No restrictions on telecast of Indian TV channels in Bangladesh.

Well, the source is primary which means the person is directly related to the issue...

I guess this thing has come up in the news as well, popular media personalities like Munni Saha has been quite vocal on this issue, despite her pro-India stance on several matters...
well if you are so confident.. I will take your word for it... a link can do magic for everybody here... or we will have to rely on @Roybot .. he seems to know everything about bd.

Alright, there you go... A detailed analysis on why the Bangladeshi channels are not aired in India...
http://www.dainikamadershomoy.com/t...4930/বাংলাদেশি-টিভি-চ্যানেল-ভারতে-ব্রাত্য-কেন

The cable operators in India have to spend some 5.25 cr INR to downlink a Bangladeshi channel, as set by the Information and Broadcast Ministry of India. OTOH, an Indian channel could be downlinked in Bangladesh only spending some BDT3 lac...

The report says the cable operators especially in West Bengal are interested to air the Bangladeshi channels but could not do so due to the high downlink cost...

I'm not sure but that's what I heard from those related to the industry... It's obviously on the foreign channels only, to save local productions...

Its not only TV channels. Indian books and magazines are available readily in BD. They don't allow entry of ours into India. Even Humayun Ahmed is unknown to them - as had been pined by Sunil Gangopadhya.

Well, the readers in West Bengal are becoming increasingly interested in Hindi and English literatures. Other than the works of Rabindranath Tagore, Bengali literature is not really popular there... One commentator even argued that if Bangladesh stops importing books of Indian writers, the entire Bengali publishing industry in West Bengal would collapse...

The channels are not banned but Indian government has raised the tariffs for them so high that makes it commercially unfeasible to telecast in the country. In contrast, Indian channels are enjoying a free market in Bangladesh...

I guess in the early or mid 2000s, NTV and some other Bangladeshi channels used to air in India. Their popularity was so high that your cultural ministry (not sure about state or central) lobbied to restrict the telecast of Bangladeshi channels, supported by the corporate houses, arguing that those channels are eating up the popularity of local channels and that the Bangladeshi products will be occupying the local market beating the local products...

What tariff? What high? Stop pulling out bullshit info from dark, smelly places.

West Bengalis are allergic to Muslim names in books. Its very odd for them. They think of Bengali literature as work of Hindus hence Bangladeshi authors work is not available in WB. Humayun Ahmed is slightly known but writers like Anisul Hoque and Muhammad Jafar Iqbal are almost unknown for them. There were times when Muslims had few to no contribution in Bengali literature. Bengali Muslims were farmers, largely illiterates, only religiously devout but not into literary works but over time situation has changed for better. Kazi Nazrul Islam probably the only one in history who had significant contribution in Bengali literature as a Muslim poet but as a novelist almost no Muslim Bengali had any significant contribution in history. This made WB obsessed with Hindu novelists.

Alright, there you go... A detailed analysis on why the Bangladeshi channels are not aired in India...
http://www.dainikamadershomoy.com/todays-paper/editorial/54930/বাংলাদেশি-টিভি-চ্যানেল-ভারতে-ব্রাত্য-কেন

The cable operators in India have to spend some 5.25 cr INR to downlink a Bangladeshi channel, as set by the Information and Broadcast Ministry of India. OTOH, an Indian channel could be downlinked in Bangladesh only spending some BDT3 lac...

The report says the cable operators especially in West Bengal are interested to air the Bangladeshi channels but could not do so due to the high downlink cost...

Stop trying to mislead people. They don't have to spend 5 Cr to downlink, the net worth of the company should be at least 5 Crore. Television reaches hundreds of millions of people, we need to be careful who we are letting in. If we don't vet the companies we ll have all sorts of garbage flooding the market.

To downlink a foreign channel the cost if 15 Lakh rupees per annum, plus a one off fees of 10 Lakh Rupees during registration. For a market of 1.3 Billion, that is peanuts.

@hinduguy

http://print.thefinancialexpress-bd.com/old/more.php?news_id=133590&date=2012-06-19

In order to downlink any foreign television channel in India, an application is required to be submitted to Ministry of Information and Broadcasting in India through a company registered under Indian Companies Act 1956 and having the prescribed net worth.

The channel can be downlinked after the Indian authorities approve registration of that company. The applicant company should either own the channel or have exclusive marketing distribution rights for the same.

The applicant company should have a minimum net worth amounting to 50 million Indian Rupees for down-linking of first television channel while it would need 25 million Indian Rupees for down-linking each additional television channel, the release said, explaining the details for the interested Bangladeshi media companies.

The channel being down-linked should be licensed or permitted to broadcast by the regulatory or licensing authority of the country of transmission. The channel being registered should not have been deregistered at the time of application. Additional conditions would apply in the case of news and current affairs channels.

The registration and permission to downlink would be valid for 10 years.

A fee of Rupee 1 million has to be paid at the time of granting permission to downlink channels.

Apart from this, Rupees 0.5 million per annum per channel for down-linking channels up-linked from India and Rupees 1.5 million per annum per channel for down-linking channels uplinked from abroad as permission fee for registration would be required.

The applicant company may apply to the Secretary, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting in the prescribed proforma for evaluating eligibility.

After the agreement is signed, the company can contact the Multi system Operators (MSO)/cable head and operators/Direct-to-Home television (DTH) operators.

Bangladeshi channels have extremely low quality contents. We can only talk about our glorious past but at present there is nothing in BD channels to get you excited for. NEWS.... NEWS.... NEWS. BREAKING NEWS.. Thats all about Bangladeshi channels. No creative shows, no quality TV dramas, No entertainment show. What will audience watch? Indian channels are a HUGE relieve from the torture that is BD channels.

Stop trying to mislead people. They don't have to spend 5 Cr to downlink, the net worth of the company should be at least 5 Crore. Television reaches hundreds of millions of people, we need to be careful who we are letting in. If we don't vet the companies we ll have all sorts of garbage flooding the market.

To downlink a foreign channel the cost if 15 Lakh rupees per annum, plus a one off fees of 10 Lakh Rupees during registration. For a market of 1.3 Billion, that is peanuts.

@hinduguy

http://print.thefinancialexpress-bd.com/old/more.php?news_id=133590&date=2012-06-19

In order to downlink any foreign television channel in India, an application is required to be submitted to Ministry of Information and Broadcasting in India through a company registered under Indian Companies Act 1956 and having the prescribed net worth.

The channel can be downlinked after the Indian authorities approve registration of that company. The applicant company should either own the channel or have exclusive marketing distribution rights for the same.

The applicant company should have a minimum net worth amounting to 50 million Indian Rupees for down-linking of first television channel while it would need 25 million Indian Rupees for down-linking each additional television channel, the release said, explaining the details for the interested Bangladeshi media companies.

The channel being down-linked should be licensed or permitted to broadcast by the regulatory or licensing authority of the country of transmission. The channel being registered should not have been deregistered at the time of application. Additional conditions would apply in the case of news and current affairs channels.

The registration and permission to downlink would be valid for 10 years.

A fee of Rupee 1 million has to be paid at the time of granting permission to downlink channels.

Apart from this, Rupees 0.5 million per annum per channel for down-linking channels up-linked from India and Rupees 1.5 million per annum per channel for down-linking channels uplinked from abroad as permission fee for registration would be required.

The applicant company may apply to the Secretary, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting in the prescribed proforma for evaluating eligibility.

After the agreement is signed, the company can contact the Multi system Operators (MSO)/cable head and operators/Direct-to-Home television (DTH) operators.

Those 5 cr has to be deposited by the applicant to the banks in India while 20 lacs has to be paid yearly to your ministry to broadcast a single Bangladeshi channel, enormously higher to the cost of airing an Indian channel in Bangladesh: a token amount of Tk 3 lac. And all of that 1.3 billion market is not there for the Bangladeshi channels as they will be watched only in West Bengal, Tripura and Assam... Read the link I have given, it was written by a West Bengali and quite comprehensive ...

Even Indians don't speak Hindi, writing Urdu in Hindi script doesn't make it Hindi.

Is that a joke? Urdu came much later, it is basically Hindi written in arabic script with some arabic/Persian words thrown in.

Well, the readers in West Bengal are becoming increasingly interested in Hindi and English literatures. Other than the works of Rabindranath Tagore, Bengali literature is not really popular there... One commentator even argued that if Bangladesh stops importing books of Indian writers, the entire Bengali publishing industry in West Bengal would collapse...

Another piece of garbage, Bengalis of West Bengal mostly don't read or write Hindi at all, and Hindi is not known for is literary value. We have some of the biggest book fairs and book market in the world that primarily cater to Bengali literature.

Check out the posts above...

Proven to be garbage, again!

Bangladeshi channels have extremely low quality contents. We can only talk about our glorious past but at present there is nothing in BD channels to get you excited for. NEWS.... NEWS.... NEWS. BREAKING NEWS.. Thats all about Bangladeshi channels. No creative shows, no quality TV dramas, No entertainment show. What will audience watch? Indian channels are a HUGE relieve from the torture that is BD channels.
Finally some sane voices!

what about ATN bangla.. I think I have seen it somewhere... its a bd channel right?
@extra terrestrial the tariff and rules are not specific to bd... it applies to all outside channels...