Obama To Visit Pakistan

Because even the Indian leadership displays more civility and respect towards a nation with which it has fought two wars, when on Pakistani soil, than the US leadership has displayed so far in its treks to Pakistan.

When was the last time a US leader did not lecture Pakistan on 'doing more' on a visit here?

Who lets them disrespect us? They will lecture you and me because we have given them an opening and we do not have any support to back up our stance. In this situation you either close your eyes and ears and not listen to anyone, or you deal with the situation as it comes.

Then change your leaders, but what is this suggestion about shoving your head in the sand and not wanting to talk to anyone? How do you think the business of the world happens? We should just become isolationists?

The more face time you have, the greater the opportunity to get your point across. Our leaders not having a spine is not the fault of the other side. Its something that we need to demand of our leaders.

Change? how? in this country voting system is based on biradri,500 rs per vote,pick n drop + a plate of biryani or by the use of force,USA... while others dnt even bother...

Who lets them disrespect us? They will lecture you and me because we have given them an opening and we do not have any support to back up our stance. In this situation you either close your eyes and ears and not listen to anyone, or you deal with the situation as it comes.
I am not sure what you are getting at - should I not point out the obvious because the current Pakistani leadership is shameless? Should I not point out the obvious because the US is sole superpower in the world?

I certainly do my bit to convince people (on line and in conversations with friends and relatives in Pakistan) to vote and encourage others to vote in new faces and change our policies.

He abandon his visit to Pakistan when we were hit by the largest flood and we have the largest humanitarian crises of the century.Instead he had prefer to visit India regarding business issues.What the point is that he ignored us while coming next to us.

We can expect the same old typical Haqqani dictation thing and typical bakwas about doing more.

I reckon negotiation is key to solving problems. Aur waise bhi we are very good at hospitality, cant say no to our guests.

Change? how? in this country voting system is based on biradri,500 rs per vote,pick n drop + a plate of biryani or by the use of force,USA... while others dnt even bother...

Be that as it may, the world and all of the geo-political issues surrounding us are not going away by us refusing to host him. I am sure in a sea of idiots that you describe, there are a few worthy ones watching over the interests of this country and not wanting the relations to become worse than they already are. I would not have as much of a problem with an isolationist approach had we our economy on an even keel. Since we are perpetually the slaves of US sponsored financial institutions, aside from griping, there isn't much that we can do besides talking and trying to make the other side understand our points.

---------- Post added at 03:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:49 PM ----------

I am not sure what you are getting at - should I not point out the obvious because the current Pakistani leadership is shameless? Should I not point out the obvious because the US is sole superpower in the world?

I certainly do my bit to convince people (on line and in conversations with friends and relatives in Pakistan) to vote and encourage others to vote in new faces and change our policies.

See above. We have very few options besides engagement with the Americans. If we can allow an Army of American diplomats, generals etc. to come to Isb all the time, I am sure Obama's arrival in Pakistan won't hurt Pakistan.

The fault in that case lies with us, Pakistanis that is.

I agree that the current voting patterns are 'enforced' in a way through a neglect of government services and politicizing of institutions such as the EC and law enforcement agencies, but when only 30% to 40% of the electorate shows up to vote, Pakistanis must accept that they have primary responsibility for perpetuating the status quo - whether by voting for the same old faces, or by choosing to not vote and campaign and organize at the grass roots level for change.

Obama should pay a visit to Swat Valley, Bajaur, Mohmand, Kurram, Orakzai, SWA and other war-affected or previously war-affected areas....it would be eye-opener for him and his people

Obama should pay a visit to Swat Valley, Bajaur, Mohmand, Kurram, Orakzai and other war-affected or previously war-affected areas....it would be eye-opener for him and his people

I agree, however we should get our own President to get out there first before asking the President of another country to go there.

If we can allow an Army of American diplomats, generals etc. to come to Isb all the time, I am sure Obama's arrival in Pakistan won't hurt Pakistan.
It will hurt Pakistan if Obama is allowed to run his mouth and bash Pakistan in interviews and press statements while in Pakistan, and so far the US officials have shown no indication of having received a civilized upbringing, when visiting Pakistan at least.

But the damage from that aside, I am simply pointing out the realities associated with any Obama visit to Pakistan. The fact that we 'have no choice but to continue engaging with the US' does not change the fact that his visit will be as I described.

Call a spade a spade, display our hospitality while he is visiting (if he visits), and don't expect jack shite in terms of any tangible progress in US-Pak relations.

Absolutely, all within the rights of a democratic state, however we should not forget our hospitality and traditional Pakistani welcome either.

that's true....Pakistan always has taken pride in giving warm hospitality to guests. At the same time, i do hope there is some semblance of austerity as well --given that just a year ago 33% of our country (and the people in it) were inundiated in flood water and a year later --after another such disaster --some of them have not made full recovery partly because state funds are being mismanaged

I agree, however we should get our own President to get out there first before asking the President of another country to go there.

my God, aint that the truth

Frankly, whether he visits Pakistan or not will not make an iota of difference. Pakistan & the US are clearly going separate ways: the US clearly wants to continue following its failing (& contradictory) policies from the past 10 years, & Pakistan cannot do anything about it, no matter how hard it tries to show that their policies have brought nothing but failure. Both nations will remain hostile with each other, but will make sure things don't reach breaking point, & will still be regarded as 'allies'.

Where is the source of this News ????
2 pages of discussion without verifying the news ?

We should learn a thing or two from our Chinese friend.The plane on which Mike Mullen was taken to their base.Check out the headlines on newspaper which people are reading in the plane.Imagine this paper in front of Mullen and the guy sitting infront of him smiling.This is the level of how much CHINESE think in their actions.

34564226.png

I say we just let the people to protest and make sure the international media and people understand what people of Pakistan thinks about this pathetic war.Others should know and realise that imposing some thing on us will never work.