if the misadventure in Afghanistan goes beyond 2011. Even if they start withdrawing slowly post 2011, they will need a couple of yrs to ensure they do not leave a massive hiatus in Afghanistan, causing it to implode. Therein lies their dilemma and this is why i have put forward my thinking .
WaSalam
Araz

PLZ EXPLAIN IT SIR,
EVEN F16/60[UAE] NOR ABLE TO DO SO

is the SU-30MK even battle proven? Not at ALL doubting its abilities, it is a potent aircraft.

But i hope you also appreciate the fact that F16 has been battle proven for over 3 decades --especially against many major soviet/russian aircrafts. :)

Who mans the aircraft is equally important

is the SU-30MK even battle proven? Not at ALL doubting its abilities, it is a potent aircraft.

But i hope you also appreciate the fact that F16 has been battle proven for over 3 decades --especially against many major soviet/russian aircrafts. :)

That statement about Su-30 being unproven and hence inferior to the F-16 is a tad sweeping and illogical. Surely you wouldn't say that the F-22, the Eurofighter Typhoon and the Saab Gripen are inferior to your F-16 since they are unproven too:cheers:

Re-read my post.

did I say ANYTHING about superior/inferior? :rolleyes:

please read carefully in the future

Dear Abu Zolfiqar,

My request you to understand few things before posting any thing.

1st, Su30 is killer (even better thn JSF 35 and F22 raptor)
2nd, Arjun Tank (worlds most top powerfull and most advance Tank)
3rd, Indian Missile technology ahead over US,Russia,China
4th, LCA 7Gen Stealth fighter killer of F22 B2

PS: First understand all these things we never ever beat Indians in technology

If u understand these few points you will never ever reply on any Indian thread or post

Because 99.9% of trolling (illogical totally non sense stuff posted on DEFENCe.PK By Indians)

woh ye mananay ko tyaar he nahe kay koi unsay b opar hey!

Let me show you few things in 2001-2004 Indians have no interest in F18 Super Hornet even mostly india bashing against F18 but today Indian Love F18 and har jaga pe F18 DUNYA KA SAB SAY ZABARDAST Fighter hey why ?? because understand India actually go for it ;) sooo u know.... lol

Thanks Please ;)

On a second note,plz take a look at this thread(the last few posts) on who is posting bs in a pak forum!....lol.....and not again the stupid *** oriented posts!!!....

a medical condition and a non-medically-proven remedy were briefly laid forth.

As for F-16 discussion, I already posted this in the other main F-16 thread; but I will go ahead and post it here as well as it is pertinent.

The U.S. government has awarded a contract to Lockheed Martin [NYSE: LMT] for 18 Sniper® Advanced Targeting Pods (ATP), a part of the new Advanced Block 52 F-16 aircraft program for Pakistan. Pakistan is the eighth international customer to join the U.S. Air Force and Air National Guard flying with Sniper ATP. The contract includes spares and training services. Terms of the contract were not disclosed.

“This sale culminates a two year combined effort by Lockheed Martin’s Missiles and Fire Control and Aeronautics businesses to upgrade the precision attack capability of one of our key allies,” said Ken Fuhr, director of Fixed Wing Targeting Programs at Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control. “Sniper continues to demonstrate exceptional performance in meeting the requirements and expectations of the Warfighter.”

With deliveries [having begun] in 2008, the Pakistan Air Force will benefit from Sniper ATP’s exceptional stability and superior imagery, allowing aircrews to perform intelligence, targeting, surveillance and reconnaissance missions from extended standoff ranges.

The Pakistan Air Force joins the U.K. Ministry of Defence; the Canadian Forces, the Royal Norwegian Air Force; the Polish Air and Air Defense Force; the Royal Air Force of Oman; the Belgium Defence; and other international customers with its selection of the Sniper ATP.

Sniper ATP is currently flying on the U.S. Air Force and multinational F-15s, F-16s, F-18s, A-10s, B-1s and the Harrier GR9. Sniper ATPs have accumulated tens of thousands of flight hours in thousands of sorties in support of Operations Iraqi Freedom and Enduring Freedom.

Sniper incorporates a high-resolution, mid-wave third-generation forward-looking infrared (FLIR), a dual-mode laser permitting eye-safe operation in urban environments, a CCD-TV along with a laser spot tracker and a laser marker. Sniper is fully compatible with the latest J-series munitions and precision-guided weaponry. Its superior detection ranges are vital to pilots, helping keep them out of range of threat air defenses.

Headquartered in Bethesda, Md., Lockheed Martin employs about 140,000 people worldwide and is principally engaged in the research, design, development, manufacture, integration and sustainment of advanced technology systems, products and services.

Pakistan Selects Lockheed Martin's Sniper Advanced Targeting Pod

About Sniper ATP

Sniper XR / ATP - Advanced Targeting Pod

Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control's Sniper XR (eXtended Range) is the US Air Force's Advanced Targeting Pod. Incorporating a 3rd generation targeting FLIR, Sniper XR's common aperture and exceptional stabilization result in superior image quality. Flown supersonically in USAF flight evaluations at Edwards AFB, Sniper XR allows pilots to identify tactical targets at greatly improved standoff ranges over current targeting systems. The modular, two-level maintenance design ensures the lowest life cycle costs.

The ATP pod should have a geopointing capability 10 times more accurate than the LANTIRN with triple the recognition range and twice the resolution. The ATP can acquire targets at altitudes of up to 50,000 feet, versus the 25,000 feet typical of the LANTIRN pod. Substantial advances in the reliability and maintainability should also occur. The ATP features both laser target designation, and the ability to generate ground target position data that can provide an input to Global Positioning System guided munitions, such as JDAM.

Sniper XR is designed for current and future fighter aircraft. Incorporating a high-resolution, mid-wave 3rd generation FLIR, a dual-mode laser and a CCD-TV along with a laser spot tracker and a laser marker, Sniper vastly improves target detection/identification. The advanced image processing algorithms, combined with rock-steady stabilization techniques, deliver three times the performance of the best systems in service today. Fully compatible with the latest standoff weaponry, Sniper provides automatic tracking and laser designation of tactical size targets via real-time imagery presented on cockpit displays. Likewise, the supersonic, low-observable design results in a substantial reduction in drag and weight.

Fully capable of being embedded or podded, Sniper technology is incorporated into Lockheed Martin’s Joint Strike Fighter (JSF) design. The JSF Electro-Optical Targeting System (EOTS) is highly common with Sniper.

The Advanced Targeting Pod Program is an acquisition program to put targeting pods on the US F-16CJ Block 50 aircraft and also serve as a possible replacement for the LANTIRN target pods on F-15Es and F-16 Block 40 aircraft if approved and funding becomes available. The HTS R7 / TGP combination provides potential to find, pinpoint, and destroy mobile SAMs, giving the F-16CJs a true multi-role capability to support EAF operations. The program objective is to provide a Precision Attack Targeting System for the USAF F-16CJ, ANG F-16, and F-15E aircraft, (with an A-10 MSIP & F-16 Block 40 M4 objective). For the F-15E portion, offerors will be required to identify the tasks and activities necessary to qualify the pod on the F-15E. The A-10 is the other objective aircraft, though currently an initiative has not been undertaken to include ATP on the A-10. ATP will enhance and maintain the USAF strike mission lethality with an advanced targeting pod system enabling Destruction of Enemy Air Defense (DEAD) missions.

The overall purpose of the Advanced Targeting Pod (ATP) Program is to Competitively Acquire a Best Estimated Quantity (BEQ) of 168 targeting pods, support equipment, interim contractor support, contractor logistics support, retrofit kits and data over a seven year period. The initial acquisition supports USAF F-16 Block 50/52 and ANG F-16 Block 25/30/32 aircraft. This acquisition is required for ACC and the ANG to accomplish the Destruction of Enemy Air Defenses (DEAD) mission (as directed by CSAF Direction.) Although currently categorized as an ACAT Level III program, a potential exists that the program could proceed to ACAT Level II -- for the ORD also states an objective requirement to replace the LANTIRN targeting pod on the F-15E and F-16 Block 40 aircraft.

8bd8c6dea2c355dc5a8e954932e59605.jpg

The United States signs more than $21 billion in arms sales agreements with foreign countries—twice as much as the previous year. Between September 2001 and and September 2005, annual foreign military sales was typically between $10 billion and $13 billion. The 100 percent increase in sales in attributed to several factors, including the Bush administration’s practice of rewarding loyal allies and client-states with arms; the increased purchasing power of Middle Eastern countries flush with oil revenue; and the decision to drop bans against selling weapons to countries like India, Pakistan, Indonesia, Tajikistan, Serbia and Montenegro, Armenia, and Azerbaijan. In 2005 Pakistan placed a $5 billion order for Lockheed Martin’s advanced F-16 jets. Next year’s arms sales is expected to be high also. Lt. Gen. Jeffrey B. Kohler, director of the Defense Security Cooperation Agency, tells the New York Times, “We’ve got a good start on 2007.” India is hoping to purchase as many as 126 new fighter jets, while Saudi Arabia has plans to spend $5.8 billion on US weapons for its National Guard and an additional $3 billion for Black Hawk helicopters, Abrams and Bradley armored land vehicles, new radio systems, and other weapons. Christopher E. Kubasik, chief financial officer of Lockheed, tells the Times its foreign buyers are “valued customers,” adding that the company plans “to continue to grow in that area.”

Dear Abu Zolfiqar,

My request you to understand few things before posting any thing.

1st, Su30 is killer (even better thn JSF 35 and F22 raptor)
2nd, Arjun Tank (worlds most top powerfull and most advance Tank)
3rd, Indian Missile technology ahead over US,Russia,China
4th, LCA 7Gen Stealth fighter killer of F22 B2

PS: First understand all these things we never ever beat Indians in technology

If u understand these few points you will never ever reply on any Indian thread or post

ma bhi samjh gaya stealth bahi hamri koi cheez india ka muqabla nahe karsakti india wala yeh bhi bhool gaye ka inka fighter pilot ki trainning kesi hoti hai udta hue kafan wala jhazo main tu inki trainning hoti hai adhi inki training flight tu darr main guzar jati hai aur baqi ka time inki sumgh mai kuch nahe ata mara pass video bhi hai yeh sabit karna ke liye kisi bhi aesa banda ko lamborghini dedo jisa gadi chalana hi na aye tu wo kya karega

Because 99.9% of trolling (illogical totally non sense stuff posted on DEFENCe.PK By Indians)

woh ye mananay ko tyaar he nahe kay koi unsay b opar hey!

Let me show you few things in 2001-2004 Indians have no interest in F18 Super Hornet even mostly india bashing against F18 but today Indian Love F18 and har jaga pe F18 DUNYA KA SAB SAY ZABARDAST Fighter hey why ?? because understand India actually go for it ;) sooo u know.... lol

Thanks Please ;)

han main bhi yeh man gaya stealth bhai lakin main apko kuch dekhana chahta ho indian training ki