Only 12 lakh Pakistani pay tax

This is why GST is necessary

The day tax evaders get thrown into the street and their passport taken away, the collection will go up.

May Allah grant Pakistan a brutal genocidal regieme that kills millions on the slightest whim of law breaking and this nation will survive.

Population of Pakistan

250 Million people
People Paying Tax : 12 Million

• Average Politician Driving 10-15 Cars, and living in 25 Crore Property
  • Elite Politician like N.A.W.A.S gang mafia , Upper limit of cash unknow

• In 1996-1998 I thing N.A.W.A.Z gang leader , sharif , declared worth of 65 Crore rupee in Taxes

Impose taxes on the large industrialists and landowners and your annual budget will increase ten-fold. The problem is that these industrialists and landowners are the ones that sit in the parliament.

Not paying taxes results in a lower federal budget and there for lack of development... Paying taxes is a duty.
17 % GST isn't enough?
Tax is higher on many other items like petrol, cellular services and other items used by the middle income class like there is 250% tax on 600cc car, that means more than double the price of the car is tax.
Doesn't matter whether you pay it or not, most of the people including the dirt poor are unwillingly paying tax on everything.

out of 22 Corors, lets for example assume an average Pakistani family comprises of 6 so total possible tax payer come down to 3.5 Corrors, with half of Pakistani below poverty line so now we have 1.75 Corror possible tax payers. 75% of Pakistani depend on Agriculture and there is no income tax on Agriculture but some levies. So we end up with 40 lacs of able tax payers....12 lacs out of 40 lacks aint so bad :)

oh I forgot to say "Pakistan needs to do more here"
something like, getting people Income tax payingable (made up word dont look it up) jobs

problem is retail sector and services sector and agriculutre sector is not taxed

agriculutre sector is not taxed in most countries given to keep food items price low but why is retail sector and service sector not taxed

one reason is cahs driven econmy, we need to move out to cash less ecnomy

Pakistan has unjust taxation laws. Major repealing of laws is the first step to make the whole taxation system transparent and just.

The current Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) is one of the problems, its full of incompetent, corrupt bastards, their favorite sport is to tease the already tax paying persons, instead of working to expand the tax base, making the system more efficient and tax payer friendly. They issue the most ridiculous notices ..... so that they can earn their allowances and bonuses .......

And .... Zardari ......... Shareefs and all these politicians, bureaucrats, Jarnails ..... they didn't make billions out of thin air ....... somebody has always been paying taxes to support their lavish lifestyles and their retirement plans.

The day revenue collection is streamlined and made transparent ....... hum sab panama iqama surrey mahal bhool jy gay.

17 % GST isn't enough?
Tax is higher on many other items like petrol, cellular services and other items used by the middle income class like there is 250% tax on 600cc car, that means more than double the price of the car is tax.
Doesn't matter whether you pay it or not, most of the people including the dirt poor are unwillingly paying tax on everything.

And all those tax collections go undocumented ...... because most of these people are not liable to pay tax and file their returns, the income tax withheld at source from these people is refundable ...... but that never happens. So where does all that money go?

Which one of you is a tax payer ???? If you are not a tax payer, you have no right to discuss anything on this forum.
Allhamdulliah I am a tax payer.

For your knowledge, Generals Colonels are all salaried individuals and salaried individuals are the people who are paying taxes in Pakistan. So before associating any salaried individuals with the waderas, industrialist etc people think before you say anything. Coz that way you offending the 12lakh tax payers.

Which one of you is a tax payer ???? If you are not a tax payer, you have no right to discuss anything on this forum.
Allhamdulliah I am a tax payer.

Even an infant in Pakistan is a tax payer, buy gripe water for your child and see the price ....... get over with this lie that Pakistanis don't pay taxes, they do, its the government that doesn't make it transparent, taxpayer friendly and public ........
When the term "tax payer" is used, it is used for the direct tax payer. Yes indirectly people do pay sales tax. But indirect tax is used in the places where people refuse to or avoid paying the direct taxes.

PEOPLE DO NOT PAY TAX IN PAKISTAN. OUR TAX DEPARTMENT IS VERY CORRUPT. PEOPLE ARE CORRUPT TOO AS THEY DO NOT PAY THEIR TAX.

TELL ME HOW MUCH TAX YOU PAID THIS YEAR ?????????? I PAID ALOT SO DO NOT GIVE ME A CRAP THAT PEOPLE PAY TAX HERE.

Population of Pakistan

250 Million people
People Paying Tax : 12 Million

• Average Politician Driving 10-15 Cars, and living in 25 Crore Property
  • Elite Politician like N.A.W.A.S gang mafia , Upper limit of cash unknow

• In 1996-1998 I thing N.A.W.A.Z gang leader , sharif , declared worth of 65 Crore rupee in Taxes
People paying tax : 1.2 Million

Pakistanis don't pay tax because from top to bottom there is corruption. Nawaz/Zardari to government clerk, bigger the position, bigger the corruption.

When the term "tax payer" is used, it is used for the direct tax payer. Yes indirectly people do pay sales tax. But indirect tax is used in the places where people refuse to or avoid paying the direct taxes.

Indirect or direct it doesn't matter ........ indirect taxation gives them (FBR) more room for corruption, leakages and making it complicated.

A university student, a housewife, a rickshaw driver, a janitor ..... they also end up paying income tax, suppose whenever they scratch a telephone card and load ..... that deduction at source is refundable to them, but do they ever get that refund? Where does that money go?

TELL ME HOW MUCH TAX YOU PAID THIS YEAR ?????????? I PAID ALOT SO DO NOT GIVE ME A CRAP THAT PEOPLE PAY TAX HERE.

Shut it ......... you didn't pay tax, it got deducted from your salary without your approval, and your consent, and you can't do zilch about it even if you wanted to.

Please don't make this some sorts of competition your a lot may be a lot for you and not for me so .............. when I say that even an infant is paying taxes I know what I am talking about. Your paying taxes may be an emotional thing for you ....... for me it only means "I am paying monthly rent to live in this country" unless this corrupt state makes it transparent and provides me with basic necessities ........

Pakistanis don't pay tax because from top to bottom there is corruption. Nawaz/Zardari to government clerk, bigger the position, bigger the corruption.

i hope you are not giving excuse. since corruption and taxes may be linked but diffrent entity. a nation cant be built without money.
its like community money. for Betterment of people.
corruption muat be dealt but not paying your taxes is corruption as well. rather people who dont pay taxes are the reason for this corruption. a farmer or fruit seller on street is not cheating anyone but he is the one being denied.

if denied taxes through income tax.
that ways govts instead of income tax go for other taxes such as sales gst or service taxes. road tax petrol tax house tax water n electricity taxes.
govt will get what it wanta by any which way.

17 % GST isn't enough?
What your referring to is indirect tax, which is tax on spending and not on income. Indirect tax such as VAT is not a way to earn revenue for the government, I refer to it as battah tax. It’s not right to have such high taxes on spending as it reduces investment therefor a fall in real GDP.

Direct tax should be the government’s main method of income, as it is in the rest of the world. Did you know there are some industries that are taxable by 0 per cent? One being agriculture. Why do you think that is? It’s because these politicians own marabay worth of land. We need tax reforms.

There are certain taxes which are just stupid, one being tax on education however direct tax must be paid at any cost. Income tax and corporation tax is the reason we have functioning airports, sea ports, metro buses and infrastructure development. Those that don’t pay are as corrupt as our leaders. Those who give chai panni money to police are corrupt!

Did you know Pakistan’s undeclared economy is estimated to be worth $300 billion a year.

First of all do tell us how much population is taxable because 1.2/200 million percentage is shocking.
Secondly there is a thing called incurred tax ,indirect tax or VAT which is paid by almost every citizen of this country whenever they purchase any product or service.