What's new

Nine women bloggers, proud to be Muslim

happy.muslimah

New Recruit

Reaction score
RAZIQUEH HUSSAIN tracks down nine women bloggers, proud to be Muslim, 
and proud to be digital communicators

Cyberspace is a liberating territory of one’s own,” wrote Fereshteh Nouraie-Simone, editor of On Shifting Ground: Muslim Women in the Global Era. Blogging is transforming the lives of many Muslim women, and their true-to-life perspectives are exploding Western stereotypes about them. These women are blogging from all corners of the world, and are unafraid to express what they feel — and observe around them. Here is what some of them have to say about their blogs, how relevant they are, and how they’ve transformed lives — and perceptions.

IN THE UAE
Kelly Izdihar aka Izzy Mo
 Izzy Mo’s Blog
I’m in my twenties, an African-American convert to Islam, currently living and working in Dubai as an HR manager. I’m also an aspiring artist and published writer.

I started my blog a few months after I converted to Islam in 2004. At first, it was a way to help me chart my development as a Muslim but it has evolved into so much more. I feel pretty free to write what I want. There are some subjects that are controversial such as Islamophobia, America’s “War on Terror” and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. But most Muslim American bloggers, including myself, feel free to speak our minds.

Currently, my biggest problem is finding time to blog. I hope the next American President can bring about a positive change.

Sk00n (blogname)
The Chronicles of Floo