Ousted Prime Minister Imran Khan Arrested: News and Discussion

Is Martial Law/Emergency a real possibility after IK arrest?

• Yes

Votes: 145 63.6%
  • No

Votes: 83 36.4%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
And then Khawaja Asif will cry on national tv that "100 Banda bhi nahi aya"

tum logon ki izaat tou hai nahi PTI ki izaat ka khyal kerloo, duniya kahey ge itna one sided match

This is not a good thing, Pmln and Pti on the streets. They will bring the people out. Its a big party

And then Khawaja Asif will cry on national tv that "100 Banda bhi nahi aya"

tum logon ki izaat tou hai nahi PTI ki izaat ka khyal kerloo, duniya kahey ge itna one sided match
I really want to see their massive protest ...HUGE PROTEST

This is not a good thing, Pmln and Pti on the streets. They will bring the people out. Its a big party
PDM can do protest only under police escort. they need protection...

giphyl.gif

IN good old days
What about that post is contradictory to my current views?

Against who they are protesting ................. these stupidz are the ruling party .

Being in power with full support of boys. And still not getting favorable results. That burning feeling... Hehehe
Or it could be a big trap. The audio tapes of political leaders inciting violence and protestors actually causing violence gives valid excuse to impose emergency or maybe even Martial law now. Moreover, factions have been created in the Supreme Court due to Chief justice's special treatment of IK. Not only he disregards superiority of the legislative body, his actions such as greeting a criminal with honour, providing him with luxury vehicles, shifting him to a guest house, and giving him swift justice exposes favouritism and bias.

For questioning yes, I am not in favor to arrest him. Registrar SC can present the financial record to PAC for scrutiny, CJ should not interfere in Parliament domain also.
Nazaria e zaroorat....During PTI era money trail reference of Faiz Isa was in the court , at that time PMLN should remain silent ..........if Faiz Isa was forced to submit the money trail then today's situation would be totally in favor of PMLN. But now its too late.

Do you happen to live in Avenfield apartments? :azn:

No one has witnessed these huge numbers on street in last 1 year or so, maybe on Mars they will bring people out.

Imran’s arrest: Chronicles of my peaceful protest

12152244441a1af.jpg

The PTI chief's arrest may have been the spark that ignited the fire, but the fuel has been accumulating for years in the form of neglected societal, economic, and governance failures.

Hamza Haroon
May 12, 2023

The cacophony was alarming; the loud thud and harrowing screams set my heart racing as I turned around to see a frenzied mob dispersing aimlessly. On their heel were police officers, garbed in militaristic gear, beating and arresting anyone in their way. The loud thud I heard was human flesh being hit recklessly by a long bamboo stick, and the screams were from people being manhandled and forced into a white police truck.

Panicked, I made a run for it in the opposite direction, only to see another truck flanked by police officers coming towards us.

The arrest​

Just a few hours ago, I was typing away on my laptop, when my phone started buzzing incessantly, distracting me from my work. A quick glance revealed a shocking new development — I rushed down to the TV room, bellowing the news of Imran Khan’s arrest. Within seconds, my entire family had convened in the TV room, our eyes fixated on the flashing red breaking news tickers and banners screaming disjointed details of the arrest inside the Islamabad High Court premises.

Imran Khan, the chief of PTI, had been arrested moments ago, and the ‘red line’ of millions, a psychological barrier for many of his supporters, had been crossed.

Arguably the most popular leader in the country today, Imran had been arrested in a case of alleged corruption involving his wife, property tycoon Malik Riaz, as well as several other prominent politicians. The recurring televised aerial footage was chilling — a 70-year-old man, a cricketing legend and a political stalwart who had survived an assassination attempt and sustained three bullet wounds just a few months ago, was manhandled and dragged by an intimidating cadre of Rangers personnel in their ominous black uniforms.

Journey to NAB Islamabad​

A group of us in Islamabad, led by women — a courageous lot — met at the intersection between Saddar Road and Municipal Road to stage a peaceful protest. However, barbed wires sealed the intersection, protecting the NAB office, some 200 meters away from the entrance.

I noticed how every police officer behind that barbed wire seemed on edge. My gut told me that something was different today — the police force’s militaristic attire, rigid demeanour, and menacing glares all suggested an imminent and unsettling reality: our right to protest would be denied today, with arrest a likely consequence.

Undeterred, we navigated the streets along the rustic government homes and finally reached the NAB Islamabad office. We stood 50 yards away in a compressed street packed with media vans, the latter buzzing with noise and black smoke emanating from the generators running behind them.

During our silent, peaceful protest, a well-built man dressed in a white shalwar kameez approached me and told me that the police had already charged protesters at the main entrance of the street and arrested many of them. He warned me that in the next five minutes, they would come for us. By the time I turned around to inform my colleagues, they had already started walking towards the entrance of the street as they had heard a commotion from the other side.

Run Forest run​

When the police charged us, our group scattered in different directions. While running, I thought about the efficacy of the impending strikes from the bamboo sticks. My mind also echoed the iconic “Run, Forest Run” line from the film Forest Gump, where the protagonist runs fast to escape the bullies from school.

I had never run this fast, and still, I could hear the footsteps of the police officers gaining on me and see more stick-wielding police officers in front of me closing in. I quickly looked around to check whether any of those surrounding houses could offer refuge — one of them with a black wrought-iron gate had two curious heads peeping out from a small portal waving towards me to come inside. I entered hurriedly, and one of the boys quickly closed the gate and asked me to stay quiet.

After around 20 minutes, I thanked Talib Hussain and his brother, who let me into their home and saved me from getting arrested. I went outside when the coast was clear, rushed to my car, and drove to a friend’s house nearby to regroup and prepare for the protest at D-Chowk later that night.

Protest, but do not vandalise​

That afternoon, my cellphone and internet ceased to work. I heard from fellow protesters around me that things had gone out of hand in some cities across Pakistan. Some even showed me videos where protesters had ransacked government property, and many had shamelessly thrown stones at our army jawans and destroyed historical monuments.