Otherwise you will again make them terrorist training center
you think you are joking, we are deadly serious
Otherwise you will again make them terrorist training center
simple, an afghanistan where India has no influence and that can only happen if minority northern alliance has no role to very minimum role in the future. If that happens Afghanistan has 80% chances of becoming a stable country otherwise the status quo goes on
Every stupid talks about China,Iran,India,Pakistan,Russia,USA...etc's vision for Afganistan.no body talks about the Afghanistani's vision for itself ie strategic depth in Pakistan.
We havent heard either the President or Romney talk a lot about Afghanistan in the last few months. Why do you think?
The President has announced a policy on Afghanistan, and its interesting, he doesnt seem to want to talk about that policy much. I wish he would say more. When youve got American troops fighting somewhere, you need to explain to people, including the families of the troops, what you hope they will do and how important it is. But I think the President feels hes set the war on a strategic course, in line with what he said he would do, and the next point will be when its time to start withdrawing troops, is that still going to be possible, what will the schedule be, what kind of political negotiations will be taking place.
Obviously theyre pursuing consultations with a whole range of partners, some very intensive consultations are going on, not only with Pakistan but with a whole host of regional governments that have an interest, others, and possibly they feel that nothing is to be gained by talking about this; they just need to keep advancing the policy. Obviously it leaves an empty space, while you have a war thats going on and youre not talking about the war
When India and the US had the strategic dialogue a couple of months back, the criticism was that the old magic was missing. Whats the focus now in the relationship?
The average American will need to have some understanding of what the United States is trying to do, and its the job of the President in my view to tell people what were doing and why its important But because we havent been having this national discussion over the shift to Asia, American-Indian relations are taking place without this kind of public discussion and scrutiny that would ultimately strengthen the policy and strengthen the relationship, so in the American election campaign, when people talk about India they talk about outsourcing, rather than about a whole range of interests that in fact tie the countries together. Maybe it would be more accurate to say that the US-India honeymoon has ended, but were not drifting apart; the relationship is getting closer and deeper. The interests that are binding us together are becoming more important to both countries. So yes were going to argue about outsourcing or retail, there are a whole lot of things India doesnt like about American policy and there are a whole lot of things the U.S. doesnt like about Indian policy, and we will continue to have these discussions.There is a constant tug within the Indian system not to be seen as aligning with the US against China
I know that there was an issue over the liability clause in the nuclear deal. Today I read in the papers that the Russians are saying the exact same things that the American did. The Russians thought they had an understanding and it turns out they dont have an understanding and naturally are upset. So, I dont know that because India changes its mind on something and the other people make an issue of that in negotiations, the other people are responsible for the political problem. Thats certainly one point of view. I think maybe all of us, including the Indians need to learn how to deal with this as for the foreseeable future, India is going to have coalition governments. This is a problem for not just New Delhi but for anyone wanting to negotiate with New Delhi too. As Henry Kissinger used to say about the European Union once, who do I call up when I want to talk to Europe?The Hindu : Opinion / Interview : "Nobody shares Pakistan
Whats going on for last decade is Taliban's strategic depth in FATAYou are forgetting that Pakistan is nuclear and far advanced to Afghanistan. For all you know Afghanistan army is rag tag army put together by Nato. What strategic depth does Afghanistan exert on its neighbours that will make you stand up and take notice????
Every stupid talks about China,Iran,India,Pakistan,Russia,USA...etc's vision for Afganistan.no body talks about the Afghanistani's vision for itself ie strategic depth in Pakistan.
you woke up so early...........A nuclear power like Pakistan does not need strategic depth and that too in Afghanistan.
Do you mean to say that if we are defeated by India, we will run into Afghanistan and continue fighting from there.
Have a heart.
C'mon @ajtr, raise your level of analysis.
Irrespective of the strategies and visions professed by US and the West, they can not ignore a strong country like Pakistan. For implementation of any vision or strategy for Afghanistan, cooperation of Pakistan would be the fundamental requirement and its success would require Pakistan's agreement.
After losing 40,000 Pakistanis, if anybody thinks that they can achieve long term stability in Afghanistan without taking into account Pakistan's concerns lives in a fool's paradise.
you woke up so early...........
Irrespective of the strategies and visions professed by US and the West, they can not ignore a strong country like Pakistan. For implementation of any vision or strategy for Afghanistan, cooperation of Pakistan would be the fundamental requirement and its success would require Pakistan's agreement.
After losing 40,000 Pakistanis, if anybody thinks that they can achieve long term stability in Afghanistan without taking into account Pakistan's concerns lives in a fool's paradise.
It depends on the failure of TTP ,success of Taliban and the afghan ppl remaining Propakistan........
Oh nahi ji,You have bad habit of bringing pakistan in every manner either by hook or crook
Let the U.S to sort out the mess of iran n syria and discussion with russia on NDN is under process...
Next turn is urs ... ...
Either iran is with U.S or iran is gone...i will bet on 99% chances of first case
TTP wont be successful, though it may remain a nuisance for some time.
Though Afghani people's pro-Pakistan stance would certainly help, it is not a necessity. The real-politik does not cater for emotions, it just understands the ground realities. And the ground realities are that without Pakistan's nod, peace can not return and be sustained in Afghanistan. Pakistan's concerns will have to be addressed for a sustained and long term settlement of Afghan issue and by corollary, peaceful environment in Central Asia. Pakistan's exercises strong leverages and is an active player in the region.
We will be next only if we can not play our cards well. I am sure we will not be next. itnay saaray bumb hein hamaray paas, agar ham ne 5-6, 5-6 kar kay nahot saaray doosron ko de diye to puri duniya mein museebat parrh jayegi. Indians call it nuclear blackmail.
However, Iran ka number aanay wala hai.