On this day Kumble took 10 wickets in an innings against Pakistan

Soumitra

On this day in 1999, Anil Kumble pulled off the 'perfect 10' against Pakistan
The Indian legend took all 10 Pakistani wickets to finish with figures of 10/74 and became only the second bowler in Test history to achieve the feat.
50925-yeawwoupxq-1486446863.jpg

Scroll Staff

On February 7 in 1999, former Indian spinner and the current national team coach Anil Kumble made history. He became the first Indian bowler to capture 10 wickets in a single innings in a Test match against Pakistan at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi. Kumble became only the second bowler in Test cricket after Jim Laker to grab ten wickets.

India were facing Pakistan in a two-match Test series and India needed to win at Delhi to tie the series. A strong show by the Indian batsmen saw them set a target of 420 for Pakistan who needed just a draw to win the series. However, a fiery spell by Kumble saw them being bowled out for 207. It was India’s first win against Pakistan in 19 years as well.

Pakistan were cruising at 101/0, however, with Kumble being brought into the attack, they collapsed to 128/6. Kumble’s first victim was Shahid Afridi followed by Ijaz Ahmed and Inzamam-ul-Haq. Saeed Anwar too fell for 69, the top score by a Pakistani batsman in that innings. Captain Wasim Akram tried his best to withstand Kumble’s attack and played a patient knock of 43. However, in the end, Kumble bowled a splendid delivery that Akram edged to VVS Laxman, who took the catch and history was made. India won the match by 212 runs with Kumble bagging all ten wickets in front of a packed crowd
C4CNU99W8AAINOp.jpg:small

C4Cc5q_UoAAiVPJ.jpg:small

https://thefield.scroll.in/828717/v...le-pulled-off-the-perfect-10-against-pakistan

Yeah, One Umpire against 11 players.That was actually very much unbeatable.
Lol so now umpire came into the picture ..lol not surprizing comment..better u didnt come with wind direction or pitch or crowd there..

Oho forget chitrol of jumble by Afridi and anwer in one match he took wickets and most of them are wrong decision S start jumping

Saeed anwer 194 in Chennai yes we dream to give u more harsh beating in gazwe hind
Woo kaha yaad rehta hy... ajeeb bat karty ho bhai,
bhala apni dhulai kisi ko yaad rehti hy :D

Oho forget chitrol of jumble by Afridi and anwer in one match he took wickets and most of them are wrong decision S start jumping

Saeed anwer 194 in Chennai yes we dream to give u more harsh beating in gazwe hind
We like to have gazar-e-halwa-e-hind..and for balwa or gazwa their are 30lakhs army plus over a crore state police , tanks , jets, and after all 8000km agnis ,still if someone left breathing ,we have entire army of biharies and up' bhaiyas(hard to control ,man mauji people)..
Recent news they even didnt care to notify higher commands and went celebrating holiday..see that kind of people(when not allowed brought down babri masjid)when will be alllowed i cant imagine what havoc they will wreck upon those gazwa balwa army ...:p

Woo kaha yaad rehta hy... ajeeb bat karty ho bhai,
bhala apni dhulai kisi ko yaad rehti hy :D
Dhulai se yaad aaya dhoni on pak tour..:p

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/story/79492.html

cl_amul2.jpg

Not many newspapers discussed the circumstances in which Pakistan crashed out for 202 after being 101 for no loss at one stage. But former West Indies fast bowler Michael Holding was very harsh and critical of the umpiring by Ajit Jayaprakash.

"The picture changed when play resumed after lunch. What looked likely becoming an exciting, keenly fought battle for the second Test, was somewhat spoiled by a gentleman in the white coat," Holding wrote in The Indian Express.

"It all fell apart in Anil Kumble's third over after lunch. Two deliveries, two very questionable decisions and the Pakistanis found themselves at 101 for two," Holding wrote, adding: "Kumble might have been a bit fortunate just after lunch when he started the Pak decline but has to be said that be bowled brilliantly in the second and third sessions."

While most of the Indian papers tried to play down the umpiring controversies, The Pioneer was, however, daring to attribute Kumble's success to some favourable umpiring.

"The win was not without niggling controversies," said The Pioneer in its front page report.

We like to have gazar-e-halwa-e-hind..and for balwa or gazwa their are 30lakhs army plus over a crore state police , tanks , jets, and after all 8000km agnis ,still if someone left breathing ,we have entire army of biharies and up' bhaiyas(hard to control ,man mauji people)..
Recent news they even didnt care to notify higher commands and went celebrating holiday..see that kind of people(when not allowed brought down babri masjid)when will be alllowed i cant imagine what havoc they will wreck upon those gazwa balwa army ...:p

Dhulai se yaad aaya dhoni on pak tour..:p
Itna badee hotel tu match khelna se aye Sharjah ki pitch se nhe bhagtee bhagora indians

Kids fighting again over "mine is bigger than yours". Grow up kidos. This forum has turned into a rat-infested playground for kids from all over. tsk tsk tsk

On this day in 1999, India was playing with 13 players :D

Itna badee hotel tu match khelna se aye Sharjah ki pitch se nhe bhagtee bhagora indians
Yup whole world is bhagora since they dont play in pak..better play gali cricket :p

Kids fighting again over "mine is bigger than yours". Grow up kidos. This forum has turned into a rat-infested playground for kids from all over. tsk tsk tsk
If people wud have cared from start these things wud not have been here at first place..if u cant stop ur brothers trolling then we have much more to troll..:)

Achieving 10 wkts was indeed an exceptional achievement.

Personally I remember this tour for those 2 consecutive electrifying yorkers bowled by Shoaib Akhtar to Tendulkar and Dravid. Fast, reverse swinging balls at unprecedented speed knocking off the stumps of 2 technically very correct batsman of that time.

Achieving 10 wkts was indeed an exceptional achievement.

Personally I remember this tour for those 2 consecutive electrifying balls bowled by Shoaib Akhtar to Tendulkar and Dravid. Fast, reverse swinging balls at unprecedented speed knocking off the stumps of 2 technically very correct batsman of that time.
Hmm quite right..aktar was one of the best bowlers of that time and still we think that if we had one aktar in our team :)
Here generally very few sane ones are that dare to accept good as good and bad as bad..
If u ll say somethings good ,if its good, we will also agree ..but vice versa is not true for pak members thats y i keep taunting and trolling bcz idiots understand only one language (the one which hurts them badly)..i dont really like it but what can be done..mine is not the action its reaction..